You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Little Teachers

This is a great lesson! A few days ago, I read a post about channeling hate into productive action, and I wrote a comment about my own reaction to the GWBush administration. While I disagreed with the politics of the president and his cabinet, I made a conscious decision at the time not to say that I hated the people when what I really meant was I was frustrated or afraid, or I simply disagreed with them. I know it is the fashion to be hyperbolic and wish death on political opponents, but that's not really my style: even a person I dislike is still a person, with worth and dignity and a right to exist. I'm not perfect either, and I've certainly slipped up, but the intention is there, and I think it's made me a better person. I'm glad you were able to be mindful about it too, and teach your kids a more humanitarian way.

Sort:  

Absolutely. I just don't think we make real change when we're adding more hate to the mix.

That same son from the story is now rather fond of quoting one of the founders of the black panthers. I'm paraphrasing here,
If there is a fault of the radical left it is that we are motivated by our hatred of the oppressor rather than our love for the oppressed.

That’s a great quote. Your son sounds like a fine person. :)

He's an absolute gem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61164.79
ETH 2416.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63