COMBINATION PHOTOGRAPHY CONTEST FROM @PAPA-PEPPER – WEEK 5 my submission is the Bumblemoth

in #photography7 years ago

Today we were having lunch in our favourite pizza place and really enjoying this weekends sunshine.  Right next to me there were some pretty pink flowers in a pot hanging on the balcony railing.  

Then all of a sudden I hear some loud buzzing next to me and when I look over I spot this really weird but cute looking insect.  Quickly grabbing my camera I was able to shoot these amazing shots but I really have no clue what so ever as to what kind of insect this is.  (my new Camera is an Olympus OM-D Em10II)


It was kind of like a butterfly body with the big tongue as well but it had wings that moved really really fast like a bumblebee so it could hover over the flowers and suck the nectar. (so if anyone could enlighten me I would be thankful)


So since I have no clue what this is I proudly present: the bumblemoth




and of course the proof I was there and you can see the blurry blob of the Bumblemoth behind me still over the flower (with the face I apparently always pull when proving I was there)



Sort:  

Thnx @felander for putting this info all together.

you are very welcome, thanks for the comment and the vote

Nice photos. It makes me think of hummingbirds.

me to, but really have no clue what they are, must be somekind of moth but almost has the same size as a hummingbird

It's a hummingbird hawkmoth so you were thinking along the right lines! They're awesome. I used to work for the RSPB and every year we'd get at least one call from someone thinking they'd seen the first UK hummingbird! Nicely captured @felander!

cool, thanks for the enlightnment
it was a really strange and beautifull animal and I was glad to get it on picture

PS - I like your name of bumblemoth too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67