Looking back to look forward - PowerHouseCreatives contest

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)


There is something about looking back to make one realise how far one has come. I did this for a different reason in May when I realised that we'd been doing Sunday Suppers @ The Sandbag House for two years.

Two years ago, I was in a very different space. Yes, I was living inMcGregor, but that's not what I mean. At the time, I had not long turned my back on a world that had been my professional life - in one iteration or other - for nearly thirty years. I wrote about this here which was the start of a different journey on a relatively new and novel platform: Steemit is both a block chain and a social network. One can invest fiat - as one might in Bitcoin - and one can invest by "working" or "mining" the block chain to earn Steem and Steem Based Dollars. The platform can best be described as a mengelmoes (mixture) of Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

At the same time, I started to germinate an idea for a business, the seed for which had been sown some years previously, but had been ignored except for taking on an aligned project from an earstwhile friend. I have been in business with friends before and the friendships have happily weathered inevitable storms. In this case, I learned, to the detriment of my soul, that a longstanding connection, rekindled via social media networks, does not necessarily translate into a business relationship; the chasm between the apparent values reflected in social media posts and how business was conducted, plumbed the depths.


McGregor's snowy embrace during the winter of my discontent

Never, in my entire professional life, for as long as I had been self-employed or a sub-contractor, had I ever been so rudely addressed, mistrusted or micro-managed. Prior to being self-employed, every job, even my first, required me to not just use my initiative, but to work independently and manage myself. Actually, in my first job, I ended up leading a small team - at the ripe old age of twenty-two. My judgement was trusted; if I screwed up, I said so, and dealt with the consequences. Usually, all involved learned lessons, and yes, sometimes, mistakes happen - we are all human. As they say, shit happens.

That this went down when I was feeling particularly vulnerable, and because of the tenuous personal relationship, is probably what made the experience all the more devastating.

Surviving the dark


After moving to McGregor, and partly because of moving to McGregor, I became more active on Facebook: for sharing our journey with the dearest who were no longer near. At the same time, I began posting photos of my cooking, and as I explain here, folk wanted recipes. But when the proverbial hit the fan, the inspiration to write went with it.

"Steeming" or stifling


I'd been lured to Steemit by two things: the prospect of being able to blog on a new platform and earn something - I've long wanted to generate an income from writing - and also in the hopes of finding interesting and well-crafted posts to read. This had been another of the joyous discoveries of blogging - a new community of writers and thinkers who encouraged discussion and engagement. Joining Steemit, I was under no illusion about bullies and trolls - I'd seen that play out before and written about it. In those early Steemit days, I didn't even manage to scratch the surface. The platform is inhospitable for other than geeks who understand a bit of coding; it was is difficult to navigate without help. I was apalled at the drivel that found its way on to the "trending" page. I didn't understand the block chain and found the documentation difficult to digest: I'm not technically minded at all. It took me almost a day to do a post that on the Wordpress platform would have taken a few hours (give or take...).

I look back at that first post which was not my best work, and recognise now that I'm a more seasoned Steemian, that it had been picked out by one of the most prestigious curators on the platform. The notion of curation was foreign. It was something one did for an exhibition. I've learned a lot since then.

I'm digressing, but suffice it to say that the environment was so hostile and foreign that for the balance of 2017, I only wrote seven more posts. The only one of any significance (to me) was one in which I recognise that I was beginning to heal. That healing was, in no large part thanks to this village and my circle of friends. I also received support from unexpected places and in ways I didn't expect: being introduced to a new web-building platform on which I could create (relatively easily) my new business site, and literally being given the logo design for the new business. Talk about gifts that keep on giving.


That was another reason for the long leave of absence from Steemit, punctuated by the festive season, so that it was only in February 2018 that I started writing again. Something had shifted. I'm not sure, what, and that post is not just about food, but included memories of a seminal day in my life as a young South African.

Things had changed


Then followed another 285 posts. That might make me appear to have been prolific. I was not. I discovered applications that allow one to post to Steemit without having to code. Two, in particular, really work(ed) for me: Steempress that integrates with WordPress and another that integrated with Instagram. The latter, since I have discovered an enjoyment of taking photographs, is, in no small measure what has helped me build a presence on Steemit. The former took a bit longer which was largely a consequence of the residual funk, and from which I really only emerged this year.

Discovering a virtual community family


Certain social media platforms make use of hashtags. I never really paid them much attention until she who was responsible for getting me to join Steemit, gave me a bit of a crash course. I began using them more and more strategically, and suddenly my posts were "noticed" and I was invited to join groups of folk with shared interests or roots: fellow countrymen in Team South Africa; groups of potographers - a bit of a shock considering I am not even a rank amateur in that department. The third community that I was invited to join was the PowerHouseCreatives (then known as Steemitbloggers), and founded by longtime friend (in real life) and also responsible my being on the platform and for aforesaid logo, Jayne.

Not long after joining that group, and really beginning to enjoy myself, disaster struck. I fell victim to a phishing scam, and my account was hacked. One of the things one is told when joining a crypto platform is to save your password. Your master password cannot easily be changed. It cannot be retrieved. Save your password. Don't lose your password. Your account contains money; it is valuable. Save your password. The Steem Based Dollar at the time was worth US$1.37.

At the time, my account was worth about US$ 250. Not much to some people, but to me, huge. It was the most devastating experience and one which I shan't forget, not because of being hacked, but because of how the two communities in which I was most active, comprising people I virtually (in the real sense of the word) knew. It was a profoundly lifechanging experience.

Since then, the core of one of those group shas become as close knit as any family: it has its ups and downs, but when the chips are down, they rally to keep it together and support each other. I have made friends with folk from all over the world and find myself extending genuine invitations for them to break bread in our home in the event they are ever in South Africa. As soon as 2020, I hope. Their compassion when I lost a mentor and friend remains with me, as with other losses during that year.



A space to write, discuss, and play games


Today, two years ago, I registered my account on Steemit. While those memories of the early tribulations remain with me, I have learned a great deal about how the ecosystem works (or doesn't) for the likes of me. Recognising that is is an ecosystem is key, and like all ecosystems, there are times when it thrives and others when it comes under threat. That the ecosystem is inhabited by humans with feet of clay, makes conflict and disagreement inevitable. It's how one engages with, or avoids, that conflict that determines one's survival on the platform. It never ceases to amaze me how some folk "speak" to other Steemians. I often wonder if they'd tolerate a similar level of abuse, and whether they've forgotten that they are not addressing a machine.

I digress. As usual.


A random photograph of a blushing bride: they flower on the mountains behind the village. Only in spring.

In my two years on Steemit, I have had the opportunity to reflect on significant milestones in my life, including a swansong and the village where we live. Some have been quite serious, others very serious and others less so. I have also found myself writing pieces with my toungue firmly in my cheek. I was rather taken aback on receiving and email from the Wall Street Journal's South African representative, asking, "May we quote you?" That some of my musings have been recognised by the curation initiatives on the platform are a source of pride and gratification, I cannot lie, especially for a post I'd not have thought worth considering.

On Steemit, I have found myself doing what, for me, a few years ago, would have been unthinkable: participating in challenges and contests. In April, I took up fellow PowerHouseCreative and blog pal Traci York's challenge to do a daily post for a month. A challenge it was, and somehow, I managed to do it: not just for thirty days, but for five weeks.

And the contests


Much to my surprise, I've allowed myself to be enticed by these, and despite myself, it's fun. There is a caveat, though: the topic must speak to me. I won't compete for the sake of competing and winning. If I win? Well, who doesn't like winning? It's just the cherry on the top.

So, with my 236th post, I mark my second anniversary on Steemit. It is, as it was for my first anniversary, an entry to a @zord189's weekly contest, and this week's topic, "My Steem Journey" was already on the agenda.

In closing, thank you to my Steemit and PHC family for sharing the last two years with me. Clichés, I'm afraid are all that work there:

  • there are too many to mention; and
  • it would not have been possible without you

Until next time Fiona The Sandbag House McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma

Post Script

  • I blog on three platforms: WordPress and Instagram, both of which auto post to Steemit. Instagram is mostly a visual with microblogs about fluff: mostly food and the cats and posts that sometimes promise hint about future WordPress posts.
  • My WordPress site is hosted by fellow Steemian, @gmuxx, with fees paid in crypto currency: Steem Based Dollars. If you want more information, join the Steemblogs Club on Discord
On the Steem platform, I am part of these communities

Designed by @zord189



Share2Steem where compulsive Instagrammers like me, can earn


Original design for Team South Africa by @bearone


 



Let me help with your English writing Rates depend on the depth of edit required More about why I am offering this service here Contact me

 

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.fionasfavourites.net/2019/07/21/looking-back-to-look-forward/
Sort:  

This post was curated by @adsup a division of @adsactly

Happy Steemit Anniversary @fionasfavourites! I'm so glad that you persevered and managed to weed out the truly unnecessary thorns and find the roses all around :)

I didn't know that you and jayne were 'real life' friends!

Thank you, Lynn. Yes, Jayne and I have been friends for more years than we care to remember, now! Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

This post was manually curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and/or a resteem.

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

Thank you! Mwah!

Happy Anniversary @fionasfavourites! So glad you are here, what a journey you have been on, with great things ahead. I love your writing, I have been here just over a year and I can identify with the ups and downs, learning curve and the wonderful PHC community. So much energy and creativity. Cheers to the new year.

I agree its a journey that only those who fully understands it will embrace it.
I know the feeling because I've been in this journey for over a year, and I'm enjoying it every single day

I am so glad @ireenchew and thanks for stopping by

What a journey! Sorry to hear about your misfortunes, but glad to see you rise above them!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks so much @cindyhartz.

Funny you used the word misfortunes. I had not thought of the experiences that way, at all. Rather just part of life, and to be got on with!

I'm now wishing we could upvote old posts, because the ones you linked here (from ages ago, not the current ones I've seen & loved) are almost as amazing as this one! This is a beautiful and personal way of celebrating your Steem journey and your 2nd Steemiversary. You've set the blog bar high for when mine comes around in September! 😂

Seriously, so happy to have been on this crypto journey along with you, and I can't wait for the inevitable day when Steem moons, and the entire #PowerHouseCreatives family can celebrate in person (with copious amounts of wine, vodka, and coffee, of course) at Destination McGregor!

Happy 2 year steemiversary.gif

And here's a celebratory - !tip steem

Thank you so much, Traci.

And:

I can't wait for the inevitable day when Steem moons, and the entire #PowerHouseCreatives family can celebrate in person (with copious amounts of wine, vodka, and coffee, of course) at Destination McGregor

Me too!

PS the video from the WP post, for some reason didn't appear on Steemit. I've now added it. :D

You're so very welcome, Fiona! And coolness - about to watch it now! 😊

Very parochial...After Johnny Clegg, one of our great exports...

It's an awesome song, Fiona - thanks for sharing it! 😊

Glad you enjoyed it! A great band to see live... 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

What a journey! I'm so glad @jaynie got you on here and helped keep you on here so that we can all enjoy your wisdom, wit and certainly not least, your food! Among all the many other attributes you bring to the Steem table, of course. I can definitely relate to many parts of your journey on here, as I'm sure many others can, as well. Cheers to the first two years! Here's hoping for plenty more!

@plantstoplanks

Thank you, Katie! I am so glad to have met you, too, and also your favulous plant-based recipes. I have so much to learn.

Cheers to the first two years! Here's hoping for plenty more!

I'll drink to that, and hope you'll be part of the journey....

Fiona

This type of contests are really great, because they give us the opportunity to know a little more about the people with whom in one way or another we share within this wonder that is steemit, we definitely have to thank @zord189 for this initiative, I love it! You have had a good trip that will still continue without a doubt, HAPPY STEEMIAN ANNIVERSARY

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09