You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE ART OF IRRITATING - good questioning and becoming a creative interviewer

in #steemstem7 years ago

Hey, Erika :)

As a person who's job is to ask precise and specific questions to people, I can appreciate how useful and interesting your article is.

I personally do not understand why people underestimate the power of the proper questioning. Words are our most powerful tool. It's an unlimited resource that most people take for granted.

Different people would understand same questions differently - you may use the same question and receive controversial answers even when they should not be expected.

But most people don't like questions. They don't like to ask themselves or to ask others.

Everybody is looking for the final product - the answers and the solutions to their problems, while failing to realize that part of their issues is the inability to ask the right questions (to themselves and others).

Sort:  

Thank you & sorry for answering late. I was busy in the last two days and I did not just want to respond superficially.

I find you job really interesting - for sure you have to have some skills in that area :)

Totally so: Different people give different answers, in particular when the question is not "how much is 1+1?"
I had to smile while reading that people do not like to be questioned. I would add that they do not like it, when they are not ready to give an answer to themselves. A question from another one could than be like a visitor who appears either to soon or too late, no?

What is your experience in self-reflection: do you ask yourself questions?

I for myself do think a lot (that's why I quoted Alan Watts in my header) and only in the recent years learned through personal study that I also could question myself when I chew on a problem. Easier it is with a sparring partner. At least for me. How about you? ;-)

I tend to ask myself questions and self-reflect until my anxiety levels jump over the grid...

I absolutely agree that it's easier and healthier to do that with a "sparring partner".

We are social beings and the resolution for our problems is in the dialog. And a decent conversation always includes the right questions.

Allow me to finish the comment with a amazing quote from C. Jung: "Loneliness does not come from being alone, but from being unable to communicate the things that seem important."

HaHa, that somehow sounds familiar to me:)) I guess many men are being structured that way even though I would say that it is not dependent on the gender.

Thank you for the quote, I instantaneously felt the seriousness of it. I have a youtube-audio file for you, where Alan Watts reads a chapter out of a book from Jung. You may like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31