You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Luna Moth (Actias luna)

in #steemstem7 years ago

really beautifull, and really nice pics, did you take this with a specific camera and macro lens? (been getting into photography myself lately so i am a bit curious)
and since you seem to be knowledgable about weird animals: could you look at this one and maybe tell me what it is?https://steemit.com/photography/@felander/combination-photography-contest-from-papa-pepper-week-5-my-submission-is-the-bumblemoth

I shot this this weekend here in broad daylight in Switzerland

Sort:  

Thank you!

I usually include camera information in the post, but I forgot to this time. I use a Canon T3 with the kit EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II lens. I went on Amazon and bought a really cheap screw-on attachment for macro shots. It isn't perfect, but I am learning a lot while saving up for a good macro lens!

I can't be sure what kind of moth it is without seeing the coloration, but there are several types of moths that mimic hummingbirds, including the hummingbird clearwing and the hummingbird hawk. You may have had a better look at your moth. Check out the pictures in the links and maybe you can match it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51