How-to Play Steem Monsters- New Season! New Changes!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

New Steem Monster Leagues and Card Balance Changes


pizap.com15411735887451.jpg



It has only been a little over two weeks since @steemmonsters advanced with a great pioneering spirit to give us the Steem Monsters Live Play. It has been an honor to be able to play the first few weeks and be a part of this epic new game. And, like all games, Steem Monsters has been modified!

Over the course of the first season, Steem Monsters developers have been gathering data and player feedback. With this information they have done a bit of tweaking to the game, and the cards. If you would like to know exactly what these changes are going into Season Two, be sure to read Steem Monsters Ranked Play Season 2 Updates!.




Capture booster packs for win.JPG



The first thing you will notice when you log into Steem Monsters is that you have been rewarded with booster packs for your time playing the first season. You are given your total for the last season and the reward, but you must check the leaderboard to find it! @steemmonsters has also rewarded the top winners with 300 SBD! If you'd like to see the total rewards and those who claimed them, check out Steem Monsters Season 1 Wrap Up!.

When I opened my booster packs I was rewarded many new cards. My favorite being a new summoner. I was able to claim not one, but two Kiara Lightbringers! I didn't have one yet so I was excited to get her. I was having trouble winning with the White team, and had a quest to win 10 battles. I want to thank @newbijohn for helping me complete this quest by fighting me with his green team. I felt bad, but I needed the quest done!




Capturenew quest.JPG



You can find the new daily quests by clicking into the Battle tab. There you can find the all the information for the current battle rules, the mana cap, the time left in the conflict, along with the active splinters. A scroll and a chest under the play options shows the daily Steem Monsters quest. If you are like me and having trouble winning, you may have another quest after completing one.

If you are current in your quests, you will need to wait another 24 hours before another quest will be available to you. By scrolling over the meter, you can see how many wins you need to complete the quest. You can also click on the details if you would like to read the scroll which gives you more information about the quest. Once you complete the quest a claim button will appear below the chest and you can receive and open your new booster pack.




Capturetier.JPG



When you start Season Two of Steem Monsters Battles, you will notice the ! one your cards saying your summoners are not high enough to summon these monsters to full capacity and that they will be modified during play to reflect the summoners level. When you select a summoner for battle you will notice your summoners have been reduced in power. This is part of the new changes in the Steem Monsters Battles.

Everyone will start the new season at the same level, with the same level of cards basically and your cards are reduced to standard play in Novice League. You will play this level until you reach the next tier which is the Bronze League, and then continue unlocking new Leagues to play. This helps the game match the levels of play so little monsters aren't getting beat up by BIG monsters.




pizap.com15411765261401.jpg



Novice and Bronze Leagues give you a good chance to play cards that you don't normally play because they are not the best of the best in levels. You can experiment with new card combinations, and have fun finding your favorite monsters. Recently I had acquired the Legendary Hydra and had not used it yet. Since I only have one card, it is not high in levels and had been pushed aside.

With my new summoner I decided to try it out and see what was so Legendary about it. I used my Peaceful Giant as a tank, and the Clay Golem for damage. This got me through the first few battles. But as I am slowly learning, the melee don't attack from the back, and other than taking the hit and healing it's self, the Hydra wasn't doing much. The Peaceful Giant also doesn't hit, so the Clay Golem was doing all the work.

I decided to then trade the Peaceful Giant for the Hydra as tank and then added the Air Elemental. This worked well because the Hydra would heal itself and now attack from the front line and the others could take attacks or do damage in the back. This White team was strong enough to get me through to my next quest, and to the Silver tier of play.




Capturenew league.JPG



The Silver League opens up your summoners ability to summon higher leveled monsters in battle, and to compete against others who are in the same league. At the end of Season Two I will be rewarded 4 booster packs! I have been leveling my cards slowly, so I don't think I'll be going much further up the ranks. But, for those of you who do have high leveled cards, you can continue through the ranks and reach the higher gold and diamond leagues to reach your monster's full potential and claim the SBD at the top of the Leaderboard.

If you would like to know which League you are in, or more information about each League, click on the battle screen, click on your name in your Battle Log, and then click the Trophy icon in the top right corner on your Player Profile.




Capturenew blue.JPG



Once I reached the new Silver League, and was on to my next daily quest to win 10 ranked battles with the Blue team. I was happy to see that my summoners were back to full capacity and I could use my pretty ladies, Medusa and the Mischievous Mermaid. I was very sad to see that they were part of the cards needed to be modified because they were just too bad ass.

Despite the reductions to the pretty ladies, my Blue team was victorious enough to complete the daily Steem Monsters quest and I am now waiting for my next one. In the new booster pack I was able to claim another Enchanted Pixie who was modified during the update along with the Lord of Darkness, and other monsters that were deemed not powerful enough.

I must say that the reward system does help increase the incentive to play more often, and having the Leagues makes it more fair play. Steem Monsters plan to have tournaments soon and this new feature will greatly help with the matching of teams. I had to stop playing because it was past my bedtime, but I must say the Steem Monsters' developers are well on their way to creating a truly addictive strategy game on the blockchain.

I couldn't be more thrilled!

Until Next time,

Happy Gaming- Simgirl


More Post by @simgirl

Steem Monsters is Live- How-to Play Steem Monsters!!!
Steem Monsters Day Two- How-to Play Steem Monsters
How to Play Steem Monsters- Leveling Beta Cards

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

Hah the rewards system totally increaces the incentive to play. I probably won't be playing anymore...or maybe one or two games per day. I made it to Silver league II and I'm kinda proud as I've made a tactical monster purchase on the market which eventually proved to be a right decision :))

Btw what's the plan once the free beta packs will all be given away in rewards? Have u heard somewhere what's gonna happen then?

Congratulations on the league rank. I've spent way to much SBD on these cards, but I remind myself they are an investment. I'm not sure about the beta cards. But I'm sure you could find out in the Steem Monsters discord.

Here's the link: https://discord.gg/yR9aC3y

Hah well let's hope they are. I'm wondering if people will keep playing once the free packs for quest are gone. Thx for the link, but my discord is wayy too full, I'll just wait till I by ocncidence figure it somewhere out :D

Hi simgirl,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Simgirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

oh my god ............... ;(

Your post should be pinned to steemmonsters guide on how to get started posts. It's easy to understand and pretty entry level info. We need more posts like yours if we want the game to reach more audience. Your league is so high, hope to battle you someday. :D

Thanks for reading! I love games, but find many people do not want to play them because learning to play is difficult. I try to make it easier with my guides. I also write about other games. Steem Monsters is becoming one of my favorites.

It's a game that is powered by the blockchain. Those are pretty complex stuff for a layman to understand. Glad you are passionate about the game and sharing it here, it was a good read :D

This post has received a 6.25% upvote from @kennybrown!



Want more views to reach your posts? Try BlockGators Army Advertising Network

If you like what I do please consider delegating 100+ steempower to @kennybrown. If you would like to join you can also send 2 Steem to @kennybrown for a 30-day subscription. All revenue will be used to increase the steempower on a monthly basis.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48