Friday Craft Beer Series - Randoms

in #steempub7 years ago

Friday Craft Brew Series.png

Friday Craft Brew Series

Welcome back Steemians to Week 5 of the Friday Craft Brew Series! I wasn't able to make it to a new brewery this week, but had several new craft brews throughout the week. This time I ventured out of only picking local beers in the hopes that a couple of these will be available near you!

Now, Onto the Beers!

Stone Tangerine Express IPA.jpg
Stone Tangerine Express IPA, such a delicious IPA!

First up today Stone Tangerine Express IPA, a 6.7% beer. I am a huge fan of Stone Brewing, literally every time I come across their Enjoy By I buy it...every time. So, you can understand the excitement I had for this Tangerine Express when I saw it available. The description on this beer alone would be enough to have any IPA lover drooling. Just listen to this...

This ain’t no just-add-juice approach. This one is for adults. We use bountiful whole tangerine purée, which brings pithy, crisp bitterness to the citrus flavor.

If that doesn't scream IPA I want to drink, I don't know what does.

Upon pouring, the beer there has a small foamy head that dissipates quickly. There isn't much citrus smell initially, but oh boy can you smell the hops!

The first taste gave me a light flavor that built quickly. You first start with the obvious taste of tangerine, very obvious, that transitions to a strong, bitter hop flavor that any IPA drinker would love. The flavor lasts a medium amount of time, just the right amount to pull you back in for more.

This is a fantastic beer. It delivers exactly what you would expect from something called Tangerine Express, without having too much of a strong citrus flavor. I will be coming back to this beer time and time again I am sure!

Paradox Salty Lemon.jpg
Salty Lemons, Sour Golden Ale

Next up, Salty Lemons by Paradox Beer Company, a 7.9% Sour Golden Ale. This is the first beer I have ever had from Paradox, but after trying this one and looking into the brewery, I'll be keeping my eye out for more! Every beer they produce is barrel aged and bottle conditioned. These are some rare beers they are pumping out, focusing on Sour, Feral, and Wild Ales. I have never even heard of a Feral Ale, so you know these guys are on the cutting edge.

Enough about the brewery...this beer is fantastic. You can tell it is made by some people that really know what they are doing.

Upon pouring, the beer has a small, frothy head. You can tell immediately from the smell that this is a sour, but it is just the right amount, not an over powering sour smell. You can also smell the lemon.

The beer has a lemon sour taste, almost like an unsweetened lemonade mixed with beer. I didn't get much saltiness, which for me was perfect. This is a super crisp and refreshing beer. The flavor you get doesn't last long, which is good in my opinion for a sour, some times they can leave a tart taste in your mouth if they last too long. What does hang around for that little amount of time is a great sour taste.

If you are a sour fan, you will love this beer, it is by far one of the best sours I have ever had!

Moody Tongue(2).jpg
Moody Tongue Steeped Emperor's Lemon Saison

Last beer this week, Moody Tongue Steeped Emperor's Lemon Saison, a 6.3% Saison. I got really excited when I saw this beer available the other day. Unlike the first two beers, this is another Chicago brewery, and one that I hadn't heard of before,. On top of that I just love a good Saison.

The beer, upon pouring, had a very small, foamy head with a light color, almost like ripe pineapple. It was a very transparent beer, even for a Saison. The smell gives off a light citrus scent, obviously lemon, it just screams summer beer. You can tell it is a Saison from the smell.

Upon tasting, it is extremely light. The first thing you taste is the lemon, followed by a little wheat taste, which is surprising. The taste is not as strong as I was expecting. I love Saison's because they always have a rich flavor to them, this one was a little disappointing in that the flavor was so much lighter than expected.

Very little flavor lasts with this beer, and again surprisingly, what does last is a wheat taste.

This is not the Saison I was expecting, but I will be looking into the other beers they offer soon, especially since the brew master came from one of my favorite breweries, Goose Island. All in all, not a bad beer by any means, just not quite as robust a flavor as I want with a Saison.


Hope you guys enjoyed these beers, I sure did! Those of you that are in the states look to see if you can find either the Stone Tangerine Express IPA or the Paradox Beer Salty Lemons near you, they are both distributed nationally! Stay tuned for more craft brews next week!


Part 1 - Sidelot Brewery

Part 2 - Third Space Brewing

Part 3 - Italian Beers

Part 4 - Consume


Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, and Follow! STEEM ON EVERYONE

Sort:  

Keep an eye out each week. There is always more to come!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mk40 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Love the beer reviews.

Keep coming back for more...I might just be putting up a random one this week! Thanks for reading!

You do a great job at describing beer. I was telling someone yesterday that I wish I had that ability. Lol. Good post!

The best thing about describing a beer, there is no wrong way to do it! It's all about what it tastes like to you. The more beers you taste the better you get at it, taking notes on what you think about different ones helps a lot too.

True. I just need to keep notes in my phone I guess. Lol.

That's what I do. Take a quick picture and then just write my thoughts.

I'll have to try it. Thanks for the advice!

Man, is 2:30 PM on a friday too early to grab a few of my own? ;D

These sound delicious, I'm not a huge IPA fan myself... but great to pair with some citrus. I need to get more involved with some of the more detailed aspects of brews. Just went to a 'brewery' last night and had a couple of local beers, they are always featured at the brewery so I'll try to get a little more info on those. There seemed to be an event there last night, maybe I can set something up with the brewers and have them talk about the beers a little more personally.
Got you with that resteem!

Don't know if you recall @mk40 we were speaking about a week ago on discord about me doing a beer review... I got the chance to try this after my friend went on a VT brewery tour.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwie6qu2mObUAhVEyj4KHeTOBpMQFggoMAA&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.beeradvocate.com%2Fbeer%2Fprofile%2F46317%2F16814%2F&usg=AFQjCNEOL1dyVhkhMne7_yszQQ8Ga3bL6Q
heady topper IPA by alchemist brewery in stowe vt

2:30 pm...that's beer time if I have ever heard one!

I always try and talk to any of the brew masters that are around if I go to a new brewery! Have yet to come across one that wasn't excited to talk about beer with me. I just love beer, makes it really easy to talk and write about it :)

Thanks so much for the resteem! Much much appreciated!

No problem. I actually edited my post a little, you should look into the beer in the link I sent you. I wanted to write a review on it but i felt I couldn't do the brew justice xD See you around

Oh yeah, I remember. I'll check this out for sure! I wonder if I could find it around me?

I was told you can really only get it in VT.... but when I looked it up online just now people were selling it on e-bay for like $40+ for a 4 pack

Lol...I don't think I'll be picking it up at $40 for a 4 pack xD

Yeah... I agree... Otherwise it is like $12.50 at the brewery I believe. I'll be meeting this one again..

Oooh it's a Double IPA too!

Like I said, I'm not even a huge IPA fan and this beer was just absolutely primo

Paradox beer, is that the beer that just sends you down a spiral into eternity? cause it sounds amazing!

Not too dark, sounds like a decently flavored beer. Kinda want one.

Thank you for the article<3

Please keep sharing!

Hahah, Paradox definitely just jumped high up my list of breweries! I am going to be looking for them everywhere, might even have to make a trip out to Colorado just for the brewery!

Nice one MK. Both those beers sound good per your description. I'll have to get more descriptive in my post in the coming days. Tons of new beers here in Japan. Craft brewing is booming. Check out this brewery I wen to the other night. https://steemit.com/beer/@rt395/crypto-and-spring-valley-brewery-in-daikanyama-tokyo
While none of the beers hooked me, it was a great experience. Upvoted & re-steemed.

Japanese craft beers?! I can see some of those being really good...as long as they still stay true to what a beer actually is. Checking them out now!

Congratulations @mk40! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

thanks for sharing great post

This post has received a 6.84 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @mk40.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85