5-Minute Freewrite Prompt: Beyond The Clouds

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-37728.jpeg
Image Source

"Hello, anyone out there? If you are there, can you take me to beyond the clouds?"

Mel was shouting towards the sky, as they were all lying on the plains looking at the fluffy clouds in the sky. It is their favorite playtime activity.

"That's just silly, Melanie. All there is beyond the clouds is just space, outersoace, like the universe. Didn't you learn that in school?" Ben laughed at her

"No, I believe there is a place for unicorns and rainbow fields up there, Mel," his little sister, Daphne said with the cutest voice you would ever hear.

"There must be something more, Daph. You are probably right!" Mel was keeping her hopes high too.

Ever since that night, she started dreaming, about a stairs made of clouds opening up in front of her bedroom window. Mel took the steps up to see a person, dressed in pink and also with pink hair and eyes, anticipating her.

"Welcome, Melanie, daughter of Charles McPherson!" the person greeted her.

"How do you know my name and also my father's?"

"Well of course. I'm your guardian angel. Nice meeting you for the second time, though you can't remember the first time we met," the angel replied with a smile. "Come on in! We have been waiting for you! The celebration is starting!"

Step by step into the clouds, Mel followed her pink angel. They passed by a river with trees of golden leaves by the side. They passed by the garden with alluring fruit scents everywhere. Soon, there was music all around. Trumpets blowing, guitars playing and a choir singing a joyful noise. "What's the occasion? What's this place? "

The angel replied, "Oh it's something we do everyday. Some call it Heaven, some call it Paradise, but HE calls it Home."

"He? Who's He?"Mel found herself to her answer.

There was a throne in the middle of the place. A rainbow surrounds the throne. Seated on the throne, was He. He had the most glorious face she has ever seen, the eyes of fire. His hair was fine like wool. When she caught the glance of His eyes, she saw Him! The feeling He gave was so holy and majestic, yet very welcoming and familiar. He held out His hand towards her, "My child." Mel almost laughed and couldn't help but grinning widely because every time she looked at Him, her heart was about to burst with joy! They danced in front of the throne.


Oops, I spent an extra two minutes for this write, because I got too hooked up. In fact, I was wanting to write on, but I didn't want to violate the rules for freewrite too much. So, this is to indicate where I actually should stop. I actually have the story in my mind but I want to play by the rules and my fingers are typing too slow!

Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.


Okay, from here on, it is no longer freewrite within a time constraint but I just HAVE TO get the story out of my mind before I forget it. This story means a lot to me.

Mel has been having the same dream ever since that night, since she was 9. She dreamt it so often that it could be once a month. Everytime she is back in Home, she explored a bit more from her previous visit. She had been to the garden of her heart. She had been to a mansion reserved for her. She had also gone swimming in the river which is filled with wine. She had also visited a room full of treasures and important body parts. She had gone flying with her angels too. She had seen the craziest spectrum of colours here, some of which she had never seen on earth. She has become good friends with the eagles too.

Twenty years later, Mel was accepted into Manhattan's largest writing publishhouse. She was placed under the genre of fantasy along with the other authors. Her work was good but never too impressive for her editor. She was once again being pushed to the deadline to submit a post for the column that week.

Mel was out of ideas and creativities. Her dream had stopped visiting her since 5 years ago after she graduated. Soon enough, she has forgotten about them, about Home, about Him. Life was busy and so hectic that she had forgotten her childlike dreams and her childlike faith.

One day, her inner voice asked her, "Why don't you write about Home? About Him? The place of joy and no suffering?"

"Nah, it will sound too good to be true. Besides, it's just a child's dream, it is too ridiculous and everyone would think it's too far fetched, " another contradicting voice came.

"No, try it, Melanie. You never know. You yourself loved the place, didn't you? "

Mel got onto her laptop and started typing non-stop. All of her memories started flowing back. She wrote them out with the happiest smile , one she has not shown for a while.

It got published. Her editor asked her to continue the story. They published it in a book, titled Beyond the Clouds. Yes, she became one of the bestsellers in Manhattan and the whole of the English reading world.

Her little fans often ask her if this place is real. She always says this with a smile, "It is also for you to find out. Ask that question!"

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png

Sort:  

Awwwww!! Loved it 💗💗💗

You did? So happy you did, @kaerpediem. Thanks for coming by!! :)

Yes, very much.... 😊

It's the happiest place in the whole universe!

Yes, it is! Wanna go back to Home again :) Thanks for coming by and hope you enjoy the story, @alimamasstory

Yes, I enjoyed it very much!!

Congratulations @happycrazycon: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

This is so beautiful and makes me so incredibly happy. There is so much beauty and magic in the mind of the child. It's where all the best stories are!

Really, it did? Wow I'm so happy you felt what I felt when I was writing it, @solarsupermama!! :)

Indeed! The sparkle shined through the writing!

This post has received a 2.92 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @happycrazycon.

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I'm glad you decided to finish the story this time instead of letting it hanging again... :D

Haha I too am glad I did it. I have to finish it, this is actually some of my own experiences :) glad you came over, @roselifecoach. Always nice to see you!

I'm glad I managed to drop by too, sometimes it's really easy to miss out so many great post by you ladies, like @heartscally, @iamjadeline due to not enough time here. Thank you for having me!

I absolutely loved the whole paragraph where Mel meets Him. But then I got to this line

Life was busy and so hectic that she had forgotten her childlike dreams and her childlike faith.

I needed to read that today!
I very much enjoyed the whole story, thank you!

Thank you soooo much. I am glad you enjoyed it. This piece is part of my experiences though some are fiction. So, I'm glad another person can relate with it. Bless you, @mtnmeadowmomma :)

@happycrazycon we are just passing through this world! You are right, we all can't wait to go HOME! In the meantime whilst we are here, we need to spread the good news of HOME!

Yes we are!! I'm so happy Home is ever welcoming us. Earth is indeed a passing place for our character shaping and we bring the end product of that back Home one day. Thanks for coming by, @khimgoh!!! :)

How sweet! ♥
I love this and I am glad you took a few extra minutes to finish it! :D

I am glad I did too, @squishysquid because it turned out to be my most loved freewrite. Everytime each of you commented, I took time to read it again :P thank you for your constant support. I haven't been doing much on Steemit because of camp.

I love reading your stuff! ♥

Been super busy here too... Im hoping for things to calm down some so I can de-stress and maybe get a little, dare I say it? Free time?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91