My 3 hobbies coincidentally connected today - spanish/gold/environmentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Dear steemers,

Due to a coincidence all my main hobbies came together today. I was practicing Spanish (hobby#1) and therefore was watching a spanish spoken video here with a guest from Peru.

The older Peruvian guy - a pensioner - told about the struggle in his village (pueblo) in the North of Peru they have with the local gold mining company. Gold is my hobby#2 and the guy told that the foreign company mines millions of ounces de oro (oro = gold) from this mine.

Unfortunately they leave a lot of polution behind such as oil and cyanide solutions. My hobby#3 is working in an organic garden as my little help for a better environment.

I immediately tried to find a bit more about this mine and I think it is the Yanacocha mine.

Whatever the right mine is the information on wiki on the above mine says there are indeed big issues with the environment similar to the ones in the video. As the mine owners are mainly in the US the gold might end up as american bullion gold or bars.

So now every time when I buy a gold coin I have to think about the country it originates from ? Is an Australian coin better than a Chinese or American coin ? And what about Austria. You see life is always complicated.

Goldrooster

Sort:  

Organic gardening is a challenge just like gold mining.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

hi, very good point, i wouldn't have immediately thought of this and i think there must be some ethically based companies out there, if there isn't then there probably soon will be, from food to prescriptions it's usually possible to find an earth conscious company, or perhaps this is a niche waiting for someone to fill it? thank you for sharing i found this very interesting point to think about, hope you have a fab day, respect

I don't know if there are environment-friendly gold-mining companies. :=(

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 5.43% upvote!
I was summoned by @powernap. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of @youarehope and @tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97