Winners: Farmpunk Fiction and Steem Monsters Starter Pack

in #story6 years ago

I may have overdone myself. In the fifth farmpunk fiction writing contest, I gave out a cornucopia of ideas for themes, but I only got two entries in the contest. Bummer! I'm not sure if it was because November is such a holiday month and everyone is busy or if I just gave people too much to think about. Maybe a little bit of both.

cornucopia.jpg
Image from Pixabay.

The bright side is, one of those entries was from a new contender, and he offered up some stiff competition. Both stories were quite good in their own right.

Before I announce the winner, however, I'm going to showcase the results of the random draw for the Steem Monsters starter pack. I got three entries for that.

Starter pack random draw list.PNG

I decided to use a random wheel to make the decision on the winner.

Random wheel.PNG

And the end result was:

cicisaja.PNG

Congratulations @cicisaja!

And now, on to the winner of the farmpunk fiction contest for November 2018. While I like both entries, each for different reasons, I'm going to award the prize to @calluna for her story "The Dreams of a Gear." This story has some built-in complexity to it and is a play off combining the Guy Fawkes theme with the cornucopia theme. Very clever indeed, and very well written. Congratulations to @calluna for her second farmpunk win.

Her story begins like this:

No one could quite say when it had died, but one by one, we realised. Looking out over the bloated corpse of the stained city, I knew it then.

fire.png
Image used in @calluna's original post came from Pixabay.

This week is very touch and go for me. My 11-year-old grandson has been visiting with me all week. He's a precocious red head who likes to play games and I'm head of the Entertain Nathen Committee. So posting this week has been sporadic and "iffy" at best. Plus, Thursday is Thanksgiving here in the U.S. This could be my last post this week, or at least until the weekend.

On top of that, I won't sponsor a farmpunk fiction contest in December, for similar reasons. Busy month--for everyone. We will carry on with the #exquisite-corpse, with some leniency on posting time frame, so if you want to participate, drop your name below in the comment. So far, @quillfire is in.

steemit bloggers

Get your weird lit on:

The Biblical Legends Anthology Series

Garden of EdenSulfuringsDeluge
At AmazonAt AmazonAt Amazon

Limerents in the Bog


At Amazon

steemit bloggers

review me
Review Me, Please

While you're here, check out the backside 5:

speculative fiction writers of steemit
Created by @EdibleCthulhu
#speculativefiction


Steemit Bloggers

promo mentors

helpienaut

Sort:  

Thank you @blockurator 😉 so happy that now I have a starter pack from you😊 but because someone already upfund me with the starter pack 3 days ago☺ I'm gonna give it to someone who needs the starter pack too.

Happy Thanksgiving for you and your family, wish you all the best, see you around @blockurator👐

Thanks for being forthcoming. Is it okay if I do a redraw? The other two people in the running don't have starter packs either and they both followed the rules.

Yes off course @blockurator 😉 I supported that redraw 😉 we want more players and more people enjiy the games.. I have one already and please.. do what you have to do 😊

Thank you. Redraw as soon as is feasible.

I loved to participate, the story that won was the best.

Thanks, man. Glad you liked it. :-)

I think it is a busy month and steem is low - the engagement has dropped a lot.
Have fun with your grandson!!

Great generosity @blockurator. November is a very busy month where I live. I'm sure things will pick up again.

#steemitbloggers

Me to. Appreciate you dropping by. :-)

I think less people are writing on steemit due to low price of steem,so don't worry! :)

No worries. I'm confident it will bounce back up.

A worthy winner indeed. I shall take a look at the next farmpunk for finally getting an entry in mate. I have been so lax with experimenting recently and it is an interesting genre idea. Hope you are well, despite being roped in to head of entertainment ;-)

Hey, how was Steemfest?

I think you'd be great at this genre. You've got the writing chops, the imagination, and the attitude. :-)

Steemfest was amazing mate. Check out my latest post if you want to find out a bit more. Once you get past the crazy drinking story ;-) there is some more serious impressions of the presentations I saw, and was involved with, steemfest 3. I still have a few more posts to write about Krakow as well. \n\n> I think you'd be great at this genre. You've got the writing chops, the imagination, and the attitude.\n\nThanks. I shall give it my best shot 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool. I'll check out the post. :-)

Hi, @blockurator!

You just got a 1.5% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Happy Thanksgiving buddy! Looks like a cool little contest and look forward to reading more from the winner! Festive season is going to be busy for everyone I think so activity is going to decrease a little bit methinks. Anyway, take it easy :)

Yes, I agree. That's why I think no contest in December. Thanks for stopping by. Happy Thanksgiving!

November is a quiet month. I guess people get tied up early with the November Nano writing challenge and in origami the ioio. I'll keep an eye out for your January competition.

Cool. I'd love to have you join us. Happy Thanksgiving (if you're in the U.S., and if not, have a happy day anyways)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33