Nominated for the Freewritehouse's Over 20 Club

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

I woke up one day to a pleasant surprise, with a reply from the @freewritehouse that I was nominated for the Over 20 Club! That would also mean that I have been doing quite a lot of freewrites. With pleasure, let me walk you down some memory lane on how things got started.


Created using Canva app

I have seen my sister-in-law and friend @iamjadeline writing a lot of freewrites since some time way back. Her posts are very inspiring and her stories are always heartwarming, but still I did not dare to try by myself as I was a bit taken aback in writing stories or even write out my thoughts in 5 minutes that time. There was one day when I was having a little of the writer's block so I decided to take the prompt of the day and try it out. Since then, I have gotten quite "addicted" to freewrites and I am always eager to check out the next prompt. You see, I used to really love writing in my school days but somehow I lost courage to write stories especially. Because freewrite has nothing right or wrong, it frees me from worrying if mine is good enough or not.

I could not remember exactly when I started freewrites, so I took a walk down my posts until I reached the prompt on paper two months ago. As I read back at it now, it was not too bad huh? Hahahaha! It was kind of a funny story and back then, I love to leave my readers wondering.

My 1st Freewrite: Prompt -PAPER

"Mummmmmm, where is it?" Chris was flipping all the recycled papers all over.

"Where's what?" His mom's voice came from the kitchen, impatiently.

"The PAPER! What did you do with it?" Chris sounded equally impatient and nervous. He could not stop thinking of the awkward smile Della gave him today in school. She looked like she knows something, with that sheepish look on her face!

"Now, what's so important about that paper? It could be in the pile of paper planes that Della asked for when she came babysitting your brother the other day," exclaimed Mom. "Now, you can ask Della later."

"You... what? Oh no, you didn't...." Chris almost got a heart attack.

He quickly raided through the paperplanes in the play room but to no avail. He didn't find that particular paper.

Suddenly, the voice he was not anticipating rang in the room, "Looking for this?" He knows that voice, oh no!

Mom was screaming over from the door, right before she left, "I was just telling you that Della is coming over to babysit your baby brother while Dad and I go for a movie, be nice!"

"OH MY GOODNESS", Chris' heart screamed. He turned around in total embarrassment. Looks like he cannot get away this time. Time for a confession.

As you can see, my initial freewrites have a lot of spelling and grammatical errors. Honestly, as a tutor, it was hard to bear with, because I have been correcting my students, you see and feeling guilty for my own errors.

Okay, proceeding to some of my favorite freewrites:


GIF Source

I have a couple of freewrites that I really love and cannot believe I wrote those, LOL. Some of my freewrites are inspired by real life stories that I have heard or experienced, some are based on the international news I read, some are inspired by the movies or dramams I have been watching, while some are just mere imaginations.

My ultimate favorite one has to be this- 5- Minute Freewrite Prompt: Mold
It speaks about the creation of a baby by the Holy Trinity God, depicting some of Their interesting Personalities. Absolutely enjoying it still, even as I read it again today.

Next, I love this heartwarming story - 5-Minute Freewrite Prompt: "Hey dude..."
This is a story about how a homeless man stepped out to help a lady in distress. This was inspired by a real story I read about how a girl ran out of fuel and a homeless man gave her his last cash. She then did an upfund for him online and went back to reward him.

Of course, I wouldn't want to miss out some sad freewrites too like this one - 5-Minute Freewrite Prompt: The Bittersweet Kiss
Inspired by the missing plane of MH370, I wrote this heartbreaking freewrite. Sad stories haven't been my tendency when it comes to writing, but I surely enjoyed writing this.

Consequently, I love this freewrite - 5-Minute Freewrite Prompt: Food to the Table
I remember this was not an easy prompt for me. I was trying to illustrate a girl who wanted to just bring food to the table for her family, forsaking her dreams. Finally I could use the prompt of the day as the name of her food trucks, and her dream did come true! That happened when I was typing really fast and it almost like as if it came out of my fingers.

I tried writing this freewrite from a different perspective inspired by @byn - 5-Minute Freewrite Prompt: Wet
Coming from a perspective of an animal, this made me admire @byn so much more because she always does a fantastic job on writing from the point of view of Tempest her boat cat and recently from a dog's view too. It was not as easy as I thought but @byn always makes me feel it was effortless. This was a good try, I would say.

I rarely complete my stories back then but for this one, I kept writing though I indicated where I should have stopped. I could not stop writing with this prompt - 5-Minute Freewrite Prompt: Beyond The Clouds
This was really one of my favorite writes of all times (Oops, did I say that earlier too?) You will be able to tell when you see I could not stop writing. The story came quite randomly at me but it was inspired by a real experience.

Besides doing the single prompt, I also did we-write with @iamjadeline and here's one of our first - We-Write by @freewritehouse | @iamjadeline and @happycrazycon Write-Together
This was quite challenging but enjoyable!!! @iamjadeline did an awesome job with her first part with a lot of suspense. I wish I finish the story further though, because I too am eager to know what the wife would do to find out the other side of her husband who is suspected to have killed her best friend.

Uh-oh! I may have recommended too many of my favorites. Last but not least, I have to remind myself of this - 5-Minute Freewrite Prompt: Good Morning, Sunshine!
I remember myself reading about the 12 young footballers trapped in the cave in Thailand with their coach for 2 weeks and that news brought the whole world to our fidgety feet. I wrote this fiction as a tribute to the relentless rescue team, in which one of the rescuers died sending in oxygen tanks for the victims.

I have to admit: I am surprised by my own freewrites! Maybe because we just have to let the fingers do the typing!

WOW, that was surely quite a journey!!! I love the challenge of freewrite because it really makes me come out of my comfort zone, besides it setting a prompt for me every single day. I may not have written all the prompts every single day and have skipped some but I look forward to dig something out of my brain (or fingers) to fit the prompt everytime I read of it. Freewrites helps me with my determination to post everyday. It sets me off on a momentum.

@mariannewest has been one of the handles I search for the most everyday on my search engine on Steemit. Here is also a huge thank you to all the diligent postmans of the daily prompt for faithfully deliver the prompt to my door step.



Image courtesy of @freewritehouse.

It is an honour for me to be nominated for the Over 20 Club, thank you very much! This is a club with many great freewriters who are not just great writers, but committed and dedicated ones.

Now, I can also put on this badge with pride and joy, thank you!


designed by @fireawaymarmot, thank you!

Now, if you have not checked out what freewrite is, you should! I have some friends who asked me about it and are slowly coming onboard too! Cheers to many more coming on the bandwagon! I have started my students on freewrites too, sometimes using the daily prompts but with a slightly longer time frame of 15 minutes, to promote happy writing among them. Here is a post A Tutor's Tale #6: There Must Be Ways to Enjoy Writing! on how one of my students was laughing as she was writing and thank you for the genius idea, @mariannewest because I don't get grumbles anymore anytime I ask her to write!!

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank those who read my freewrites and have been so encouraging. I too enjoy reading freewrites from the rest of you. It always inspires me to write better. Now, cheers to more in this freewriting journey!


Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.



RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png



Steemit Bloggers


Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif


created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://happycrazycon.vornix.blog/2018/08/01/nominated-for-the-freewritehouses-over-20-club/

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your beautiful recount of your Freewrite Story. Almost cried over here :)
I am so happy that you are bringing the Freewrite to your students and I keep thinking about doing something geared towards kids. Haven't figured it out yet... But will soon - I hope :)

Yeah your idea of #freewriteyouth was brilliant @mariannewest. I too don't know how to get their writes in since they aren't on Steemit.

Thank you for your encouragement and support all this while since I joined freewrites! You are a gem 💎

Maybe we could have an account that is featuring their writing for those who don't have their own accounts... And they can go with first name only or even a "stage name" for privacy purposes. They could read it without being on steemit... Just an idea.

You write beautifully! Welcome to the Over 20 Club! I read each of them and really enjoyed them. The honeymoon freewrite and homeless were my favorites!

Aww thank you, it is an honour to have you visiting me here! Thank you for your encouraging words!! Congrats to you too upon joining the over 100 Club, @wandrnrose7! :)

You are forever 20 in age too as long as your heart remain youthful. To me you always looks youthful and happy. Welcome to the club!

Hahahah. No more forever 20 lo when my weight and body metabolism are reminding me lol. But yes I shall try to keep them youthful spirit! thank you @iamjadeline :)

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations Connie !! All your creative hardwork has finally paid for.

Awww...thanks @ireenchew :) will see you here one day too!

Awe. So happy that you started Freewriting and are bringing it to your students!!

Me too! I love reading what they have written. Seems like they enjoy too :)

So good!!!! Didn't know you write so well Connie!!!!

Hahhahaa Aww.. Thank you very much @trishylimmy! Can't wait to read your writes too since you have been writing all this while! 💖

Join us freewriters @trishylimmy :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations and welcome to the #over20club! Love your freewrites! 🎉🎉🎉

Thank you for the welcome @alimamasstory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57809.89
ETH 3118.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37