An Unusual Birthday Surprise

in #story5 years ago (edited)

"Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for thereby some have entertained angels unawares."
- Hebrews 13:2 -


NOTE: This is a real life example of how not to manage a business.


"Oh no!"

My wife's piercing cry carries from the kitchen into the livingroom where I'm watching "The Orville" with my son. I'm on my feet in an instant, heading toward her voice.

"What's wrong?"

"It's gone. I know I had plenty."

"What's gone?"

"Someone used all the powdered sugar. I can't do this."

Tomorrow is our granddaughter's Sweet Sixteen birthday, and my wife is melting down from the stress of being halfway through baking a special birthday cake, only to discover a key ingredient is missing.

cake.jpg

Happy Birthday ~ Image courtesy of Christopher Martyn

"Calm down, I'll go get some."

I throw on a jacket, and as I'm rushing toward the door, our son says "Vons is open until midnight." I look at my phone: It's 11:44 PM, I should make it just fine.

Usually a fast and somewhat aggressive driver, tonight I'm moving at ludicrous speed, banking around corners and shooting the rapids. Up hill and down dale, I arrive at Vons with maybe seven minutes to spare.

As I step out of the car and trigger the lock, my heart sinks. Patting my pockets confirms the worst; I've left my wallet at home.

Dammit! I'm out of time. I head into the store, furiously devising a backup plan. Walking past several aisles, scanning the signs hanging above, here's a fellow stocking shelves.

grocer.jpg

"Where's the sugar?" ~ Image courtesy of D A V I D S O N L U N A

"Where's the sugar?"

"Next aisle."

This late at night, there are stacks of boxes everywhere. I thread my way like a slalom skier, desperately scanning the shelves for what I need, but hitting the other end of the row nonetheless. Heading back the other way, I spot boxes of "Sugar" on the left.

Why can't I see it? I see Baker's Sugar, Granulated Sugar, Brown Sugar, box after box. The wife mentioned that it's also called Confectioners Sugar, but where's the box?

Oh, wait. The powdered sugar is in bags.

The store brand is on sale, and I grab a bag and head to the front of the store. My plan is now fully formed, but I come to a full stop behind a young woman and a stack of boxes blocking the aisle.

"Excuse me."

"Oh, I'm sorry!"

"No worries, they've got these aisles all jammed up with boxes. Have a good evening."

manager.jpg

The Inflexible Manager ~ Image courtesy of mohamed Hassan

My path now clear,

I make my way to the service desk.

"Is there a manager here?"

"You're talking to him."

I launch into my plea.

"I'm in the middle of an unusual baking emergency. You see, my wife's trying to bake a cake and really needs this sugar, but I rushed out of the house without my wallet. Would it be possible for me to sign for this and pay later?"

"No."

I'm stunned. Did he really say no?

"We've shopped in this Vons since it opened in the 1980s. Isn't there some way you might possibly accommodate a loyal customer?"

"We're on camera. I can't have a recording of you walking out that door with unpaid merchandise."

TwoDollars.jpg

Seriously? Two Dollars? ~ Image courtesy of Thomas Breher

Seriously? Two dollars?

My brain kicks into high gear. I look at the manager and the cashier beside him, and attempt an appeal.

"Could one of you possibly give me a personal loan of two dollars? I promise I will repay you."

In the thrall of her manager, the cashier says nothing. Her boss just doubles down on his negativity. Time for plan B.

Turning my back on the recalcitrant manager, I head towards the nearest shopper. It's the young woman I passed a few minutes earlier.

shopper.png

My Angel Unaware ~ Image courtesy of Vikramjit Kakati

"Excuse me?"

"Sorry to bother you. I realize you don't know me, but I wonder if you could loan me two dollars?"

Summarizing my desperate plight, I am palpably relieved when this angel pulls two one-dollar bills out of her wallet. Talk about the kindness of strangers!

"I promise I will mail it back to you."

"Oh, there's no need."

"Yes, I really need to." I jot her address into a text message on my phone, and after offering her my profuse thanks, I return to the checkout, pay for the sugar, and race home. Disaster averted, the birthday cake has been saved.

sixteen.jpg

Sweet Sixteen ~ Image courtesy of Tyler Delgado

After sharing my incredible story with the family,

I pen a short letter:

Dear Michelle,

I can't begin to tell you how much I appreciate your kindness to me tonight. Tomorrow is our granddaughter's sixteenth birthday, and my wife was in dire straits without the sugar she needed to bake a birthday cake.

Thank you so very much for lending me the two dollars I needed to complete my desperate mission. You were truly an angel of mercy in my time of need.

My prayer for you is that, should you ever find yourself in a tight spot, God will send you an angel to help you. You've saved me from a tough situation when those who should have helped only stood by and watched. I am truly grateful. May Jesus/God bless you to the max!

Kindest regards,

-creator

letter.jpg

I pen a short letter... ~ Image courtesy of Tyler Delgado

I address and stamp the envelope.

Carefully folding my letter around two crisp dollar bills, I insert it into the envelope, seal it, and put it by the door, ready to go.

Have you ever been blessed by an unknown messenger of kindness? I would love to hear about it.


~FIN~


Important Note: My articles often contain hot links to supplemental information. While they aren't essential, you may find added value by following them. Most images also link to useful or related information or articles.


Note: If you're reading this after the payout window has closed,
you can still reward it: CLICK HERE.


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For an extensive collection of stories,
please check out our Library Stories Shelf - CLICK below:


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

What a crazy yet fun story! Thanks for sharing your amazing race and so glad that all worked out for you and your family!!

Why, Thank you!

Everything ended well, the pie got made, and the birthday party was a success. Our granddaughter enjoyed the pie a great deal (it was a "turtle pie," entirely too sweet IMHO, full of caramel and chocolate). :)

I really enjoyed your story, creatr. I was not surprised to find that someone was there to help you, knowing what a helpful person you are. The love comes back around, I think.

And speaking of sugar!
How Sweet It Is...

Hi @camille1234,

Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

Thanks also for sharing this interesting video.
I find what they are doing to our food appalling...

I'm following your advice... posting a comment so I can reward you. Actually, I would have posted the comment anyway. This story reminds me of an incident many years ago. I was no angel, just young, and everyone around said I was foolish.

I was working at Kennedy Airport, summer of 1970. The place was packed. My job was to help process passengers. One was in great distress because she had no money to get home. I gave her $17, all I had on me. She promised to pay me pack, to send a check. Sure enough, that check came in the mail. I never cashed it, because receiving felt so good. It proved all the cynics wrong. Worth much more than $17.

Moral of the story? Maybe we should place more faith in the young :)

Hey there, @agmore,

Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your story!

Yes, there are surely some encouraging things that happen when people are in distress and vulnerable.

I grew up on Long Island, and have some interesting memories of Kennedy Airport. I was in and out of there probably a couple of years before your story, once when I was on my way to college. I also passed through when I attended NCC '79 in the big apple...

Thanks again for sharing! :D

I'll have to check in your blog more often. I lost track. Nice that you can visualize JFK. It was madness in summer. I worked at the International Arrivals Building (IAB). My first 'real' job out of college. What an education in life that was.
I didn't realize you grew up on Long Island. I've lived here since '74--birth of my first child. I don't know if it's changed that much over the years. A little more heterogeneous and urban, perhaps. Still chopped into neighborhoods by strictly defined school districts. It seems we do follow our children on Long Island.
I'll be looking at your blog later for more recent posts. Glad that birthday cake worked out :)

Hi again, friend. :)

I left Long Island on my 12th birthday in 1962... have only been back for visits a couple of times. Sadly, from all I can see it has changed immensely. I tell some of this story in my Agorism series, one of the first things I wrote on Steemit - accessible via my Library.

The New York State school system at one time was a very fine operation. I would tremble to look at it closely nowadays...

Great to "talk" with you! I would like to visit LI and see what it is like these days. I have not been there in person since 1980... :(

I really miss New York natural casing street vendor hot dogs with onion sauce and sauerkraut! :O

Kind of funny you bring up the school system. Was talking to my daughter today about Regents exams. My granddaughter taking Earth Science this year. NY is revamping Regents requirements. Less, not more. Remember the old days? A regents every year in every major subject? People actually failed? Nope. New standards: four, overall. Here's a link to the "New Generation".
I miss those hot dogs too... can't eat them anymore :)

This is just the sweetest! I have on many occasions been blessed by a stranger, but I think the one that stands out the most was this: my husband and I totaled our car on the way back from a Valentine’s Day ski trip. The tow guy dropped us off at a gas station, 3 hours from home in a blizzard. We had just moved to Colorado and knew 1 person in Denver, who would have had to make a heinous 6 hour drive to come get us. We sat there for quite a while, hoping someone would get back to us but not having a whole lot of hope. This guy walked into the gas station, took one look at us, and asked if we needed a ride. Despite the blizzard despite the 6 hour round trip, he helped us get home safe.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, that's an amazing and wonderful story!

I have had many occasions where "angels" have showed me great kindness, I wish I could remember them all. But for a stranger to drive you three hours each way in such inclement weather, that's quite the gift.

So nice to "see" you here today, @sunravelme. I've long appreciated your support, especially when I was writing about the theater props. I still owe you a few stories along that axis to complete the series. I've been focusing on my "maker" side over on Whaleshares, but continue to write both there and here... though I have been pretty dormant and distracted from writing at either venue lately.

Thank you so much for stopping by and responding with this lovely story of your own! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Your Proton engine seems marvellous, but I'll have to wait for Steem to return to one dollar :(

I hope you can supply at that time...

No worries!

Your interest is appreciated. :D

Loading...

That was a true-to-life tale. I recall when Levi , our Australian Shepherd , was diagnosed with Cancer. We were at a huge clinic and surprisingly the parking spaces were metered. I never carry money - only plastic. The rates were exorbitant too. A man walked up to me out of the blue and gave me ten dollars in coins. I was taken aback by his generosity and often think about it. Strangely enough, I've never prayed for him...maybe I should.

Hi John,

Thanks for sharing your story. The kindness of strangers is often surprising.

I think I've told you before that I'm not a systematic prayer... I find it curious who the LORD brings to mind from time to time for me to pray for. Sometimes I'll even pray for some celebrity who has blessed me with their art... e.g. I really love Paul Simon's music, and I from time to time ask the LORD to bless him with an authentic relationship with Jesus.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45