Steemlight Issue 1.0 - The Funny Guys

in #steemlight7 years ago

Steemlight Cover 1-0.jpg

The Steemzine that highlights new and undervalued users is back! Spotlight, now re-branded as; Steemlight, we're here to help you curate, and discover new Steemians. This week, we're going to look at 5 new kids on the block, with great senses of humour, and equally awesome styles.

We'll look at those guys in a second, first...

A Little History

For those of you that don't know, Spotlight was a steemzine that ran for 9 issues, origianlly started by @donkeypong, as a way of encouraging new users that were going unnoticed, to keep producing content for Steemit.

It also doubled up as a curation tool, as it was a good way for people with a lot of SP and not so much time, to vote on good content, and that had already been checked for plagiarism and verified as original.

I personally had started a zine called Heroes Of Steem, which basically had the same goal, as I felt bad when I came across posts that had little or no votes, but were in my view, excellent.

@donkeypong contacted me over chat, and asked if I would like to take on Spotlight, as he felt that our aims were very much aligned. So from Issue five I took up the mantle and released four more editions.

With the advent of Curie, and other curation projects like it, I felt that the Spotlight had lost some of its relevancy, and indeed I joined Curie to become a curator.

Now more than ever, I feel with so many new users having joined Steemit in the last couple of months, that it was the right time to bring back a much loved, and needed curation tool. This is a perfect time to celebrate the new; along with some old Steemians who might need a bit of a boost, as they all deserve their time in the Steemlight.

I have kept it down to five Steemians, as I believe this makes it easier to browse, and more likely that you will actually read the great posts that these guys have put their hearts and souls into.

So without further ado, let's carry on with issue 10 of the all new; Steemlight - The Funny Guys!


Steemlight cathedral crop filler.jpg


Faust

OK, I'm going to kick of issue 10 with someone I have seen very recently, I love people who can make me laugh (don't we all?) and so @lpfaust goes to the top of my list with his wonderfully satirical post:

Why you should ALWAYS Use Superlatives When Creating Clickbait about Belly Button Lint

Faust Belly button girl-380rz.jpg

As I mentioned above, I like this post because it made me laugh, and I like this writer because of his general style. A quick look will see an eclectic collection of posts, all written with a great storytelling style.

Whilst @lpfaust isn't a new user, they are someone who hasn't posted a lot, and someone who we here at the Steemit Spotlight, is still a bit undervalued.



Steemlight cathedral crop filler.jpg


Marxus O'Rlyius

"Yes, I'm a dirty commie but don't mistake that for me being a supporter of failed ideas."

I first came across Marxus after he resteemed one of my posts, I checked him out and he had just posted something similar (highlighted below), which blew me away!

I love this new Steemian, mainly because I feel he will challenge me intellectually and philosophically. Whilst I myself try and stay politically independent, eschewing views from both the right and left of the political spectrum. I know that there are a lot of Libetarians, and Anarcho-Capitalists on Steemit.

Whilst there is nothing wrong with that, I feel that it is good to have a balancing opposing point of view, and the self-styled, "dirty commie", I feel @marcusorlyius, will go someway to addressing that balance and I can't wait to read more of him.

Highlighted Post: You've just successfully uploaded your mind. What are your plans for your future?

Marcusorlyius future image post-380rz.jpg



Steemlight cathedral crop filler.jpg


lilrut

In my mind, this brand new Steemian who joined last month, is still finding his Steemit feet, and if you go to his blog, you will see an eclectic bunch of posts.

However I know there is bags of potential there; how? Well I went and visited his Oldguygames.com blog, which he links in his profile, and I must say, I was very impressed. Really great writing and a lovely style, which I hope he will bring to Steemit.

Highlighted Post: Earning Money With Curation: Identifying Undervalued Work

Lilrut Hall Of Portals image-rz380.jpg



Steemlight cathedral crop filler.jpg


lewisjfclarke

lewisjf bristol post-rz380.jpg

Woah! Are you in for a treat when you visit the blog of @lewisjfclarke! He is one of those writers that absolutely delights me, whilst at the same time elevating me.

His writing flow is dynamic, hypnotic, and engaging, he literally makes me think I can't write. Seriously, I read his Trip To Europe blog and somehow managed to laugh my head off, whilst dying of jealousy at his amazing style.

He too has an off-Steemit blog, and has published a lot of his Steem content there previously. However that does not matter one bit, if he wasn't here right now, I would probably never have found him, so boy oh boy, I'm glad that he is!

You are in for one hell of a ride, and writing this now, reminds me of the fact that I need to sit down when I have an hour or so, and go through as many of his posts as I can.

Long may this Steemian post and prosper!

Highlighted Post: Europe trip! Part 4: Bristol, cousinly bonding and somerset ciders



Steemlight cathedral crop filler.jpg


Waynevan

Last, but definitely not least, we have @waynevan, simply known as Wayne. I really think this type of Steemian is undervalued in general, Wayne brings a nice light hearted, and social feel to Steemit, this is typified in his recent post:

Does anyone have a good blog that they would like me to resteem?

Wayne enjoys curating outside Steemit and reposting, which I feel has been routinely undervalued on this platform. People like @contentjunkie, in my mind should be valued higher, simply because all other social media, shares content.

Whilst original content is great, I think that Steemit sometimes misses a trick. The internet is a big place, and if you're really into Steemit, you invariably end up spending a lot of time on here. So it's nice that somebody else is scouring the rest of the internet, and curating content for you, especially when they add their own opinions along the way.

Highlighted Post: Woman jailed for Dressing up as a Guy. Sad story

Wayne gayle newland pic-rz380.jpg



Steemlight cathedral crop filler.jpg


OK, that's it for Issue 1.0 of Steemlight; let's hear it for the funny guys!

I have been talking to a lot of new users, and checking out their content, I have seen new users who haven't written enough yet who show promise, like @storcogato, whom I'm expecting big things from!

So if you're not here, it is because I'm saving you for later issues!

Keep Steemin!

WHAT TYPE OF CONTENT DO YOU LIKE TO SEE? WHO IS YOUR FAVOURITE STEEMIAN EITHER OLD OR NEW? AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Cryptogee



Sort:  

ok, I have literally never come across any of these people, thank you for bringing them to my attention! One of my favs to add to the list is @rebeccaryan who writes about food, nature, cannabis, healing, but it's really her storytelling and wit that keep me checking her blog daily. As always, great post @cryptogee

Thank you for your kind words of support @natureofbeing!
It strengthens my motivation to keep on steeming and sharing content. I am so thankful for the friendships that I have made. I count you among the rarer gems that I have found along my journey here.
I am humbled.
Much love to you and your family @natureofbeing.

thank you!

Well done post You deserve for getting Upvote from me. I appreciate on it and like it so much . Waiting for your latest post. Keep your good work and steeming on. Let's walk to my blog. I have a latest post. Your upvote is high motivation for me. Almost all Steemians do their best on this site. Keep steeming and earning.

This comment has received a 0.08 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Now this blog is awesome haha. Big Thank you for the mention and helping us guys out :) I will be sure to check everyone else mentioned here. Thanks bud you made me feel part of steemit by doing this for us. Good man and much love <3 I will keep them coming for sure.

Good stuff man! Long may it continue :-)

Cg

following all of them. and of course you! :)

Awesome!! I will be checking all these guys out!

It is so nice of you to help support and highlight users. Sometimes it is easy to get lost in the "sea of steem" lol

I love posting my acrobatic content.
I feel like it has been adding the the wonderful and diverse Steemit community.
:)

@cryptogee thank for the mention. I appreciate it.

I would have to say of all the descriptions about my blog and writing style, this is probably the best description I've come across.

The satire piece you featured here was intended as a one off, but after the positive reception, there will be more satire on the way. Gotta give the crowd what it demands, after all.

Upvoted.

Definitely, and I must say I've read your other posts and just love your style. So even if you don't produce more satire, I'll still be reading :-)

Cg

I just realized you forgot to optimize this post with the #life and #steemit tags.

Just remember - it's all about condiments, man.

I hope this post made you smile like me :)

Thanks a bunch, man. I agree that my posts are a little random. I should have my bearings in another week or two. Just trying to find out what people respond to.

Cheers!

I'm sure you'll find your way :-)

Cg

Thank you so much for your kind words, and making me aware of other comedy writers on here. I am now following all of them thanks to you. Whenever I'm next feeling down I'll just go back to this blog and consider myself lucky that people see in me what perhaps I never really saw in myself...

Oh, and a final thank you to @Kenistyles for introducing me to the Steemit community. I'm not regretting it one bit...

very nice :) follow me and upvote my posts i'll do same :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59181.56
ETH 2521.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47