"The Ocean of Life" - A Haiku by Duncan Cary Palmer

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

"A ship in port is safe, but that's not what ships are built for."
- Grace Hopper -

Sometimes fearful emotions try to take me over.

That's when I most need to be able to control my ship.

Table of Contents

Feeling small in the face of life...
Image courtesy of Matthieu Da Cruz and http://unsplash.com

Feeling somewhat unsettled today,

I thought perhaps writing a haiku would be just the cure...


"The Ocean of Life"

~A Haiku by Duncan Cary Palmer~


The ocean of life...
I should be sailing away,
not dodging the rocks.




This post is an OFFICIAL PORT on @dreemsteem's "X Marks the Post" Treasure Hunt.  If you'd like to become a treasure hunter, an official stop, or a sponsor - Follow the map to begin your journey! By the way, she loves good comments even more than upvotes - so be sure to say Hi! 


~FIN~


For more haiku and other poetry, CLICK our Library Poetry Shelf.


Table of Contents



Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

It's a beautiful poem....a true quote and a beautiful picture with Beautiful view... Thanks for sharing @creatr

Thank you.

Nice, but at times like this - just float up among the trees ;)

OK, thanks! :D

I hope your day will get better. Sorry to hear you are having an unsettled day. I am sure you'll be able to get through. It seems like you are a strong person from your writings. Great haiku by the way.

Thank you, @bhabykat, for your kind words and positive thoughts.

You are always welcome. Just keep holding. We are always here to listen. Sending our hugs.

My attention was drawn to the word "Haiku" and I looked online and I could see that it is a kind of Japanese short poetry, it does not have a fixed metric and "it is based on the amazement and emotion that the poet produces in the contemplation of nature ... Certainly is a short poem but extremely deep and ideal for reflection.

A very nice Haiku. I hope you find peace of mind for what you are unsettled about. Perhaps you can blog on it. I just care about you. Blessings my friend @creatr.

Thank you, Troy.

Well there's certainly truth in that haiku!! But we have to do both....dodge and then sail. Those are the "rules". hehe....

Your message reminds me of hiking with a small stone in my shoe. I take it out, hike for a bit and another small stone finds its way into my shoe again. Over and over until I reach my destination where I can remove my shoes and walk on soft grass.

Like I said to Lydon tonight...it's the bumps we grow on. What bumps are in your way @creatr.

Peace be still.

I'm just feeling a tad overwhelmed, struggling with my own disorganization and with some tasks more difficult than I expected and with wondering whether I've bitten off more than I can chew...

Yes, I've been there with that pebble... :D

Thanks for asking, dear... ;) And for wishing me peace... :D

Overwhelmed is not fun. I wish I could help you out somehow.

I believe it will all work out and all the struggling will just give you a work out. :) Maybe you could find someone to help you chew?

You have helped with your kind words. I muddle on... :D

We are all sometimes overtaken with fear, but bravery is to take action when you are afraid.

An excellent observation, Thank you. :D

I do not believe that there is anything in the world that can not be improved or changed, whatever the reason for its instability is not as great as faith in oneself
How many reasons do you have in your words?
"A boat in the port is safe, but for that the boats are not built".
in life many times we are feeling safe with something or somewhere however, we must take risks to continue our way. Dear friend @creatr
I want that feeling of instability to pass soon
Have a great day

Hello, my friend @jlufer!

Thank you so much for your very kind and encouraging words! :D

You are a good friend to come alongside with comfort today. <3

i'm sorry you're having a rough day.... it's a beautiful haiku!

you'll be sailing away soon enough... in your drone car :)
and i'm coming too!

i'll send you a message soon!

Sounds good to me...

The VTOL, supersonic electric flyer...

no, wait...

The anti-gravity, 45-minutes-to-anywhere flyer! :D

Come on, let's skidaddle!

ok... but after i get back from vacation hehehehe

Ah, but the rocks are where the Sirens call.....

I knew that... but got distracted! ;)

Now you've got me thinking about mermaids again! :O
Oh, my...

well, you spend a lot of time in the water

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62593.28
ETH 3105.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86