Want to rent: Steem Power (and some post HF19 advice to maximizing curation rewards)

in #steemmarket7 years ago (edited)

As I covered in my recent Curation Report, my strategy has been to curate with no regard for Voting Power. This is the best way to maximize influence and curation rewards. It seems like I'm one of the only ones actually doing this, and this gives me a massive competitive advantage over the rest of Steemit. As a result, my curation rewards have skyrocketed as my competitors go for tiny voting strengths, trying to maintain a high VP. Maybe they are saving it for a massive self-upvote, which would also be a good strategy.

My target was 10% but as it turns out, there's far too much good content from new and undiscovered authors nowadays, so I'm actually going for the 5% range. Yesterday, it dipped below 4%. (Clarification - this is my Voting Power. I vote with a 100% strength)

So, I'm in the market for renting Steem Power. I don't have any whale friends, so I'm not in a position to ask for a donation. Instead, I'm asking you to rent me your Steem Power. If you've been following my curation activities, you'll know this is for a good cause - discovering newcomers who create engaging content. I don't require minnows to follow me or pay me, I just dig for good content by engaged authors. Most of them don't know I exist, so I keep at it behind the scenes. This I believe is the best way to reach towards a meritocracy, though of course in my subjective opinion :) I also follow @alcibiades' votes, who in my opinion is the finest curator on Steemit.

Incidentally, this is also the best strategy for maximizing curation rewards, while many curators seem to pile on the votes for top authors and set up auto voting bots for them. Voting on popular authors is an instant way to kill all of your curation rewards. That also gives me a massive competitive edge.

I'm offering the equivalent of 1,500 Steem for a months's delegation of 100,000 SP. If you're wondering why I'm willing to pay such an absurd rate, it's because of the aforementioned competitive edge in curation rewards I enjoy. My goal is to move the entire community to discover the best way to curate, so eventually more engaged curators compete. But for now, I'm willing to make the most of it and reach out to as many promising newbies as possible.

I'm only renting in 20,000 SP chunks. The more the better. For generous whales out there, I'd also appreciate a donation. In return, I'll promise complete accountability of my votes. Feel free to follow my curation trail as well.

DM me @liberosist on Steemit.chat to discuss. Oh, I see that is down right now so you can also contact me on Discord @liberosist#1871.

PS: Seems to be some confusion, I seemed to have missed out on this detail. This involves delegating Steem Power to an account of my choice. At the end of our contract, you can undelegate. If you don't know how delegation is done, I'll guide you through it.

PPS: Reduced the minimum to 20K SP.

Update: I've updated my budget to 1,500 Steem per month to reflect both the unstable Steem price right and the reward pool balancing out. The first few days of HF19 were a bonanza, but things are starting to settle down.

Sort:  

At the moment I'm not thinking of renting, that may change in the future
However, I just popped in here to say that I would vouch for liberosist's curation and he's charging a fair rate
So if you can spare the SP, it's much better for the entire platform if you rent to him than to people who are just going to vote up themselves/friends/alts who are producing mediocre content

Thanks for the endorsement. Much appreciated :) You do a fine job curating as well, so wouldn't want to take away your SP.

@liberosist thanks for the post and the endorsement of @trafalgar goes a long way. I am a professional content creator together with my partner @adina.rivers.

We just joined and I am trying to learn all I can about the platform. This whole thing of curation and renting steem power sounds interesting. Can you recommend any post that breaks it down for someone new to the game?

Grumble grumble, I'm already renting to you for cheaper then that.
330 / 3 = 110 steem = 220 usd per day.

To be fair, when I paid you, the Steem price was $2.20. So it's pretty much the same rate. :)

Hmm yea, good point, it was a risk on what the price of Steem would do. I'm on discord if you want to chat.

It's a temporarily blip, Poloniex has had Steem disabled for the last 3-4 days. Usually when that happens, it follows with panic dumps. In fact, I'm surprised that the price has held up so well.

Sure, my Discord id is in the post.

Which network on you on? PAL or something else?

I don't even know what that means... Just on Discord. Chatting in the "Direct Messages" section.

Why not buy STEEM for US$7,500 and power down?

$7,500 will get me under 4,000 Steem instead for 100,000. Of course, that's not comparable because I only get it for 1 month, but maybe in 1 months' time there'll be massive growth, whales will start voting, other curators will start curating with higher strengths etc. Right now I know I have a competitive advantage, and I know it won't last very long. So I want to make the most of it. :)

..... In other words LOL

@liberosist you are a legend when it comes to curation. Your curation style will lead to the discovery of unpolished gems amongst the users. I sincerely hope that your renting of VP will benefit both yourself and the minnows that you voted.

I am getting what you saying but tbh i am new here and don't understand what that means. I just wanted to say thank you for helping us minnows and keep up with this practice.

Great work.

I've already bought* out neoxian :)

*rented

Love what you are doing! Keep it up Id donate some but I am doing something similar with minnowsupportproject.

When someone delegates SP to someone else, is there a record of the actual SP owner voting on those posts/comments? Is that easy to dig up? Just curious.

Yes, there's a record of it in the blockchain. On steemd.com there'll be a record of "@account1 delegate xx SP to @account2". But it's not so easy to dig up if the accounts make a lot of votes etc. Someone can easily make an app to show who is delegating to whom.

What, people curate based on their voting power and not just being natural? It's not like I don't believe this happens or doesn't happen or whatever, I am just surprised this is your starting line to your post as though that is what the normal is. Which I did not know and I just thought different. I am reading your post over to try and figure out what information I don't grasp, but it is too much lol

I don't really know if that's the norm Steem-wide, but curators with large SP holdings or delegations are certainly conserving VP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60