Tales from an Ambulance: Episode 1 - D.O.A.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago (edited)

united-states-1995695_1280.jpg


It was my second call after finishing training. I had been on for 11 hours without a single patient all through the night. The rising sun had woken me up about an hour prior, and I was just snoozing in the bunk when the pager went off.

A call. My second one ever. Let’s go to work.

The radio crackled to life and the dispatcher’s voice came across.

“Washington ambulance, 54 year old female, unknown medical, 440 Holly Street, apartment 17”

Unknown medical? Could you please be more vague?

Speculating about what kind of horrific scene I was going to walk into, I threw on my duty shirt and jumped into my boots. Walking briskly down the hallway, I made it to the garage bay well in advance of my partner that morning, who was responding from home. I climbed into the driver’s seat, hit the garage door opener, turned the key to the ignition, and picked up the mic.

I have always been confident on the radio. I have the Army to thank for that. I keyed the mic, paused for a split second, forced all my anxiety over the call out of my voice and calmly said “Dispatch, Ambulance 481 staged”

“Roger Ambulance 481, staged” immediately echoed the confirmation from the speaker behind my shoulder.

I hopped out and walked around to the passenger seat. I was “teching” this shift, which meant I was the primary patient caregiver while my partner was responsible for driving and helping me out. I had this role for two reasons: first, I wasn’t signed off on my driver training yet and second, my driver wasn’t signed off to tech. He had an even lower level of medical certification known as an EMR, so he legally wouldn’t be able to help me with much at all besides CPR if it came to that. This would be my show.

A minute later my partner’s car rocketed down the driveway and into the parking space by the garage door. He jumped in the ambulance and we took off.

“Morning,” I said, trying to sound as bored and un-terrified as possible. “Know where you’re headed?”

“Yeah,” he replied. “Apartment complex on the corner past the water tower.”

He keyed the mic as we sped off. “Ambulance 481 responding,” he mumbled, managing to sound even more bored than I had.

The ride was short. It was still early, so we kept the siren off most of the way but since we didn’t know the severity of what we were responding to, he put on the lights and applied a liberal amount of speed. A few cars got out of our way and we were making great time. At a four way stop he flicked the switch for the siren. The wail pierced the early morning silence. I couldn’t help but let a small grin tug the corner of my mouth up.

This is so cool.

As we closed in on the apartment complex, the dispatcher called over the radio with more information. Apparently the reason for the lack of details was because a friend had dialed 911 after being unable to contact our patient by phone all morning. She was worried something was wrong, and so they sent us to find out.

Finding the apartment number involved a little trial and error as we realized the complex was split in two and we were on the wrong side of the road. We finally pulled up to her place and parked right in the middle of the parking lot. Looking around, I saw we were the first unit on scene, which was somewhat unusual. Typically someone from the fire department or one of the first responder EMTs would beat us to the call.

Here we go. Just be ready for anything. You can always call for more help if this is a disaster.

I grabbed my gear and stepped out of the truck. A neighbor was out walking around and I looked over to him.

“You all here for John?” he called. “Apartment 22?”

“No, we’re headed to apartment 17,” I said, pondering for a moment the tragedy of being the guy that everyone assumes the ambulance shows up for.

“Oh, Janet? Yeah her place is right there,” he gestured to a door.

My parter and I walked up purposefully to the front door. The lights were off inside. I knocked on the door assertively. No answer. I knocked again, harder that time. Still nothing.

“See if it’s open” my partner said.

I gave the handle a turn and it moved. I felt the latch sliding out of the doorjamb.

This is it. Brace yourself

I pushed forward but the door didn’t budge. It was stuck on the deadbolt, which was apparently locked.

Well, that was a freebie.

“What now?” I said to my partner, who just had a blank look on his face. He was probably still half-asleep too. Just then, I noticed a third person walking over and a wave of relief washed over me as I saw the uniform: local police.

“Door’s locked,” I called to him as he joined us. “Glad you’re here. What do you want to do?” I said, thinking about the pry bar we keep in one of the compartments on our rig.

But the cop’s battering ram would be so much cooler.

“It’s a bottom-floor apartment, it’ll have a door around back. Let’s have a look,” the officer said.

The three of us headed through the grass and around back. As we rounded the corner, we saw a car sitting in the back yard area.

She killed herself by carbon monoxide poisoning! my mind started.

When the cop and my parter walked right by the car without a second look, I sheepishly realized the idiocy of my theory.

You have to be in a garage to do that, moron… But she probably is dead.

We reached the back porch and the officer took a look inside.

“Yep, there she is,” he said with a hint of curiosity in his voice.

Oh gosh, I hope it’s not a mess. Women don’t shoot themselves. I hope it was just pills.

He knocked on the door.

How is she gonna answer the door?

A woman appeared in the doorway and opened the door. She had a puzzled, sleepy look on her face.

“Ma’am, someone called us to come check on you. Is everything OK?” the officer inquired.

“Y-yes, everything is fine. Who called?” the woman replied, placing an upward emphasis on the word “who”.

“Dispatch said it was a friend of yours. May we come in?”

The woman let us inside. I asked her a few questions. We confirmed that nothing at all was wrong. She checked her cell phone and sure enough, 12 missed calls. We left the way we came in.

Well that’s a relief. Glad she’s OK.

I reflected on the call as my partner drove us back to the station.

“You know,” I said to my partner. “When we were heading around back, I thought we were about to find a dead body. That would have been my first DOA.”

“Yeah it would have been my first one too. Glad it was all a misunderstanding.”

As I reflected on the lessons to be learned from this call, the list filled quickly: Put on pair of gloves next time. Bring the laptop with you. Get vital signs.

But most importantly of all: Don’t Over Analyze.


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Great story. Tough job done by true heroes. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @viking-ventures. Congratulations. I was a little late getting here so will upvote a more recent post.

Great to have you stop by! That contest and Ms. Viking have been such a boon to my readership! Thank you for the kind words and your support, much appreciated!

We (me being the intern still) had a similar call. When we came around, some guy from the professional firefighters arrived too. (It's them who usually do door openings in scenarios like that.) He said something about being countermanded so he did not come with us but we had no newer information yet just to find an elderly man telling us everything was fine and that it was some misunderstanding. He felt really sorry.

I don't always have 2 pairs of gloves with me but it really pays off.

The worst part was that I had the gloves in my pocket! I just didn't have the presence of mind to put them on, hah.

Here in the USA every town/jurisdiction is different. Some places the firefighter would be on scene every time no matter what. It just depends on where you are working.

Glad you stopped by! How is your training going? When are you done?

My last intership shift will be someday in August I guess. Then there will be 2 more weeks in a hospital I'm looking forward to. Can't believe it might be really over afterwards. I never intended to do that for a living and being late with my internships I have to attend the classes again too. I had attended the classes already in 2014 at a school I payed myself - now I lack the money to do it with them again. I'm fond of this school actually. There are two other schools which cooperate with the Red Cross for training but I heard varying feedbacks about them. So it's undecided right now.
I'm already emotional about having that time coming to an end.

I’ll bet! That’s exciting for you though. It can be really rewarding as I’m sure you’re aware. It’s also a job you can be proud of, which counts for a lot.

Do you have any kind of final exam or assessment? We had a practical exam with 6 stations as well as a written multiple choice exam.

We had an exam for the basic course as it certifies you to do transports already too. It was a multiple choice test and a practical exam of two cases which we had to work on as a team of two, each one of us also being the head in a resuscitation scenario. This is the least qualified medic certificate you can get for professional use. The most qualified (the German term is "Notfallsanitaeter" = emergency medic) is now obtained with a three-year apprenticeship and I guess the final exam is quite complicated. I feel too old for that. :/

Oh ok, nice. Yes here in the US the highest emergency provider certificate is “paramedic” and that requires 2 years of school with a few hundred hours of ride time (shadowing/apprenticeship) during your coursework.

2 years have been common for a long time too; still, the former highest certificate ("Rettungsassistent") could also be obtained in a weekend course of approx. 1 year (1200 hours at the school followed by an exam) and another 1600 hours practical training on an ambulance (maybe partially in a hospital also). Those people also could attend an additional training later to qualify for assisting in anaesthesia and intensive care. Knowing that now I'm a little unhappy not to have started just before the change from 2 to 3 years came.

Very nice synopsis of what goes through your mind responding to your first call for service. I know we should never allow ourselves to become so complacent that we begin to think of calls as routine but nothing messes with the senses like those first few calls.

Thanks! Yeah, I have worked with some very jaded people. Usually though they are very good about putting on a mask when we arrive on scene. Nothing is worse for a patient (I would imagine) than having a bored or dismissive EMT to deal with.

Wow i felt like i was reading a book. Very interesting experience. Haha
Great work! Haha
Resteeming!

Aww, thank you! That is actually what I was trying for, so that's great feedback. I have read a few books by doctors and first responders and they are riveting to me. Maybe one day I will have a bunch of these written and I can try publishing them!

Yes!!!!!!!!!!
You write so well! It was not boring at all, I read it all.

Haha I like reading but I don't read that much tbh only the Lord of the rings books and I tried reading the turn of the screw but after a few pages it scared me and didn't want to read more.
It's nice too because your writings will be based on real experience and reflections.

💪💯👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

That was lucky that it wasn't DOA, would've been horrible to see early on.

I agree, I'm relieved it didn't start off that way. It's basically only a matter of time before it happens, though :(

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by DollarsAndSense from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

So grateful for the service you provide. Not everyone can do that! (I'd be a patient very quickly if I tried it.)
Thanks for sharing your story with us - I hope there are many more to come.

My pleasure! I am planning on more! Maybe once every 2 weeks or so since I only ride a couple times a month (and fortunately don’t have an exciting call every shift, either!)

No, that's a good thing that not every shift is exciting!

I have six kids (including four sons), so I know a little about injuries, etc. I think I do have one who hasn't gone to ER yet. But the others have made up for it.

ha! howdy @dollarsandsense! I loved this post with the dry humor that was so good and all the thoughts going through your mind, this was great. You could do one of these every day! I know you probably don't have time for that but still. great job!

You know, I did this one just for you :) hah, not exactly, but you did give me the idea a few weeks back to tell stories about my time on the ambulance. I should have a few more coming over the next couple weeks. Don't want to tell them all at once!

no sir space them out for sure! I think those are great. you may have some interesting stories forming all the time from ambulance runs who knows?

My son is a volunteer EMT and firefighter for the small town where I used to live... every call is a learning experience. He never knows what to expect.

Glad everything worked out and no one was hurt.

Good for him! I haven’t gotten into the firefighting side, though the door is wide open if/when I want to do it. I’m thinking I might get into that a year or two from now.

Really nice story. Thanks for sharing, @dollarsandsense!

You can thank @viking-ventures for suggesting me your post, in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Awesome, thank you and thanks to the contest sponsors and curators!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97