The Steem Sister Show - Episode 32 // Personal Branding

in #steemsistershow6 years ago (edited)


Welcome to the 32nd episode of the Steem Sister Show!

Your hosts are @coruscate and @maryjaney. We are two sisters using the Steem blockchain to chat about our life experiences and provide a little entertainment value to the Steemit Community.

Topic of this Episode – Personal Branding


We were both so excited to discuss this topic! It is something that feels so vague, but is something that almost every content creator thinks about.

Here are the questions covered in this episode:

  • How do you think building a strong personal brand can lead to revenue down the road.

  • What does the phrase “personal branding” mean to you?

  • Audience question from @rob-e – do you think it’s helpful to learn the ins and outs of the logistical side of being a content creator (video production, graphic design, audio mixing etc.) or is it better to hire someone?

  • What should you avoid doing when trying to build a personal brand?

  • Audience question - @roselyn26 – Which would be a better place to promote a personal brand? Steemit or YouTube?

What is the Steem Sister Show All About?


We aim to bring more “non-crypto” related content to the Steem Blockchain. Although there is nothing wrong with this kind of content (@corsucate even posts on crypto related material sometimes) – we want to help create a better onboarding experience for new users. We talk a lot about attracting new users to the platform – but if the trending page is filled with crypto posts and flagging wars, they are likely to lose interest quickly.

We hope that by creating content that is more similar to what they are used to seeing on other social media sites – they will feel more excited about being here and creating content of their own!

How Does It Work?


We pick a different topic every episode, and then throw totally random questions about that topic in a hat and go back and forth. We always have a mix of our own questions and some audience questions. Our rule is that we cannot tell each other our answers before filming! So you guys are getting our raw, unfiltered reactions here.

Every episode we announce the next week’s topic so people can submit questions.

Want to win some SBD??



If we chose to answer your question in the next show… we will send you 2 SBD! Now that’s some easy money.

Next Week’s Topic : Cooking


We realized that even though we have done several episodes revolving around food - we've never done an episode talking about cooking! We both love to cook and thought this could be a fun one to discuss. Maybe some of our favorite meals to cook, what our "specialties" are etc.

If you would like the possibility of winning 2 SBD - please submit your questions! Anything on the topic of Cooking is fair game.Listener questions always end up being the best ones - so thank you in advance to everyone who submits one!

That’s a Wrap!


We hope you all enjoyed this episode! Personal Branding is a fun, yet kind of complicated topic. If you have any follow up questions that came from watching this episode - please let us know!

With Love,

The Steem Sisters

@corsucate and @maryjaney

78DFD348-5948-4706-8D4B-47041D8AF229.jpeg

AC913DFB-7C36-4ED7-8FB0-AA9E8B4371BE.jpeg

Check out this awesome drawing that @christoeuf made for us!


Sort:  

Ok! I have a question on cooking: What's a healthy meal you can make in 5-10 minutes total?

Also, I'm so so curious about your day job! Do you do branding/marketing for a living?

I think sometimes controversy can be a great thing for a brand. I know a guy who built up a HUGE HUGE following in a really crowded marketing space all because he's controversisal af.

He cusses a lot and offends a lot of people...but it doesn't matter because he has grown really hardcore true fans as a result of that and now he's set for life because of it.

Those fans will be loyal until the end of time, mainly because of how controversial he was right out the gate. Just something I was thinking about while listening.

I totally agree about putting "crappy" stuff out there. I don't know how to do do video and I don't have good equipment yet...but I've done several that were pretty bad and others that were okay.

And I agree with you guys that the main thing that matters is connecting with your audience.

Gary Vee said he put out tons of horrible videos about wine and they were sooooo bad, but it didn't matter b/c he connected with his audience and it was honestly several years before he got better at video or upgraded his equipment.

Look at him now.

You've gotta start somewhere. I'm always a fan of imperfect action vs. taking no action at all!

I've been thinking a LOT lately about if I'm providing enough value here on steemit. I hope so, because I don't want to take more than I give.

oooh I love your response! Thanks for the question for our cooking episode and for all of your thoughts on our personal branding show!

I work in sales, but have an interest in branding/marketing and so i've spent a decent amount of time studying it. My day job is also working for a company that focuses a lot on building good branding and we have some pretty world class marketers - so I've probably picked things up here and there from them. :)

Loved your comment about just getting started - there is SO much to that. I also thought your Gary Vee story was pretty awesome! haha I hadn't heard that he made a bunch of wine videos in the beginning. lol

Ps... I totally think you give more than you take! Two of the ways to give back on steemit is to 1.) make awesome content - because that helps enrich their lives. 2) Leave thoughtful comments (like this one) on other's posts. Basically - you are winning at Steemit. :)

Thanks again for stopping by and watching our show! <3

"I work in sales, but have an interest in branding/marketing and so I've spent a decent amount of time studying it." <--- yeah it shows!

It sounds like you work with actual GOOD marketers! Giving massive value upfront has become kind of like this cliche word in the marketing world, but only the best ones do it.

When you said that I was like "who's this girl talking to?" lol I think marketing is really interesting! Maybe that's nerdy but oh well!

P.S. THANKS for that! I started questioning everything and getting nervous about it haha you're obviously beyond winning btw <3 thank youuu

Ah, I know I've said it before, but I love the SSS so much... I think it's all the laughing and the general feeling that you two hanging out wouldn't be so different to what you share with us on camera.

I only just watched the 'Renting vs Buying' episode as well. It was sooo good, thanks so much for the shout outs. Also, is anyone going to do a supercut of all of Mary's sayings?

I think outsourcing can be totally beneficial... but personally, I think it's best to do when you already know how to do that task and the outsourcing is something that you've calculated will be cheaper than doing it yourself. I think outsourcing in a way that leaves you dependant on someone else leads to frustration.

Lea, I'm honestly having identically thoughts regarding YouTube, etc. I've got my own website, and so maybe I need to work on DTube and YouTube and Steemit, and then link everything to my website? I have in the past gotten a lot of hits on my website from YouTube, and not many from Steem... but the income is different, but I do have an eBook, so that helps. Arrrgh... I think you're right, we just need to do all the things.

How much effort do you two put into accomodating varying diets when you cook for others? Does everyone eat Keto that night or will you make stuff that you won't eat yourself?

P.S) @christoeuf - your drawing is beyond amazing!! Well done!

aww we love you right back @aussieninja!! Yeah, what you see is what you get with us! haha

We should totally make a mashup of Mary's sayings. LOL that would be hilarious.

Interesting that you are starting to think about YouTube as well. It's definitely a different beast - but I think it could be pretty beneficial overall. Not just from an income perspective - but being able to bring more people to the platform etc.

Also - awesome question for our cooking episode!! Thanks!

Another informative and stimulating episode, especially the Mene bag! This is great, I love hearing you both express your well articulated thoughts on these complex topics and I think you have done a great job branding yourself. I love how honest you are about the potential for growing on youtube as well. I know thats a dirty word around here but why not use both platforms and benefit Steemit by being a more popular influencer right? .... My question about cooking:

Am I an insane person for having blue apron delivered and then just using the ingrediants however I want (not following the receipe)? What are your general thoughts on these type of services?

YES! That is such a fun question for next week!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the whole YouTube thing too! It is definitely a bit of a dirty word around here... but I don't think it has to be. :)

Branding is very important I couldn't agree more! you all are doing a great job of it.

aww thanks my friend! I'm glad you enjoyed this episode! This is definitely a fun topic to dig into. :)

Oh! Great topic, cooking is one of my hobbies and i always enjoy doing it. It reminds me of those days in college, my friends always want my soup :-) My questions goes thus;

What are some of the advantages of cooking your meals at home? How about the disadvantages?
Do you think you can cook better than your mother?

Kudos to you girls @coruscate and @maryjaney <3
Can't wait to see you girls missing some ingredients together in the next episode.

ooh great questions!!! Thanks @oxygen02!

What do you cook that's your guiltiest pleasure?

Oooh great question!! Thanks for submitting it @brightstar. :)

What would you never cook again because you messed it up so bad?

Oooh great question!! Thanks @micsrypt.

very importan

My comments don't seem to work anyone else experiencing this?

My comments don't seem to work anyone else experiencing this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33