Steem Monsters: Deck Building #2 - Daily Quests - "Stir The Volcano!"

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

Questing With Fire

Welcome to the second edition of my Steem Monsters deck building series! To kick this off, we're discussing how to approach the daily quests! Not only am I relaying my strategies here, but I'm also looking forward to reading yours in the comments below! If you haven't read Part 1 in the series (not 100% necessary unless you're a new player,) you can check out a link to that post at the bottom of this page :)

quest2.png

Today's quest is very similar to the last: Win 10 Ranked Battles with the Fire Splinter, and the reward is a free Steem Monsters Booster Pack. Alrighty then, let's do this!

Building The Deck

1. Review The Rules

First thing to do before building a deck is to check the Rules and Mana Cap.

rules2.png

Today we're operating under the standard rules, so there's no modification to how abilities & moves are written on the cards, and the mana cap is set at an explosive 25! Time for a big hand! Large mana caps can be tricky, especially if you're playing with a deck that isn't well upgraded, but we're going to make the best of it! Because there's no special rules, unlike in my last post, I don't have an initial strategy in mind before reviewing my available cards.

2. Choose a Summoner

image.png

I have two Fire Summoners: Malric Inferno & Talia Firestorm. While Talia costs less mana, we have a huge mana cap today and Marlic has an abilitiy to grant our monsters with +1 melee attack, so we're going to go with him (Furthermore: Malric is a higher level and can summon stronger monsters. Typically, I'd only use someone like Talia under the Silenced Summoners rules modification - which does not apply today!)

3. Review Your Fire Monsters

I currently own 8 out of the 10 fire based monsters. I'm not too worried about it at this point, however, the legendary card Elemental Phoenix is something I'll be wanting for my fire decks in the future.

image.png

Because we're operating under standard rules, I'm looking at a decent balance between monsters with the following three attacks: Melee, Magic, and Ranged.

Right of the bat, I see my Pit Ogre as the likely tank card to have in the first position of my lineup. He's decently upgraded at level 4 to give me the Stun and Enrage abilities (upon reaching level 7, he grains the Void ability, which would be very useful for a tank, but at this time I don't have the budget to perform a mega upgrade on my fire deck.)

I also like the Fire Demon for a ranged attack with decent health, the Goblin Shaman with the Weaken ability (even though his attack is only +1 at level 4,) and the Fire Beetle with the Snipe ability. With such a high mana cap, I have a lot of options.

4. Review Your Neutral Monsters

Unlike the fire, I own every single neutral card :)

image.png

I see my Peaceful Giant at level 5 and consider building a deck with a double tank (which is certainly plausible with such a high mana cap.) Essentially, this can protect you from enemy monsters with the snipe ability (like my Fire Beetle has) which allows the sniper to attack monsters out of first position with either no attack stat (like my Peaceful Giant) or non-melee attackers. If I do this however, I better have large damage coming from my back row of monsters.

5. Make 2 Lineups

No lineup will be perfect, but you may notice that one might perform better over time than another, so it's good to at least play with two different ones when questing.

Here's my first build:

image.png

This lineup is based on the "double tank" idea I discussed earlier. It's not perfect (I'd prefer to have more damage coming from the monsters in positions 3-6) but it does perform well! In fact, it won against @marabara who is ranked #6 on the leaderboards with a rating score of 19,594! (I am currently ranked #393 with a rating score of 3,842.)

Here's a link to that battle if you're interested:

image.png
https://steemmonsters.com?battle=4da4400e4529c08bbdbca78ade5e4b6922402706&ref=stevecronin

Here's my second build:

image.png

This is all about having good tank with decent damage coming from every other position (melee with the Sneak ability, and ranged in the back.)

How Did You Quest Today?

Let me know how you built your decks in the comments below! Or, if you have any feedback for me, I'd love to read it!

Other Posts by Steve Cronin

  1. Steem Monsters: Deck Building #1 - Daily Quests - "Defend The Borders!"
  2. How to Climb the Leaderboards in Steem Monsters: Season 2
  3. Steem Monsters - I finally have some Dragons (And how YOU can get some!)
  4. Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 20
  5. An In-Depth Look at EOS Knights: The Latest Blockchain Mobile Game
Sort:  

Congratulations @stevecronin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for contributing to the Gaming Community on Steemit. You have been given an upvote by @steemgg. For more inspiration, visit our platform Steemgg, the first html5 gaming platform built on the Steem blockchain.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 178 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75