New Coin Alert - Saint Helena Spade Guinea

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Golden greetings and silver salutations! This shiny stacking really tests your geography knowledge. Today I saw a new coin from the island of St. Helena. Haven't heard of it? That makes two of us! Apparently it is an incredibly tiny
nation in the southern part of the Atlantic Ocean. How small? Wikipedia says it's population is just a bit over 4,500! Sadly, that is more than Niue and Tokelau combined. Those two countries have been on approximately a billion silver bullion coins (give or take a billion).

The coin itself has a story. According to APMEX, the Guinea was first minted by Britain in the 1600s. The Spade Guinea design was then minted in the 1700s. You can find more history on APMEX's page here, but I know you just want to see the coin.

Guinea obv.jpg

Image Source: apmex.exceda.com/images/Catalog%20Images/Products/169477_Obv.jpg?v=20180522104944&width=900&height=900

There it is! It's a crown on top of a shield with various designs in the shield. You can read more about each design at the link I left above. And now the less exciting reverse.

Guinea obv rev.jpg

Image Source: apmex.exceda.com/images/Catalog%20Images/Products/169477_Rev.jpg?v=20180522104944&width=900&height=900

Yup, it's the Queen...again.

My thoughts on this coin. In my humble opinion (I am not a financial adviser and this is not financial advice), I would say it is a slight winner. Definitely not a must have, but the fact you can get these coins in the mid $19 dollar range, makes me like them. There have been too many high premium coins lately, so one with a lower premium is a breath of fresh air...even if it comes from a country with less people than a common minor league baseball game. I can't find any info on mintage, but I don't see there being much demand for these, so it may be low (or it will just be available forever).

What are your thoughts on this one? Until next time, keep stacking and supporting #SteemSilverGold, #SteemUSA, and #TheAlliance!

SSG.png

Alliance1.jpg

Steem USA Footer.png

Sort:  

Looks pretty interesting. Can't wait to see what the fields really looks like.

I like the coin and I like the price. It is a sound buy.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 21.38% upvote!
I was summoned by @mikeshuh. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

That's a cool coin. It's not one that I have run into. Thanks for letting me know about it as I'm also looking for lower-premium coins to start the stack. Then I'll get to moving into the more expensive ones. :)

St. Helena is where Napoleon was sent into exile (the second time) and died. ☺️

I think the coin looks super cool. I like the shield and the pattern behind the Queen’s head. You are always the first to point out the new stuff. Thanks for sharing.

@mikeshuh it will be interesting to see these in hand..............

Good price great design. Silverforum members have this coin high on their list I noticed some weeks ago.

Congratulations @mikeshuh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27