Friday Craft Brew Series - Consume

in #beer7 years ago (edited)

Friday Craft Brew Series.png

Welcome back Steemians to the fourth post in the Friday Craft Brew Series! Can't believe it has already been four weeks! Today's post is going to be about a few beers I had at an interesting local beer shop/bar, Consume. I wouldn't call this place a brewery, they definitely have no brewing tanks on site, and do not employ anybody to actually brew any beer, but they are a well known craft beer place and actually collaborate with local breweries to create original beers that you can't get anywhere but at their bar. One of the beers I tried this past week is a collaboration beer.

A little about Consume

First off, this place is great for a beer/wine/whiskey lover. The owners are passionate about high quality, good tasting drinks (and food, but I'll save that for another time) and they really dedicate themselves to having some of the best craft beers around! The shop in the back area of the bar has too many different bottles to choose from, but the best part is they really support our local brewers the most. I think this last trip in was the first time I have not left with at least one bottle to take home, the temptation was real though. This is a great place to try new beers before you take them home, and overall just have a good time; there was trivia going on while we were there.

Consume Interior-Pic.jpg
Source; The place is really well put together inside, shop to the far left of the pic.

NOW, ONTO THE BEERS

First up this week is one of those collaboration beers I mentioned above, Wild Onion Peeled by Consume. Wild Onion Brewery is right down the street from me, and will definitely be featured here soon. This beer is a Belgian IPA coming in at 8.6%. You may have noticed a theme here over the past few weeks, I like my beers strong. The beer had a thick, foamy head upon pouring. The color wasn't as transparent as I was expecting from a higher alcohol beer.

I was very surprised by the first taste, there is very little bitterness to the beer initially. It is extremely smooth and creamy with just a little citrus at the start that builds as you drink it. As I drank the beer I did get more and more of that great IPA bitterness I was looking for. It is definitely different as I was looking for something more in the traditional IPA sense, and this is far from that. Overall this is a good beer, not something I will be raving about and recommending to my beer loving friends, but still a good beer.

20170621_200509.jpg
Wild Onion Peeled by Consume

Next up, my first Sour of the series! This beer is by one of my all-time favorite breweries, Goose Island Brewery. I am such a big fan mostly because I lived across the street from the brewery back in the day, dangerous I know. Anyways, the beer. Goose Island Juliet. Like I said this is a Sour Ale, coming in at 6.7%. Now, I am a Sour fan, I find them refreshing and unique. But, I have to say, this beer was a little too sour.

There was no head upon pouring, absolutely none. The color was a darker red hue. As soon as you bring the beer to your face you can smell the sourness, it is strong. It has the faintest twinge of vinegar in the smell as well. Upon tasting it, the sourness is immediate and strong, just like the smell. Again, there is a slight vinegar taste, almost like a faint ketchup taste. The taste lasts and lasts and lasts in your mouth, probably one of the longest lasting beers I have ever had, if not the longest lasting.

Reading my description of this beer back I feel like I am not doing it justice. I'm sure there are beer people out there that will love this beer, these were just the tastes that I could recognize on top of the sourness. Overall, I don't think I will have this beer again, but I will not hesitate to try any other Sour Ales Goose Island puts out.

20170621_201024.jpg
Goose Island Juliet

Last beer for this week, and by far my favorite I had during this visit! Pipeworks Lizard King!!! What an awesome name right? Pipeworks is another Chicago brewery that I will be trying to feature on here real soon. (Man I am spoiled with all these good breweries around me!)

Lizard King is am American Pale Ale coming in at 6.5%. Now this is a proper and delicious Pale Ale! It was the perfect beer to end the night on, which is exactly what I did.

Upon pouring, the beer had a medium sized head on it that was nice and frothy. The color was a light amber and real opaque, just the way I like it. The beer smelled crisp and refreshing, you can smell the hops, citrus and just a little bit of wheat. At this point, I was ready for this beer to rock my world.

The taste was perfect for me. It was crisp up front and had the perfect amount of bitter hoppiness on the back end. There wasn't as much citrus in the taste as I got from the smell, but that didn't matter, this beer already had it all for me. The taste of the beer lasted a medium amount of time, and had me coming back for more. This is a beer that I will be buying and making sure I have at home as much as possible, my new favorite Pale Ale for sure!

20170621_203851.jpg
Lizard King! Such an awesome can, and the beer lived up to it for sure!


Hope you all enjoyed the beers this week. Stay tuned for more to come next week, and maybe a random beer review throughout the week. Thanks so much for reading!

20170621_204926.jpg
I loved that Lizard King for sure


Part 1 - Sidelot Brewery

Part 2 - Third Space Brewing

Part 3 - Italian Beers


Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, and Follow! STEEM ON EVERYONE!!!

Sort:  

Yaaay another beer geek on Steemit! Cheers! 🍻

Maybe we can try some different beers on Saturday.

Oh yeah! Maybe I'll pick up a few tonight and bring them up tomorrow!

Man! Amazing review! A lot like @meesterboom's Sunday's best!

That place looks a bit too clean for my taste! :)

Love the names, lizards and onions! That Sour strikes me the most. I am very interested. Sour is definitely on my asap list but it is hard to get here on tap :/

The lizard king sounded like the best bear by far! I'm definitely down with the citrus flavored beer! When you say sour was the goose island actually like "sour patch kids", sour?

Not sour like "sour patch kids" more like sour like, a grapefruit without much of the citrus flavor...I struggle to figure out a good way to describe Sours usually. Up until I had one I couldn't understand what they were like at all!

Ahhh ok I see! Yeah your description of it made me definitely not want to try it haha especially after how you made the first and last beers sound!

Yeah, that's why I went back through and said I don't think I did it justice. I am sure there are a bunch of people that would really love it. Just not for me hahaha and I can't figure out how to describe it any better.

Oh aha ok I gotcha! I think i'll try a "sour" drink then next time I go out! Great post brotha!

They are good when done right. They just can't be overly sour or they end up like this one. IMO

Haha well I'll have no idea how to tell if its quality, so hopefully i'll pick up some more knowledge about beer in your future posts!

They are rare to find, so if you find one give it a shot for sure! You'll know if it is a good one, just by trying it. When they're good, they are real good.

Dang, now I really want to try it! After my test, i'm going searching!

Some strong beers on display!

I like the sound of Lizard King. American Pale Ales are great for summer evening drinking.

Yeah, I am on a strong beer kick right now. Lizard King was by far the best beer I had that night, and in a long time even. Just a solid Pale Ale all around.

Nice post for #beersaturday - got my upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36