Sort:  

Thanks @rocking-dave! Nice that you are swinging by!
Do you have an answer to the last two questions like a movie title which would fit you well? Or a question which rocked your day? :-))

The movie question is a really hard one and I see how it can lead to deep self-evaluation. I do have a few answers running through my head (including just my name), but I don't think I'm comfortable sharing any of them publicly ;)

What your article really reminded me of is my past as an informal and formal educator and I how I used to employ difficult or open-ended questions to start meaningful discussions. And irritating questions were surely an option as they push people to start examining things more closely.

I see, thank you.

You totally got the point. I am happy that you do catch the deeper meaning of this little narrative method and that you might gain a lot from it just by trying to find an answer. Of course I do understand that you decided it is not for public eyes.

Was questioning techniques part of your education? Did you have good teachers yourself? Oh, sorry, I am still asking. Never mind. Have a good night! :)

I had some great teachers in school, but as a teenager I had the luck to spend some time with some really outstanding informal educators. That had not only profound effects on my teaching style when I become an educator myself, but also had profound effect on me as a person. One of the most important ideas was that you don't teach by projecting hard and fast answers, but by posing questions and dilemmas. Having possibly irritating, frustrating or at least difficult questions for the students to struggle with really helped the educational process as they had to try to really understand the issues that were being studied or discussed. Often I was prepared to take the counter position to whatever was the specific group consensus just to frustrate things for a while. This allowed a much more significant "A-ha" moment when they reached an answer or when I revealed what was misleading them. This was a really powerful technique, I shouldn't have let it rust up while not dealing with education (as I haven't been an active educator for years now).

Good night!

P.S.: Asking is never a serious problem in my eyes as the other person always has the option not to answer. ;)

when you like dilemmas and what more there is, I recommend an article of mine to you: https://steemit.com/steemstem/@erh.germany/what-s-a-tetralemma-and-what-is-it-good-for

I very much appreciate how you describe your work with students. In particular also to "frustrate" them in a good way. It gives hope and serves as a good example in the world of education. Aha-moments are the most precious moments in my life and I guess of yours, too :))

So, shake off the rust and let it flow into your posting work.

All the best for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43