How to Play Steem Monsters- Leveling Beta Cards

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

How-to Play Steem Monsters!


pizap.com15395584084361.jpg



Hello! I'm here again playing Steem Monsters. It has kept my attention these past few days, so that is a good sign.

While I was playing Steem Monsters battles this morning, and losing victoriously, I decided I needed to buy some more booster packs to level up my cards. I needed to improve my chances of winning. Although I'm not a sore loser, I don't want to lose all the time...

So off I go to the @steemmonsters store to buy some new booster packs. The card packs are now in Beta, so these cards in the booster packs are now Beta. I noticed earlier that my Beta cards were all level one, but I thought it was because I collected more of the Alpha cards. I didn't think much more of it until I opened the card packs this morning and I didn't have a bunch of new cards to combine.

I then noticed the little A snd B in the corner of the card profile. I clicked the B for Beta and then another tab opened up. This tab contained all of the Beta cards I have been collecting but never combined. What a discovery! Please tell me I am not the only person who did not notice this Beta tab.



bug beta.JPG



Depending on how long you have been collecting your cards, you will either have a high level Alpha team, or a high level Beta team. As of now, my Alpha cards are higher level than my Beta cards. But, once I collect more of the Beta cards, my Beta team will level higher.

You can still go to the market and buy Alpha cards to raise your Alpha monsters levels, but as time goes on the Alpha cards available will be more valuable and therefore cost more to buy.

So how do you decide which cards to level? And how can you tell the cards apart?? Both good questions.

If you are only beginning the game now, it may be better to try collecting the Beta cards to combine. If you collected a lot of Alpha cards, browsing the Steem Monster Market for more Alpha cards may be a better option for you. Each player will have to decide this for themselves.

I decided that I don't have the patience to figure out how many cards I need to level my monsters, or to buy one card at a time from the auction. I like buying the booster packs, and opening them, so I will leave my Steem Monsters to randomly fill the Betas as I get more cards.



pizap.com15399507489121.jpg



The Alpha and Beta cards in the Steem Monsters will both play on the battlefield. The only problem I found was that my new summoners were not high enough level to summon my high level monsters... yet. So I needed to keep my Alpha summoners in play for now and it may be a good idea for me to invest in some more summoner cards in the future.

The Alpha card pictures are smaller than the Beta, and they are what I call fluffier than the Beta. You can tell the difference in the cards by looking at the boarder around the picture. The Alpha cards will have the element of the card color as the border. For example the Goblin Shaman is from the Red Splinter, whose element is fire, and there is fire around the picture.

The Beta cards also have a nifty banner outlining the name of the monsters. It is important to know the difference because you will need to collect the correct cards if you want to level your Alpha or Beta collection. I would want to choose Alpha cards from the Steem Monsters Market to increase the level of my Goblin Shaman because it is much higher than my Beta card.

The Market makes this easy by giving the players the same A and B options to choose when buying new cards.



market.JPG



No matter which of the packs you decide to level in the Steem Monsters, be sure to continue to improve your cards by buying or winning more booster packs and combining the cards before you go into battle. If you are good with math and would like to make money with the cards, be sure to add your extra cards to the Steem Monsters Market for sale to other players.

There are many places on Steemit that you can win Steem Monsters booster packs, the main place being the contests hosted by @steemmonsters. Check out the #steemmonsters tag to find contests and live give-aways!!!

If you played Steem Monsters this morning, you may have noticed the Mana cap has been increased to 23. I had some fun combining higher level monsters to play with this cap. Although the black team has been my favorite, this time I was pulled to the blue splinter and the addictive pew pew of the spell power monsters.



22-23.JPG



This is the team I am playing today, full of spell power, and lots of fun. Be sure to comment if you have a favorite team for the 23 Mana Cap!

Until next time,

Happy Gaming- Sim Girl

More Posts by @simgirl

Steem Monsters is Live- How-to Play Steem Monsters!!!

Steem Monsters Day Two- How-to Play Steem Monsters

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

Just played my first game tonight. The first game i had too much manna chosen and my team ran away. The 2nd match in practice I won easily. I found out after the match to choose a good melee for #1 monster. I had unfortunately built my summoner up and he couldnt summon my good monsters lol.

Have no fav team yet for the 23m. Been finding healers have been working better😎 Good matches by the way. Think I had a different team almost every time lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! This was super helpful. I was wondering how leveling worked and it turns out I have a bunch of duplicate cards (both Alpha & Beta) that I can level! Awesome!

Thank you for contributing to the Gaming Community on Steemit. You have been given an upvote by @steemgg. For more inspiration, visit our platform Steemgg, the first html5 gaming platform built on the Steem blockchain.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Simgirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64