Beauty and the Beast Props - Windmill ~Teaser~

in #story6 years ago (edited)

"Pray look better, Sir... those things yonder are no giants, but windmills."
- Miguel de Cervantes -


When I haven't posted on Steemit for more than a week,

there has to be a good reason. I've been intensely busy finishing up the props for Beauty and the Beast.

How busy have I been?

All the usual hack phrases apply. Busier than a one-armed paper hanger. Busier than a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs. Busy as a bee. Busy as a beaver. Too busy to breathe. Etc., etc.

Here's the latest (and final!) B&B prop "teaser."

This time, a sneak peek at progress on the Windmill prop for the upcoming production of Beauty and the Beast.


Table of Contents

Have you seen Beauty and the Beast?
Image by Walt Disney Pictures, via Wikimedia Commons

The end of March is drawing near,

and the Windmill is one of three exotic props I must deliver in plenty of time for final rehearsals and for "Tech Week," the week of intense practice in the theater where the performances are publicly held.

In the 2017 Disney movie version of the story, Belle's father Maurice is seen in his workshop working on a Windmill Music Box. Although not in the Broadway theatrical version of the story, the director of this performance felt that it was important to include a version of that scene.

Table of Contents
The Windmill Music Box - Early design work...
Original image by @creatr






Compared to the Enchanted Rose and the Magic mirror,

the Windmill prop has been relatively easy to create.

The design is a fairly straightforward combination of a battery, a geared-down motor, and some LED lighting. It's dressed up a little with some paint, hot melt glue, and finishing touches.






On the printer bed below,

you can see the hexagonal foundation being laid.

I modeled the windmill design loosely after the features I liked best taken from a wide array of photos of Dutch windmills.


Table of Contents

Windmill foundation being printed.
Original image by @creatr

The main structure was printed in one piece.

I had originally considered printing six walls and gluing them together, but in the end went for a unibody construction.


Table of Contents

Windmill Rising
Original image by @creatr

You can see a walkway and railing circling the base near the bottom. The "jaggies" near the bottom right are support structures being printed to temporarily hold up the walkway. That material is removed after printing.

The Windmill prop is operated by a 12 volt battery.

The battery pack runs a motor with reduction gearing that turns the blades at about five RPM. It also powers some white LEDs that illuminate the Windmill's windows from within.


Table of Contents

Custom printed, uber-compact 12v battery pack.
Original image by @creatr

To my special Theater Fans:

The end of the road is near. I hope to deliver all three props to the director and prop master next week. I'll be working with the theater lighting director to ensure that the Enchanted Rose is properly connected to the theater DMX lighting control system and that it functions compatibly.

Table of Contents
The Windmill Music Box - Design Complete...
Original image by @creatr

I expect I'll also be involved during Tech Week to be sure that the actors and actresses are properly trained in the use and handling of the props, and that the prop master is competent to set up and operate, and re-set the Enchanted Rose.

Stay tuned!

I plan to write more detailed posts about the design and development of each of the props, and also about any adventures that may occur as I do the "hand-off" to the theater people.


If you're just tuning in, here are previous entries in this series (including ruminations) about prop-making:

Prop-Making for Beauty and the Beast
"The Ocean of Life" - A Haiku by Duncan Cary Palmer
"When Wandering Wizards Wonder..."
"Finally Out to Sea..." a Haiku by Duncan Cary Palmer
Beauty and the Beast Props - Enchanted Rose ~Teaser~
Beauty and the Beast Props - Magic Mirror ~Teaser~
Beauty and the Beast Props - Windmill ~Teaser~


~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more true-life stories, CLICK our Library Stories Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

very innovative, my friend - I know from experience how demanding live production is - it can eat up all your time. I recall just as we were nearing final production some emergency contracting work had to be done in the auditorium, but we needed the stage and a full dress rehearsal - we taught the actors to project over the sound of hammers and drills - even to sing that way - worked out very well :)

That particular production sounds as if it was quite an adventure! As well as good experience for the cast... ;)

It's fascinating to watch you creating these props! It's quite amazing :)

I have you on my list of people interested in meeting up in San Diego. We are having a meetup this Sunday if you are interested.
https://steemit.com/meetup/@mariannewest/let-s-meet-up-san-diego-4-8-2018

Thank you so much for the notice. Don't know if I can make this one, but I very much appreciate that you are keeping me on your list. :D

Thank you!! I don't want to spam you. As long as you are okay with me leaving comments with meetups, I am happy to do it.

I'm more than OK with it, glad to have it, and I Thank You again!

Looking forward to meeting you, if not Sunday then sometime soon? ;)

Hi @creatr,

You've been busy! Congratz for getting all those props done. How did the...

"hand-off" to the theater people

go?

Also, @kiwideb suggested I speak with you about buying steem or steem power in exchange for US$ via Paypal.

I can't find you in Discord though. Would it be possible for you to private message me on my Facebook personal profile... full name and then I'd get back with amount etc so we can sort the details. Would so appreciate.

Apologies for the long delay responding... Crazy busy here. If it's not one thing, it's another.

I haven't been on Discord for a while. There, I am creatr#0884 next time you look. Please leave me a note here with your Discord ID, and I'll look for you next time I'm on; we can discuss how much Steem you might be interested in, etc.

The hand off went well (it was yesterday) but I still have the props until Tech Week... there are a few details I need to attend to. Hope to write about it all again soon!

Thanks for contacting me, and I hope we'll be able to chat soon.

No prob. Great to hear back from you!

I tried finding you in Discord before but no luck. I'm not yet proficient in there. ;) I have no clue what my number ID is but username is as here... angelacs.

Would it be possible to just look me up on Facebook and private message me there using my full name? (Angela Chen Shui)

If you look on Discord you should find your name plus a 4-digit number in the format #0000.

Or just click on "Add Friend" and put in my Discord name and number.

I'm not a Discord jock either by any means, but we should be able to connect there... ;)

Very cool. I have never really seen anything being made on a 3d printer. I like it.

3D printers are the bomb. If you have any creative juices, or just want to play, I can't recommend enough that you get one to play with... ;)

I can see why you have been busy, very cool design!

I'm impressed with the intricacy of your work. Very involved and very professional. Can the props be reused for anything or repurposed after the production? Thanks again for sharing @creatr

Hi, Troy, thanks for stopping by.

I think these props are pretty tightly focused on Beauty and the Beast - especially the Enchanted Rose.

I would imagine that a Magic Mirror with lights and a display, and a rotating Windmill might potentially find use elsewhere. I'm also planning to show the director a flickering fire effect that I developed years ago that makes incandescent bulbs flicker like a flame... Just in case she may wish to use it in the Beast palace fireplace.

You are creative my friend and you live up to your name thanks so much. Have a blessed Easter. @creatr

That's so cool. It's impressive you can do this. I've never seen theater props made this way. Above and beyond the call of duty is what you're creating.

Thanks, @marxrab.

They are almost done, and I hope to present considerably more detail before too long. :D

@creatr Hopefully you have finished the prototype soon. Best regards

Thank you. I am very close to finished!

It's good to see your posts again, dear friend @creatr.
You are very good at what you do, congratulations, the work looks great, without doubt it will be very practical.
I wish you a great day

Thanks my friend! I appreciate your encouragement and support! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98