Friday Craft Brew Series - Third Space Brewing (Milwaukee)

in #beer7 years ago

DQmeQFpGGYkqqLo1iUtnBXrMqshmgYBt4peonYjEMi4naPE_1680x8400.png

Welcome back everyone to Part 2 of the Friday Craft Brew Series. I'm currently in Italy and didnt get a chance to find a new brewery here, but luckily I thought ahead and managed to make it to a new brewery in Milwaukee before I left. So without further ado let's jump into the brewery. This weeks post is on Third Space Brewing.

20170602_195855.jpg

This brewery is one of the more original ones I have been to in a while. A lot of breweries go for that industrial warehouse feel, while this one nails it...because it is literally in an old warehouse, right next to a bunch of other old factories. In fact, as we were pulling up to the brewery I really thought the gps had taken us in the wrong direction. They really embraced the warehouse space on the inside as well, leaving their own storage areas open right next to the bar.

20170602_185601.jpg

During the summer they have an awesome outdoor patio right where the old loading dock used to be.

20170602_184912.jpg

20170602_220347.jpg
You can tell we were here for a little while, long enough that it somehow became nighttime

NOW, ONTO THE BEER


They had a bunch of pale ale style beers, which I loved, but a few others that were completely new to me. One of my favorites was the Milwaukee Mule.

20170602_194117.jpg
Milwaukee Mule

Similar to a Moscow Mule this beer also incorporates ginger, only it is a Sour Ale beer that actually incorporates lime and ginger after brewing. I loved this beer, it is perfect for the summer and anyone that loves a good sour beer will be drinking these down left and right, pretty sure my wife had 3 or 4 of these they were so good.

Probably my second favorite beer I had here was the It Was All A Dream Juicy IPA (Notorious B.I.G. fans should get that reference). Right along with the Milwaukee Mule, this beer also incorporated a citrus flavor. I believe they said they include some tangerine during the hopping process. The citrus wasn't too strong as this definitely had the bitterness you would expect with an IPA, but it finished real cleanly with the citrus flavor on the back end. Another real good beer for the summer.

20170602_190333.jpg
It Was All A Dream

The final beer I want to mention was Unite the Clans, a Scottish Rye Ale. When I ordered this beer I was expecting something on the darker side, however when the bartender began to pour it had an amazing amber color. Just like the color, I was also surprised with the taste, it was much lighter than a lot of the Scotch Ales I've had before. The best way I can describe it is that it had an almost Lager flavor, only stronger,VT and with the tiniest roasted flavor. This was ok by me as anyone that knows me knows I can't stand the heavy roasted flavor in a lot of dark beers.

20170602_201156.jpg
Unite the Clans, on the left; That's Gold, on the right. Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to try the That's Gold

The brewery had several more of their own beers on tap, and a couple guest beers in bottles or cans. The next time I'm able to make it up to Milwaukee I'll definitely be back, the bartenders were super knowledgeable, and for only being open about eight months the place was running real smoothly. The brewery also has a Friday special where they offer one of their beers for a dollar until the keg runs out! This is definitely a great spot to come for a beer this summer!

20170602_192942.jpg
I definitely have to come back and try to work my way through the rest of these beers!

Tune in next Friday for the next episode of Friday Craft Brew Series, and check out last weeks post at the link below. Thanks for reading!


Part 1 - Sidelot Brewery


Don't forget to Upvote, Follow and Resteem! STEEM ON EVERYONE!

Sort:  

i really enjoyed the thourougness of this post!

you said you are in italy at the moment, if you happen to end up a litte more scandinavia ish, i will be glad to give you some tips to where you have good local micro breweries :)

steem on!

Nice post! Looks like a really cool place.

@brakan I'm in Scandinavia, which microbreweries would you suggest? :)

Couldn't write more in one post, but grunelokka brygghus is also nice. At the Vinmonopolet(only place allowed to sell over 5%alco outside bars. You also usually could score a nice selection from all over the country. My personal favorite microbrews comes out of the south of the country from Arendal more specifically.

If you want to hang out in a brewery/bar my personal favorite is still the small MIKKELER location in central of copenhagen, close to istegate I think.(quick google will get u there) it's quite a small venue tough so might be crowded, but they have some of the more well experimented ales and lagers.
Otherwise in copenhagen there is atleast 4-5 different micro breweries in the part of the city called Nørrebro(not really walking distances) its well worth a visit. A classical option is the brewery in Christiania, "Freetown" of Copenhagen.

In Oslo you have several decent ones, but my favorite place to drink and experience microbrew is at Schouskjelleren, in the grunerlokka part of town.

One day I will make it up that way! My wife and I love to travel and adventure so I'm sure we'll be there at some point, hopefully sooner rather than later, and be sure I'll take you up on brewery recommendations.

I think I found a brewery down the street from the hotel we are staying at in Florence, so next weeks post may go international!

Italy is amazing, enjoy it! And make sure to have enough time with the mrs, don't use all the time steeming!

Great advice! I have been waiting til she is preoccupied with something before I hop onto my steemit feed...currently she is on instagram (don't worry as soon as we are back in the states she is moving over to steemit!) so I've got anywhere between 30 minutes to 3 hours before she notices I'm on steemit :D

next time you go invite @meesterboom
he loves beer a lot

Oh, definitely, he has a permanent invite! Love his posts, beer and non-beer related!

Nice man. Definitely find yourself some good brews in Italy while you are there though! You never know, you may find a new favorite!

I did have a Peroni Gran Riserva that was delicious. So far though there have been very few places that have more than one beer. Tonight or tomorrow I'm going to try and stop by a craft beer bar, see what they have at least.

Great review! Followed! Can't wait to see more!

Thanks so much! Hopefully I'll get a chance to have some Italian craft beers while I am here for the next week. Would make next weeks post a special international edition!

Yum! Looking forward to it

I feel like a mule after some days at work! Like the atmosphere of the place! Cheers on your payout from few days ago!

Such an amazing payout! If only I could string a few of them together. Sirwinchester is currently holding a poll on the team steemit facebook page where the top vote getter will be featured on his blog, I'm currently leading, hoping that will get me even more exposure. If you have a chance and could vote for me I'd really appreciate it, no worries if you can't :)

This brewery is definitely one I'll be back to. People were friendly and of course the beers were delicious!

JUst link me on chat. Don't have time to research much. Hope you understand.

Completely understand! I'm going to hop on the chat when I get back to the states. Never used it before and don't want to struggle trying to figure it out on my phone.

Always promote your posts in related channels on chat. How do you get noticed without it? :D

Yeah, I have realized it is a huge resource! Come Friday I will be on the chat for sure! Appreciate your advice.

I do always seem to end up having a beer shortly after posting this on friday...hmmm

Milwaukee Mule was my favorite. Great post mk40. Keep them coming.

It really was delicious. Btw I think we found a brewery down the street from our hotel that we're going to try and visit!

Look forward to the review.

Oh man, I missed part 1! Awesome series! Looking forward to Fridays even more!

Glad to have you, obviously love the banter! I actually came across your beer posts about 30 minutes after I posted Part 1! We'll have to swap recommendations as we come across good brews.

Italian beers should be coming your way next week...hopefully. I think I finally found a craft brewery here!

Italian beers!! Top notch!! Yes we will do have to do that :0)

How's the noise on an high ceiling setting like that?

To be honest I was with a bunch of my family and we tend to be a loud bunch so I can't exactly say. What I do know is that there was no problem ordering a drink or hearing anyone around you.

Congratulations @mk40! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72