THE ART OF IRRITATING - good questioning and becoming a creative interviewer

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

You think it's easy to ask "good" questions? I would say: to the contrary.

Questioning is a high art as I have learned through my education becoming a systemic integrative consultant for family- and social matters.

What indeed are questions supposed to do? Are they designed for that you give the "best", "quickest", "smartest" answer to them? Are they a tool for gaining knowledge and insight?

What if questions are to be asked in order to irritate you?

In this article I will state that the latter is the case. At least when it comes to questions which should help you to solve a problem. Among other systemic question techniques I am going to focus on the concept of circularity.

Trailed habits

In my upbringing it was rather a habit to answer properly, to let my parents and teachers know that I am willing to gain knowledge and that I am eager to be a good student. The form teachers and parents mostly ask is somehow grinded into the fabric of my civilization and became a sticky habit. I have no memories in being questioned in a way which I did not expect. Rather the questions of authorities were foreseen and expected in a way that I thought of adults often as being boring. With some exceptions, though.

To my unrecognized misfortune, however, I simply adopted the questioning techniques and usually one asks nowadays and in this country almost on autopilot: "Why are you in such a bad mood?" or "What do you want to do professionally?" or "How was it in school?", without us really expecting a profound answer.

Do you want to experience what an unusual question is? Here's one for example:

"How long do you think you'd like to keep your disappointment?"

What does this question imply? What do you notice? And also the question: How high was your expectation that now a question will arise that will knock you off your socks - on a scale of 1-10 (1 = no expectation, 10 = immense expectation). You just got a little insight, didn't you?

If someone asked me such a question - about disappointment - after I had told him about my misery, for example because I had not been granted a salary increase, the reaction would be a feeling of anger. "How long do I want to keep my disappointment? I just told you how unfair my boss is to me!"

This question would maybe cause even my rage - if I am a bit aggressive at the moment. If I were perhaps discouraged or sad at that time, the question would certainly irritate me and I would ask, "Huh? What do you mean?"

Anger, irritation & laughter: That is what is meant to happen

It frees me from my usual and comfortable response pattern. It shakes and shocks up something in me, which is a valuable resource, which otherwise - with the usual expected reaction would sleep comfortably further and only serves the ordinary.

What does the question point to? It leads the interviewee to realize that he or she has an influence on whether and for how long he or she wants to carry a disappointment as such. It indicates freedom of choice. From the contemplation "I'm the victim of disappointment," I decide what to do with it and how long to let it influence me.

Some systemic questioning-techniques:

Scaling questions

"On a scale of 1-10: how does your social connections feel to you?"
(1= not connected, very bad, 10 = well connected, very good)

Effect:

It quickly becomes clear what degree of severity someone attaches to a thing. Figures provide more clarity about the situation than one would ask: How would you rate your social contacts? Even less effective would be the question of why one is so little socially involved (could be even offending).

Circular questions

  • "How do you think your brother would react if you changed your attitude towards your daughter?"
  • "If your blockage would disappear overnight, as if by magic, who would be the first to notice this? Who after that?"
Effect:

Questioned in such a way, the interviewee is asked to make a change of perspective. Even if he is not able to do so, this becomes obvious and it can lead to the consultant practicing the change of perspective with the client. Another effect is, that the scene is an "as if" one and therefore a client can just phantasize about the "what if" and does not have to make immediate commitments (which in some cases would be too soon, for example)

Narrative interview

"If you were a filmmaker, what would be the title that best describes your life?"

Effect:

The interviewee tries to convey as much meaning as possible in the shortest possible message and will try to concentrate on the essentials. Nobody would like to offer a cheap title, no?

Positive connotation

"Since everyone in the family turns to you for support in case of problems and instead of feeling a burden, what positive message does it tell you that everyone is asking for help?"

Effect:

One-sided straining situations are turned around and something is looked at in a new way. What was previously considered only negative is given a (new) positive aspect.

Sharp Spotlight or Flooding the space all over

Circular questions were introduced and heavily used in the beginning of the 1970s by the Milanese group - which I mentioned in another article of mine. This group pursued a systemic approach to family therapy. The question model assumes that people describe their situations/problems "in terms that are either too broad or too narrow." Therefore, the questioning technique should help to draw connections on the one hand and to make distinctions, on the other hand.

If you look/hear carefully, one thing is very clear in the examples: they are not "Why" questions. "Why" questions help little to find out the difference and discover the exception to the rule. But these discoveries are precisely what it is about: making unclear or unconscious feelings/actions/omissions and perspectives visible.

Do you see the difference being asked to "describe your relationship to your colleague" and being left alone with this invitation? People aren't very well trained in telling another one how they experience their relationships other than what habit provides. And their listeners aren't either in responding artistic questions.

Here comes the artist into play

Whether that is a consultant or a good friend or a role model, an author, a therapist, another family member. To feel best advised actually is the result of another one who was able to shake us up and to ask unusual questions with a deep interest for us, also to answer them to OURselves and not to the interviewer (being a good kid).

What makes the significant difference between a good and a bad interviewer is this:
From the first you do not perceive any expectation that the other person might have of you. Internally, this person is free from a wish, as what you have to answer correctly in his opinion. You can't sniff out the slightest breeze that your questioning friend is lying in ambush. His or her question gives you assurance that the answer is totally open to him or her. From a bad interviewer or listener you sense the exact opposite: that he already has the answer set for you and now can't wait you to give it. That he has a very specific idea of what you should and shouldn't do. Even if this person hides that very well, the inner intention nevertheless seeps through.

Clean the surface of predetermination! Stay open to be astounded!

If I get myself into the state of mind and heart to free myself from all expectations and add to that, that I am looking forward to be surprised, it gives a meeting the sugar & spice a delicious dialogue should have. I perceive this as a very high art of consulting another one.

In my experience, the concept of the "circularity" is based on the fact that conventional interventions between people do not work well or at all. You can't simply suggest to other people, or force them to decide what changes they should strive for. The knowledge and the decision must be made by a social system (a family, for example) on its own. To do this, it must define itself through itself.

I am quoting from "Hypothesizing, Circularity, Neutrality - Three Guidelines for the Conductor of the Session" by the authors Mara Palazzoli Selvini, Luigi Boscolo, Gianfranco Cecchin and Giuliana Prata (members of the Milanese Group):

That which we call circularity is ... our consciousness, or better yet, our conviction of being able to obtain from the family authentic information only if we work with the following fundamentals:

  1. Information is a difference.
  2. Difference is a relationship (or a change in the relationship).

The chapter "Circularity" contains a short "conversation between therapist and child concerning the paternal grandparents who live with the family.":

"Son: We live together with my grandparents, and they're real naggers.
Ther.: What do they do that makes them naggers?
Son: They keep interfering with our parents, telling them what to do with us.
Ther.: Who interferes the most, your grandfather or your grandmother?
Son: Grandpa.
Ther.: Whom does he interfere with the most, your mother or your father?
Son: With my father.
Ther.: And who gets bugged the most when your grandfather interferes, your father or
your mother?
Son: Oh, Mom of course! She wants Dad to tell him off..."

There is no question for feelings or attributes. Neither, "why" the grandparents are naggers in the eyes of the child (this is soon explained by the dialogue), it is asked here for a difference in the behavior of the participants.

The Milanese Associates were inspired by Gregory Bateson, who "was an English anthropologist, social scientist, linguist, visual anthropologist, semiotician, and cyberneticist ... . In the 1940s, he helped extend systems theory and cybernetics to the social and behavioral sciences. He spent the last decade of his life developing a "meta-science" of epistemology to bring together the various early forms of systems theory developing in different fields of science."

One cannot not communicate!

How could I not act subjectively as a consultant (human) on a system, if I am just as involved in a family system myself and this involvement automatically influences me to the one that presents itself to me unconsciously? Therefore, my questions have to be meant by me as "open-ended" and I hope to formulate at most a presumption or hypothesis, which does not originate from my own processes but from those of my client.

Circular questions are not only a useful tool for collecting information that is suitable for generating hypotheses and interventions, but also give the family the opportunity to view itself systemically. The development of a consciousness for the mutual interrelationship of behaviours can in itself promote a significant spontaneous change.

Out of the paper "Circular Questioning: An Introductory Guide - Jac Brown" (which contains many circular questions as examples, I recommend reading it):

Circular questioning draws connections and distinctions between family members or people within a lager client system. For example, the behaviour of one person is shown by implication to be connected to the behaviour of another in a circular manner rather than in the usual lineal or causal way that has been the basis of much of our thinking about human problems.

Now, after all this science I also would like to mention those wise ones on which shoulders humanity stands. Often we cite those from the ancient Greeks but in the last century we began to open up to Eastern philosophy.

Eastern art of irritation

In the Buddhist Zen tradition the notion of a complex system questions the simple linear cause and effect view. You can observe that in the stories/myths about how masters acted upon their students. They were up to irritate and sometimes aggravate their followers and they even claimed to "have no teachings whatsoever". Of course, they had but used clever "tricks" or "riddles". Here is a koan, which is not something one should answer intellectually but contemplate and meditate on it.

Excerpt from Huffington Post:
"This koan does for me what I think is the intention of all koans – it stops my mind in mid stride. It brings my awareness to the importance of asking questions before acting."

Master [Hui-an] asked [Huai-jang], “Where are you coming from?”
Huai-jang said, “Mount Sung.”
The Master said, “What sort of thing comes here like this?”
Huai-jang said, “To call it a ‘thing’ is to miss the mark.”
The Master said, “Can it be cultivated or experienced?”
Huai-jang said, “It’s not that it isn’t cultivated or experienced, but rather that it isn’t corrupted or defiled.”
The Master said, “It’s just because it isn’t corrupted or defiled that it’s treasured by all buddhas. You’re like this. And I’m like this.”
— The Platform Sutra

Exhausting the analytic intellect

The Encyclopedia Britannica says about koans: "The effort to “solve” a koan is intended to exhaust the analytic intellect and the egoistic will, readying the mind to entertain an appropriate response on the intuitive level. Each such exercise constitutes both a communication of some aspect of Zen experience and a test of the novice’s competence."

Before finishing this article I would like you to add value to it and ask you:

  1. Do you know any further figures and examples or quotes in good questioning?
  2. Bring on your own movie title and give it to this great audience!

Thank you for reading!


Text sources

circular questions/concept of circularity:

http://www.azquotes.com/author/1040-Gregory_Bateson

http://www.thezensite.com/ZenEssays/CriticalZen/whose%20zen_sharf.pdf


Picture sources

Title/Microphone: Photo by Matt Botsford on Unsplash

Two faced Buddha: Photo by Mark Daynes on Unsplash https://unsplash.com/photos/J6p8nfCEuS4

Spiral Spot-Light: Photo by Len dela Cruz on Unsplash https://unsplash.com/photos/ScEKf8u7y-c

Cleaning surface: Photo by James Pond on Unsplash https://unsplash.com/search/photos/clean%20surface

Zen sign: CC BY-SA 3.0 - Wikimedia
"The calligraphy of the Ensō (円相 Japanese "circle") embodies emptiness and perfection; it is often used as a visual symbol of Zen."


Animated image created by @rocking-dave to whom I say "thank you!" for his work :)


Sort:  
Loading...

Hey, Erika :)

As a person who's job is to ask precise and specific questions to people, I can appreciate how useful and interesting your article is.

I personally do not understand why people underestimate the power of the proper questioning. Words are our most powerful tool. It's an unlimited resource that most people take for granted.

Different people would understand same questions differently - you may use the same question and receive controversial answers even when they should not be expected.

But most people don't like questions. They don't like to ask themselves or to ask others.

Everybody is looking for the final product - the answers and the solutions to their problems, while failing to realize that part of their issues is the inability to ask the right questions (to themselves and others).

Thank you & sorry for answering late. I was busy in the last two days and I did not just want to respond superficially.

I find you job really interesting - for sure you have to have some skills in that area :)

Totally so: Different people give different answers, in particular when the question is not "how much is 1+1?"
I had to smile while reading that people do not like to be questioned. I would add that they do not like it, when they are not ready to give an answer to themselves. A question from another one could than be like a visitor who appears either to soon or too late, no?

What is your experience in self-reflection: do you ask yourself questions?

I for myself do think a lot (that's why I quoted Alan Watts in my header) and only in the recent years learned through personal study that I also could question myself when I chew on a problem. Easier it is with a sparring partner. At least for me. How about you? ;-)

I tend to ask myself questions and self-reflect until my anxiety levels jump over the grid...

I absolutely agree that it's easier and healthier to do that with a "sparring partner".

We are social beings and the resolution for our problems is in the dialog. And a decent conversation always includes the right questions.

Allow me to finish the comment with a amazing quote from C. Jung: "Loneliness does not come from being alone, but from being unable to communicate the things that seem important."

HaHa, that somehow sounds familiar to me:)) I guess many men are being structured that way even though I would say that it is not dependent on the gender.

Thank you for the quote, I instantaneously felt the seriousness of it. I have a youtube-audio file for you, where Alan Watts reads a chapter out of a book from Jung. You may like it.

When I started reading your post, I really didn't have any idea, where this was going and I thought of questions mostly what you describe in the beginning. In addition, irritating questions to me would be those, people only ask not as much because of looking for an answer, but to show you how oh so smart they are 🤐

without us really expecting a profound answer.

Haha.. always had to laugh back in my Chicago days, when an American asked a German "How are you?", and they'd get into a real detailed answer of how they feel and how their day was and how much they love their dog and so on, and the Americans would look at them puzzled and in disbelief... talk about expecting a certain answer!?

How high was your expectation that now a question will arise that will knock you off your socks?

Actually, I was so consumed reading and trying so hard to understand everything and not missing anything, that I pretty much had no brain capacity left, to have any expectations. Actually, that question was rather irritating, as it interrupted my "flow" of reading your post and instead made me wonder, what kind of expectation, I might have had...

Love those scaling questions. When I have my art workshop with my kids in the special needs school its almost funny, how serious they take it and how they try to be precise to the point that they answer something like seven and a half... or even three quarters :-)

Your examples for the different types of questions are very interesting, but I don't know, if I could do this and come up with good questions of my own. Seems to me quite difficult to get it right and it seems to come with a great deal of responsibility. If you want to be the the good interviewer of course.

Have to chew on the rest for a bit while I paint! So, sorry, I can't answer your question number 1. at the end of your post.

Number 2.? "The gods must be crazy!" But I'm afraid, that one already exists 😜

Thank you, Reinhard, I appreciate how you went through the article and let me know of the process while reading it. That is indeed very interesting.

when an American asked a German "How are you?", and they'd get into a real detailed answer of how they feel and how their day was and how much they love their dog and so on, and the Americans would look at them puzzled and in disbelief... talk about expecting a certain answer!?

LOL. I had the same experience! Oh, this Germans :-)) and Americans. After some time everyone knows the etiquette. Guess you know what I mean.

That is quite interesting that you give me the feedback that you had no expectations even though I built it up - or so I thought. I find it funny because it shows me the difference and variety in how people respond and that my assumptions can go wrong. Even more interesting that it interrupted your flow (which can be good and points to the theme in the article itself. To reveal what I was after and give some of my thoughts in creating my post: "Hmm... it must be a really really good and unusual question. It has to blow the readers mind. ... or... at least... it has to NOT meet his/her expectations... BUT, I am building up an expectation... and what, if he/she is going to be disappointed? Like "well, that is a boring question..." In the end I left the example as it was:)

Yes, the scaling questions I use quite often, they are indeed very useful. Cute, your students. I didn't know that you are also teaching! How often do you give lessons? Can you say something more about this work of yours?

LOL!!

Your examples for the different types of questions are very interesting, but I don't know, if I could do this and come up with good questions of my own. Seems to me quite difficult to get it right and it seems to come with a great deal of responsibility.

That is why I call it a "high art" - I am still in the process of making a habit out of it and on a scale from 1 to 10 I would give myself a 5-6 :)

"The gods must be crazy!"

OHHHHHHH!!! Is that the movie, where a coke bottle falls down from above and a little pygmy finds it in the middle of his desert?? Oh gosh, I saw that one quite often in my youth!! It awakes so much memories!

On which part of the story do you make the connection to yourself? Is it the overall part as life as a journey?

Oh yes, perfectly understand what you mean by

After some time everyone knows the etiquette

That's what makes it so funny, when a new German is entering the circle 😂

I didn't mean to make it sound like the way you built up expectation for your question didn't work.. at the point I was simply "too busy" in a sense of "completely absorbed... you know, that being "too busy" and totally concentrating on your text is a kind of expectation too, if you really think about it. Like being glued to the screen, curious of what is going to come next!

I'm not really a teacher, but a few years ago, the head of a local school asked me to do an "art day" there. It was so much fun that I did a few more events like that and eventually I did one at this special school (Sonderpädagogisches Förderzentrum). The Headmaster (or is it mistress when she's a woman?), much easier in German, (also die Direktorin) is very committed and in the end she hired me to come once a week for two hours in the afternoon. I have 11 kids who have a certain talent and who chose to be in the group. They have become such an important part of my life and I always hope, I can make a difference for their future. It breaks your heart, when you hear what these kids have to deal with... Maybe I will make a post about that project some time.

For years that movie (yes, its the one with the bottle) was my absolute favorite and I lost track of how many times I have seen it. I would say, the connection is that overall absurd, yet wonderful journey :-)


Does watching the movie dozens of times count as a fact about myself? 😇 Not that I would be aware of being challenged to talk about five or whatever amount of facts.. au contraire: you are now challenged to find those I have dropped all over the place 😁

concentrating on your text is a kind of expectation too, if you really think about it.

True. That was my intention :-)

You can be certain about the fact that you ARE going to make a difference for your young students. They will think of you in the future and either consciously or unconsciously appreciate your influence in any way. Remember who made an impression on you in your own childhood. It was always the adults who made you feel that they perceived you and tried to teach you something with vigour and empathy. I have loving memories of these adults. Some I let know of my gratitude, some I didn't. So you don't always know. What you give, you get back. Even if it's just a detour.

Yes, make a post about it, I will enjoy reading it! :-) I also deal with young adults who have difficult biographies and I refuse to look at them as victims. When I do not focus on their tragedies but instead wake up their potentials it gives me and my client the feeling that things are changeable. I get annoyed sometimes of the staff which actually serves more the shortcomings rather than the resources. But of course one can be empathetic at the same time, you know?

Does watching the movie dozens of times count as a fact about myself? 😇 Not that I would be aware of being challenged to talk about five or whatever amount of facts.. au contraire: you are now challenged to find those I have dropped all over the place 😁

Rascal!! :-D maybe I should write five facts about YOU!! LOL

I love "my" kids. They are anywhere from 9 to 15 and with some of them I have worked for several years now. I'm still trying to think of a way to make a post and at the same time protect their privacy.

When we hold our, what I call the "master class", I don't focus on their problems, at least not directly. I know the stories from the other teachers, but from the kids, I only take what they give me as it comes up in relationship to what they are creating. I treat them as equal and often call them colleagues. I want them to feel like real artists and make them feel special. We sometimes even meet at a "Künstlerstammtisch" in my wife's café. I'm also trying to get them on BR3 TV. Its important that they get some public attention and that also their parents see, that their child isn't just one of the "dummies".

Oh, I could just go on and on about them and how they warm my heart, even with all the tragedy in the back ground 🌻


maybe I should write five facts about YOU!! LOL

😱 Reminds me of our captain on the submarine. When were released for the weekend, he'd say "I wish for you, what you wish for me"... his way of scaring us 😂

Edit:

Your "threat" doesn't scare me... you need to know, I have... friends!

There is this Russian, Viktor. I covered his ass once when he was a teenager. He came back to me as a young man to thank me. He added (in his lovely Russian accent): "Rheinchard.. if yiu ever chave problam, yiu tell Viktor and then Viktor make problam go away!"

Love this post, I think it's pretty useful for future journalists :)

Thank you, @dreamdiary - yes, I agree, some interviews would be much more interesting, right? ;-)

Do you have a movie title which describes who you are?

Well, if I have to choose only one, it might be Legally Blonde :D You?

Excellent choice! :-D

Mine is "Interview with a vampire" ;-)

That was a really interesting and engaging read! :)

Thanks @rocking-dave! Nice that you are swinging by!
Do you have an answer to the last two questions like a movie title which would fit you well? Or a question which rocked your day? :-))

The movie question is a really hard one and I see how it can lead to deep self-evaluation. I do have a few answers running through my head (including just my name), but I don't think I'm comfortable sharing any of them publicly ;)

What your article really reminded me of is my past as an informal and formal educator and I how I used to employ difficult or open-ended questions to start meaningful discussions. And irritating questions were surely an option as they push people to start examining things more closely.

I see, thank you.

You totally got the point. I am happy that you do catch the deeper meaning of this little narrative method and that you might gain a lot from it just by trying to find an answer. Of course I do understand that you decided it is not for public eyes.

Was questioning techniques part of your education? Did you have good teachers yourself? Oh, sorry, I am still asking. Never mind. Have a good night! :)

I had some great teachers in school, but as a teenager I had the luck to spend some time with some really outstanding informal educators. That had not only profound effects on my teaching style when I become an educator myself, but also had profound effect on me as a person. One of the most important ideas was that you don't teach by projecting hard and fast answers, but by posing questions and dilemmas. Having possibly irritating, frustrating or at least difficult questions for the students to struggle with really helped the educational process as they had to try to really understand the issues that were being studied or discussed. Often I was prepared to take the counter position to whatever was the specific group consensus just to frustrate things for a while. This allowed a much more significant "A-ha" moment when they reached an answer or when I revealed what was misleading them. This was a really powerful technique, I shouldn't have let it rust up while not dealing with education (as I haven't been an active educator for years now).

Good night!

P.S.: Asking is never a serious problem in my eyes as the other person always has the option not to answer. ;)

when you like dilemmas and what more there is, I recommend an article of mine to you: https://steemit.com/steemstem/@erh.germany/what-s-a-tetralemma-and-what-is-it-good-for

I very much appreciate how you describe your work with students. In particular also to "frustrate" them in a good way. It gives hope and serves as a good example in the world of education. Aha-moments are the most precious moments in my life and I guess of yours, too :))

So, shake off the rust and let it flow into your posting work.

All the best for you!

Hi @erh.germany ! I have not been on the platform for long but your articles are one of my favorites. It's probably because i don't know much about psychology (hey, isn't it great to have so much to learn?) but they always manage to stimulate my curiosity and encourage me to take a few minutes to reflects on some of my behaviors that i don't naturally rationalize. Thank you for your work :)

Hello @carlgbush, welcome to Steemit!
I feel honored that I got your attention with what I publish. For me it is of the greatest compliment in telling me that what I express gives you moments of reflection about your actions you normally don't look at.

Thank you very much!!! It is really important for me to get this kind of feedback, so I know that my way of explaining, referring and so on is not so comfortable that one doesn't stumble:)

I am going to check up your blog.

This type of questioning is incredibly useful. I love the circular questioning and how well it can be applied to interviewing potential employees for my business.

I met a fellow business owner a while ago who also had some very unique interview/ questioning techniques that I've since stolen to apply to my own questioning techniques. He asked very simple questions such as "what annoys you?" or "if you could fix one thing in the world, what would it be?"

I've found that this type of questioning really helps identify the type of person you're dealing with, so you know very quickly if they'll be a good fit for the team or not.

But pairing this with your circular questioning technique could be very useful. So thank you for this. :)

you are welcome. I like the idea of helping in business.

It indeed helps in hiring people and also to talk to them when they want certain things from the company.
I had once a talk to one woman who wanted to have a raise in salary. So I draw a little christmas tree with three branches on each side. And I told her: "Look, those are your tasks and responsibilities within the company. Getting more money means that on both sides two more branches will being added. They mean "X" and "Y". Are you willing to take those two more? Please think about the question over the weekend." She did, came back and told me that she did not want to take them.

I met a fellow business owner a while ago who also had some very unique interview/ questioning techniques that I've since stolen to apply to my own questioning techniques. He asked very simple questions such as "what annoys you?" or "if you could fix one thing in the world, what would it be?"

Great. I love it when people get it very simple. Your examples are impressive, I like the last question for it's unusual nature and the first one for its simplicity.

Stealing from the good ones is a must :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43