DIY project, Discada

in #steemmakers6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180610_153446.jpg

Just finished a cool welding project with my uncle. He has a bunch of scrap metal he makes art work out of. Metal bugs, hearts and such. I saw he had some old disc plows and I asked him if he could help me build a Mexican Discada (just Discada if you are in Mexico) also known as a Mexican wok if you want to be Politico-incorrectimus.

20180623_080426-COLLAGE.jpg

First I took a grinder to get rid of the rust. Returning the disc to it's original shinny look.

20180623_090205-COLLAGE.jpg

After grinding the disc, my uncle welded a piece of metal to close up the center square hole. We used horse shoes for the handles. Then I grinded the disc some more to get rid of any blemishes.

20180317_193758-ANIMATION.gif
Stop looking at the light! It's bad for your eyes
20180623_083541-COLLAGE.jpg

My uncle brought out the big grinder and showed me how to grind the weld in the center down smooth.

IMG_20180609_223932.jpg

We decided to try some legs for the Discada, this would bring the Discada up off the flames when it's place over the fire. This made the Discada really heavy so I will see how it goes and decide if I want to keep the legs.

IMG_20180610_153458.jpg

Now all I need to do is test it out. Stay tuned for pictures of the Discada cookout! Comment below if you have any recommendations.

Thanks for reading.
alaqrab.png

Sort:  
Congratulations This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community-based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible.

Join our Discord Channel to connect with us and nominate your own or somebody else's posts in our review channel.

Help us to reward you for making it ! Join our voting trail or delegate steem power to the community account.

Your post is also presented on the community website www.steemmakers.com where you can find other selected content.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

So freaking cool! I’m not allowed to weld in the house, lol. Very cool wok, if you hadn’t explained that I would have thought it was a bird bath.

Haha. This was my uncle's garage not that it's any safer. His garage is much nicer than my house.
Thanks for letting me know, I should have explained that a little bit more. Next time. But it will be a birdbath for chickens lol. Dead ones.

LOL yummy! Share when you do! Would like to know how it turns out, and share the recipe! 😊

looks like you did a great job with your uncle @alaqrab. i hope your first meal cooked with it goes well. 😊

Thanks. Next time I go camping I am going to try it out.

The legs...
so over it!

Should I get rid of them? I originally thought of just putting the disc directly on the fire.

They are so massive, adding a lot of weight, but also a fun aspect. Depends on what you have lying around. Would put it directly on the fire. Keeping it above spreads the heat better.

Sweet work bro

Well done @alaqrab! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Germany vs Sweden
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Well done @alaqrab! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Senegal vs Columbia
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58