Storyteller's Collective, Special Edition - Story Slam Competition

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Storytellers have been with us forever. The observers and preservers of human experience. Using fact and fiction, farce and fear, they draw us into worlds they weave with their voices.

I've been scouring the web, looking for the best Storytellers I can find to share through the Storyteller's Collective Series. It occurred to me the other day that we have many gifted folks right here on Steemit! So, with that in mind, I'd like to invite all our Storytellers to participate in a competition...



FIRST PRIZE - 20 STEEM from @aunt-deb
SECOND PRIZE - 10 STEEM from @aubreyfox

STEEMIT STORY SLAM RULES

Audio and/or video.
Five minute limit.
Deadline 1 week from today.
Entry must be in comments below to be eligible.
Limit 3 entries per Storyteller.
One entry per comment.

You may do a separate post, but it will not be entered in the competition if missing from the comment section.
If you do, please add #steemitstoryslam to your tags
so we can find you to upvote!

Scoring:

@sarahewaring, our resident Storyteller has graciously consented to be our Judge! (You can catch up on her series Fields of Fable or Rooms of Time by following the embedded links. All the Chapters for each series are linked to in the latest episodes.)

Upvotes for entries carry what weight @sarahewaring decides to give them, perhaps as a tie-breaker. Commentary is, of course, encouraged!

I can see the Steemit Story Slam turning into an ongoing competition - as in a weekly contest culminating in a monthly or quarterly winner.

Right now, though, we'll see if there are any brave Steemians who will tell us Story...

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Edited to add time limit. Edited again to recommend #steemitstoryslam tag.

Sort:  

Yay! Just saw it. Will have a good listen once hubby goes to bed. He's amazing at picking the worst moment to interrupt when I'm trying to focus on something. Arrrrggghh.

Fingers crossed he gets sleepy quick...

Oh, I know this feeling. I've been wanting to put a pillow over my hubby's head and squeeze just so I could have some peace and quiet...and get some work done! Sadly, when I'm fit to kill, he thinks it's adorable. What am I do to with that man???

My mom used to threaten to use a 2x4 between his eyes.

THEN, when she had his attention....

she'd explain things slowly and in one syllable words.

Just kidding, but boy, it's tempting.

Awesome story, bud! And you're almost there for the competition. If you can upload a video or audio version and keep it under 5 minutes & post a link here, you'll be set!

I had a moment of panic and thought I missed the deadline. When hubby said it was Friday I thought he was kidding. Where did my week go???

Deep breath... Lol!

Deadline is next Tuesday.

I figured a weekend in the middle would be helpful. You've got time...

I just saw this is almost $19! Good for you, hope you do not get whale flagged for it LOL

I love the idea @aunt-deb
I've got a piece of flash fiction that I've been meaning to storyboard and make a video with. It might be longer than 5 minutes but I'll see what I can do. Sharing on Twitter! :D

https://twitter.com/merej99/status/837052660444463104

merej99 Meredith Loughran tweeted @ 01 Mar 2017 - 21:31 UTC

Storyteller's Collective, Special Edition - Story Slam Competition — Steemit

steemit.com/story/@aunt-de… / https://t.co/1oZkdg4Vbl
#steemit #storytellers

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

I twittered that for Deb the other nite too. It all helps.

Yay! That's part of why I made the deadline in a week. It gives folks time to polish rough spots and fine-tune things.

I think it'll will be fun for all of us and hopefully will encourage others to try their hand at it, too. So glad you're joining in!

oh! And I'd love to donate 10 STEEM by placing all participants in a randomizer for an equal chance to win a prize for playing -- if that's all right? You've got me on Twitter now. It's probably the best way to message me :D

After I posted this today I had to run out the door so I am just coming here now to update Deb. This is my entry.

Absolutely okay with me! I'm trying to not get to crazy so I can at least do a month's worth of them, then maybe a Slam-a-palooza featuring the past week's winners for a monthly overall winner. Am also trying not to get too far ahead of myself, either. Lol.

Yup, got you on Twitter now. Woot!

Let's face it, I meant limp. LOL

Oh, I have stories, my headaches plus the Downvote crap from a handful of unbalanced whales are pissing me off as you saw from what I sent you last nite. I am checking in here tomorrow on this post!!

Yeah, I've seen the uproar. The way I see it, some whales have too much time on their hands, especially if they're going out of their way to throw their weight around. I'd think their time would be better spent on positive actions. Silly me, I guess...

Agreed.

I am back online to figure this out now. There is only so much time I have for everything on my plate as you know but I would like to support this effort for you.

So, separate post is what you are looking for, and then copy that into a reply here, or a reply to a comment here, with a story -- either works for you?

You might want to edit this one more time and ask people to please tag their post with #SteemitStorySlam so you guys can for sure find them all easily too as a backup measure.

Either order is fine, just so long as one ends up in the comments. Thanks for the tip on adding the tag in the separate posts. Good idea and done!

Oh, and I have my fingers crossed that all the whales like stories as much as I do... ;-p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51