Pennsif’s Progress #569 – What resources do we have - cataloging our flora and fauna

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

We are blessed to live on 17 acres of Welsh mountainside.

Our property includes 2 streams, a lake, around a thousand standing mature trees and 10,000 younger trees that have been planted over the past 6 years.

We also have copious amounts of rock - welsh slate, granite and quartz to be precise.

Having not had chemicals used on the property for at least 20 years, and having not had any intensive grazing for 15 years, there is an amazingly rich and diverse ecology here.

I am not a permaculture expert, but I believe one of the principles is to make use of the resources you have on your own property first.

We have many resources. The obvious ones - wood, water, timber - are obvious and abundant. But at a more micro level I have little true knowledge of what we have here in terms of the massive treasure trove of flora and fauna.

I would like to remedy that.

So my plan is to commence a systematic documentation of all the flora and fauna on the property.

I will be starting with the plants. Partly because I have some small botantical experience, partly because they don't move when you are trying to identify them, and partly because I am fascinated to know what potential medical and food resources lie forgotten and unrealised in our 17 acre organic floral haven.

Trees, plants and fungi will be included. The fungi particularly excite me.

We constantly find new fungi - and they are all so beautiful and tantalisingly tempted. I am sure there are riches unknown and untapped amongst our fungal friends.




I am hoping, with the help of @cryptocariad and the rest of the family, to make this a mixed media project with photographs, illustrations and possibly even video.

Our medicine chest and our pantry may never be the same.



PROJECTS :
BLOGS :
RADIO :


[ images by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

I've always been intrigued by fungus. They're everywhere, but the casual observer seems to know so little about them.

A number will make you sick, but only a few will outright kill you. If you're looking for food forage, learn the deadly ones first. 😁

Yes fungi do intrigue me. I keep finding new ones at every nook and crannie. And it irks me that I have been so unaware of them before, and that I am so disrespectful that I don't even know their name.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Hahaha. Well, there are plenty out there you might never know their name beyond LBM - little brown mushroom.

WOW! Looks like an abundant area. You're truly blessed with diversity and abundance. Thanks for sharing the beauty of the land. Great shots. I think the top left fungi is a gem studded puffball, a fairly tasty edible.

Thank you for the tip on the puffball. They usually start to appear in the next month or two if I recall.

I may take the plunge and try them.

I hope you find a lot of food and medicine growing freely on your property. I've slowly started to look into what different plants do and have been using chamomile to soothe my son at nighttime. Maybe that should be my post for the day since you are the third person I share this with on Steemit, I think.
I also discovered why every prepper should have cayenne pepper on hand!

I will look out for your post on chamomile.

Didn't know about cayenne - for self-defense ?

Nope! It's medical and that's all I'm going to tell you right now ;)
The post probably will not be until later this week. It's 7 pm here and my husband and son are both sleeping and I'm doing laundry :) We are having a rough couple of days...

Wow - it sounds, and looks, idyllic! I would love to live on a property with a stream or water source of some kind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52