Little Teachers

in #steemmamas6 years ago (edited)

Kids really get a raw deal. Most people just assume they're ignorant because they don't speak properly, stumble often, and are confused by the confusing rules of the adult world. Then at the same time, they're expected to get everything right, keep their incredibly powerful emotions in check, be quiet for large chunks of time in the midst of such an amazing world, and all kinds of other crazy stuff like eat foods they don't like. Can you imagine treating a friend this way? And yet we love them so much. And despite how much amazing wisdom we believe we are showering them with about colors and numbers and letters, they teach us so much more. Fresh from the factory, I always say. They have a deep and perfect understanding of a lot of important things. If you've never asked a child about spiritual matters, I highly recommend it. They also understand love, why grass and mud are totally amazing, that angels are everywhere, and the perfect beauty of being read to. Now I'm not saying I've got this thing wired because I don't. I screw up often. I get caught up thinking I know so much more than they do, but I've been stopped in my tracks, and thankfully I do have enough sense to know when to shut up and listen.

image.jpeg

My oldest is 19, and my youngest is 4, so I have quite a spread, and after all these years, I have learned so many incredibly valuable lessons. When I saw this contest being put on by Steemmamas, I knew I had to take part. The question is What's the Best Thing a Child has Taught You. It was just a matter of picking a good one. The first that popped into my head is one from way back. I figure that's perfect because it's from the early years of mothering. My oldest was probably 5, maybe 6. I was still pretty idealistic. I was also still incredibly passionate about a whole host of things. I've always been pretty upfront and straight forward with my kids. I don't really bullshit them, and I make a really concerted effort to not talk down to them. It drives me batty when people talk to children like they're stupid or lesser beings. I'm not quite Captain Fantastic, but maybe I'm not that far off either, and sometimes I may perhaps give a bit too much info.

The oldest was born in 1998, so this must have been 2003 or 4. Smack dab in the middle of the Bush years. I don't want to talk politics in the comment section, but we will just say that I was not a big fan of that administration. Apparently I must have been pretty open about that and perhaps a tad vociferous in my opinions. So one day my sweet, gentle, peaceful little man came to me and said,

Mommy, I know it's not ok to kill people, but wouldn't it just be ok to kill Dick Cheney?

Oh lord, while mildly amused at the earnest innocence of his sweet voice and face contrasting with the darkness of what he'd said, I was mostly horrified. After about 3 seconds it was all horror. I immediately got down on my knees and grabbed his hands with tears in my eyes and said

Baby, no. It's never, ever ok to kill anyone, not even Dick Cheney. Violence is never the solution. It's not even ok to hit people.


Maybe this seems melodramatic, but this wasn't so long ago, and there are still places right now where children are soldiers because hate is so out of control

What did I learn? Well, I didn't stop talking about socio-political issues in front of my kids because I think it's important to discuss these things and how we would like the world to change, how we'd like things to look different. I did learn to soften my tone. The image of my sweet boy like a child soldier shook me deeply. Knowing that he had these ideas of hate in his sweet heart forced me to look at the venom I had apparently been spewing. This was the child that merely looked saddened and shocked when hit or bitten by another child. He almost never hit back. He was always kind and soft with other children and animals. He was always polite and helpful. He was also sharp as a tack, and he never missed a word that anyone said, so I knew I needed to tone it down. When I felt the fire rising, I trained myself to remember that every human, no matter how dark, was once a baby in his mother's arms. No one is born evil. Yes we want change. Yes we'd love certain people out of power (or all people), but hatred is a vile and disgusting thing. Wishing another human to die poisons your soul far more than it does theirs. As I caught myself, I would share the thought process with him so he could learn with me. So while I mostly shifted my narrative for his sake, I really learned an incredibly important lesson about the poison of hate and the humanity of everyone.

image.jpeg
He turned out really well in case you were wondering. Still that sweet face!

Glad I chose this particular lesson because I think it's one we could all stand to hear right now. I certainly don't want to minimize the magnitude of the changes needed to save our species from self destruction in one form or another. I don't want to minimize the horrible experiences of marginalized people right now, including children, and I don't want to squash anyone's right to be angry, but I do think it's good to realize that no one ended up with darkness in their hearts for no reason.

I have just hopped on STEEMmamas, and I hope you'll head over to their discord to check it out. I don't have a lot of experience with it yet, but the idea of creating a gathering place for mamas is always a good one.

I'm also a passenger on the @ecoTrain, where our mission is to support people making the world a better place, and a member of @teamgirlpowa, whose mission is to support feminism, all who identify as women, and all marginalized groups.

All pics are mine or pixabay.

Sort:  

This is a great post! My 13 year old is my guru. Unreservedly, even on our "suboptimal days". Actually, usually on those days I learn the most from her. I have just started on discord so when I find my feet a little more, I will check out STEEMmamas.

They're really amazing. They understand so much and at such a deep level. I resisted discord for a long time, and even now I try to keep it to a dull roar. It's so easy for it to eat all your time. Do check out steemmamas. There's a growing crew of parents of older children.

Thank you so much for sharing this and I feel you picked a great one! I am ever learning, it was like communication collage with my partner. Our different languages and tones were my greatest challenge in our romantic full on jump into 24/7 love together! However now we have our young master running around it's like university lol! I'm a happy and willing student to both my teachers.

There are so many lessons and learnings, it's certainly hard to think of one myself right on the spot. Perhaps the simple one I got this morning from Kai my 1yr old mentor is it's time to GET UP AND GET OFF MY PHONE LOL!

I thought he was busy playing with his toys and I was up late last night working on discord. So this morning I sleepily reached for my phone and figured yeh I'll just go through my notifications a bit and enjoy a lay in bed mwahahaha yeah right!

In seconds after noticing me he came over and started bouncing his botty on my head. I pushed him off a couple times and he just got back on with more vigor. Then I caught myself LOL! Time to get up, he can't squish my head if I'm up and I shouldn't be on my phone right away anyways lol. Aaah thanks little man, you got me in check that's for sure lol!! 🌞

They are masters of willingness. Always ready for the next game. Always willing to make sure you know that the things you do are BORING! Thanks for stopping by with an awesome comment. Sounds like you have a master teacher on your hands.

Always enjoy your posts @solarsupermama! Thank you :)

Thank you too, @kenistyles. Appreciate your ongoing support!!

Yes, that is a wonderful lesson that we all need to remember. 💕

Without a doubt. I'm past ready to be done with the violence.

This is a great lesson! A few days ago, I read a post about channeling hate into productive action, and I wrote a comment about my own reaction to the GWBush administration. While I disagreed with the politics of the president and his cabinet, I made a conscious decision at the time not to say that I hated the people when what I really meant was I was frustrated or afraid, or I simply disagreed with them. I know it is the fashion to be hyperbolic and wish death on political opponents, but that's not really my style: even a person I dislike is still a person, with worth and dignity and a right to exist. I'm not perfect either, and I've certainly slipped up, but the intention is there, and I think it's made me a better person. I'm glad you were able to be mindful about it too, and teach your kids a more humanitarian way.

Absolutely. I just don't think we make real change when we're adding more hate to the mix.

That same son from the story is now rather fond of quoting one of the founders of the black panthers. I'm paraphrasing here,
If there is a fault of the radical left it is that we are motivated by our hatred of the oppressor rather than our love for the oppressed.

That’s a great quote. Your son sounds like a fine person. :)

He's an absolute gem.

Such a beautiful and strong lesson! It's true that society has grown so fearful that if we're not mindful of our thoughts and words we could easily be conditioned to resort to hate and violence. Yes, children are spiritually and emotionally sensitive, they absorb life like a sponge. I would try my best to remind myself and my husband to be mindful of our words, emotions and actions from time to time because whatever our little ones inherit starts from home. Thanks for sharing your heart @solarsupermama!

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Children are incredibly sensitive. They're never born with hate in their hearts, but it can certainly be taught.

What a touching story! Kids really are great teacher... if we can sit can and be open to the experience! I sometimes find myself too high strung or trying to rush from A to B. What you mentioned about holding our children to such high constraints or expectations hit the nail on the head for me. They're little - they're supposed to make mistakes. After all, that's how we learn right?! This was a great reminder to take it easier and appreciate the moments more!

I'm so glad. It was helpful for you. We all get caught up in our routines, and it's also important to not be too hard on ourselves. Of course we want to be gentle with our kids, but being gentle with ourselves is important and also good modeling so our kids will learn to be gentle with themselves too. That said, I'd certainly love to see a shift in what our larger culture expects from children.

Beautifully said. I know I'm often much too hard on myself and I see that in my son as well. Thank you for the reminder!

The inner critic is often terribly harsh. Mine is constantly yammering about one thing or another.

haha, I hear you! It's so difficult sometimes to quiet the inner critic! Lately I've been throwing on some headphones and listening to a podcast. Hearing someone else talk helps me stop wasting time I'll never get back and learn some new things instead! Love what you're doing with solar! When we get our home that will be a priority for us!

There's definitely a ton of uplifting stuff out there to listen to. That's a really good idea.

That's awesome you're interested in solar. It's such a wonderful option. Our network of providers is in the US, Canada, and Australia, so if you're in any of those places, I'd be happy to help you.

I love what your eldest had taught you and how you being tactful while talking about politics before him but still expose him to it. I think that is real parenting instead of setting taboos in your relationship.

What a great lesson he has reminded us about how easily hate can take root and be destructive. Great sharing @solarsupermama! :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed it. It was an incredibly important lesson for me. Compassion is world changing stuff. It's a delicate line to be an activist but not spend your life angry. It's incredibly important to me to be open and honest with them.

So amazing post. Thank you anyway @solarsupermama (¯`♥´¯)

Thank you anyway too.

Wow, such a powerful lesson again! You keep amazing me @solarsupermama. I share your vision that we can't look on kids as they do not know anything. They know a lot and truly can teach us incredible lessons!

Image Source

They are very wise, and they are incredibly spiritually tuned. I'm going to do an article about that soon.

I look forward to read it!<3

So sad about the child soldiers. Beautiful post.

Thank you. Yes, it is sad. Hate being passed generation to generation is really, really sad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97