Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 Weeks - Week #2

in #steemitultimatechallenge6 years ago (edited)
Whoa! I am so glad @dobartim is hosting this Steemit Ultimate Communication Challenge about how Steemit Changed my life. First because I already planned to blog about how Steemit has helped my personal life this week and second because I stand to win a reward for posting it. Awesome!
Discovering an awesome platform like Steemit should be one of the greatest highlights of my life. Its an amazing community of communities that has brought an all round improvement in all aspects of my life. My Life story on wards cannot be complete without mentioning Steemit.


Follow me through my Success Story - Powered by Steemit!

Life communications


Early 2017, Several months before I joined Steemit My marriage collapsed. Months of devastation, pain, sleepless nights and depression that seemed to have no end followed. Every night I lay awake praying He calls me (It was a Long distance relationship) I literally did not sleep for a week at a stretch. I could feel my body cells dying, I could feel the walls of my chest getting tighter. Every week I fell ill and helpless like a vegetable (all as a result of my psychological state of mind) and my mother had to take care of me for several months with so much pain in her watching her daughter's health deteriorate. Even when I am not ill, I refused to talk to anyone or even go out or anywhere. I lived in my room like a pig, at times I could go days without even having a bath because I was waiting, waiting for that phone call to tell me it was all a joke. Then one night something changed my life. I overheard my mother praying to God about me in pain and tears (my room is next to her's), I was really pained that I could cause so much pain to her. I decided to stop crying or showing any weakness so she will be happy, I wanted to do anything to make her happy again, so I took her advice which she kept telling me about - Go out, meet friends and just move about.
The next day, I got up, had my bath, ate and thought of where to go (I only wanted to see someone who won't feel pity or judge me at the moment) then I remembered my boss @bimbonet (worked with him during my NYSC programme- A compulsory service program for Nigerian graduates) turned friend. When I got to his office, he knew everything was not alright with me so I told him about the collapsed marriage. He just gave me an advice to move on and leave all my worries to God for I cannot solve anything by worries. I got up to leave and he then said "Have you heard of Steemit?" I said "What is Steemit?" He said "It's a platform where you earn for blogging" "Really?!" I screamed as I started googling the word Steemit. You see he knew that my worries and pain were partly financial. You see I was a student struggling to pay for my project works and I also desired to try out acupuncture therapy for hormonal corrections (which Mr. X said was part of his reasons for quitting on the marriage) and acupuncture sessions are quite expensive in Nigeria. Up till date I thank God I took that step out of the house because Steemit found me! On Steemit I started making friends who are so awesome and encouraged me in all ways both offline and online. I met @oluwoleolaide who got me into the @steem-lagos team, @lucashunter, @sweeetestglo-eu and @maryfavour cheer-leading and encouraging me on especially in my educational pursuit as I almost gave up. In fact the entire team of @steem-lagos have been so loving and awesome to me just like a family! Another awesome family I found on Steemit that has helped me stay positive and happy is the @air-clinic family. At the Air-clinic discord channel I was able to discover that I can actually get over depression from our daily talk shows and discussions, Gradually getting over depression I started blogging on steps I took to overcome depression and reclaiming happiness and got positive reviews from the @air-clinic family that boosted my self confidence as seen here and here. These platforms on Steemit helped me discover how to channel all the past hurts to a good blogging niche that could actually be informative, entertaining and refreshing to my blog followers, I started blogging about fertility and my acupuncture therapy ( see a post example here) which I started this January thanks to Steemit proceeds! (P.S : Hopefully I win this week's contest I will use the reward to complete my Acupuncture therapy payments, this would help me continue my blogging niche on acupuncture therapy.) See Me glow up in my before and after Steemit pictures below. Truly My cells and body system got better being happy here.
My before Steemit look - When I went to see @bimbonet.

My After Steemit look.

I stepped Out - Steemit found me!

I can go on and on about the goodness of Steemit in my life but for the sake of subtopics I would continue below.

Financial communications


Before I joined Steemit, I never heard of the word Cryptocurrency . I started asking for help as seen in this post and thanks to @greenrun who introduced me to other communities where I discovered the world of Steemians who I follow, read and still reading a lot of their blogs here to understand better about Cryptocurrencies and Steemit. I also got to invest and buy some coins early this year using proceeds from Steemit.
Steemit also made me a Philanthropist I guess in a sort of way, hehehe. Last Christmas season a friend I met on Steemit @adoore-eu lost her password to her Steemit account @adore-eu and I really felt her pain. So I gave a little token from my heart to help her cushion the loss. I also got to give to the motherless children in an orphanage home all thanks to @steem-lagos for giving me that opportunity to do that for I have never done that before Steemit.

Today giving is my lifestyle as I look at the world with a better perspective now.

Business communications


Another good thing happened to me this month. I made a blog post about teaching pattern draft (as I am also a dressmaker) months ago which I shared the link to the blog post on my Whatsapp Status and unknown to me a friend of a friend got to read it and called me up this month for an interview for a job as a pattern draft teacher which went successfully and I would start working next month. You see before Steemit and during my depression episodes I stopped making dresses and lost interest in anything, but Steemit helped me get over depression and even got me a job in my area of passion. What an amazing platform!

"There is no passion to be found playing small--in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living."
-Nelson Mandela

Beside getting a job in my line of passion, I also discovered how rewarding Steemit can be for investors while reading blog posts about Steemit here, So I succeeded in persuading my Boss turned friend @bimbonet to buy some steem and delegate steem power to me to help support my brother's small but growing steemit community with upvotes as they are newbies who look up to me for support. I thought to myself What a wonderful thing this could be to help get funds or investors to buy into my idea. Right now am fine tuning my persuasive power in proposal writing skills to get investors on board to support this idea of mine. Wish me well here!

When there is a will, there is a way.

Education communications


Like I mentioned before I was so depressed that I stopped going to school, I could not even get myself to go out and had lots of bills to pay for my project work. The more I wanted to give up the more inspirational words I got from my Steemit friends here and that pushed me to get up and give it the final push, I resumed my project work and was able to pay my bills from my first Steemit cash out and had my Project Defence in December. Thanks to my steemit friends especially @sweetestglo-eu for your support



For everyone looking to have motivational and inspiring story like mine, something kept me going - Steemit and this random quote I got from a friend's status.

This overall Steemit goodness made me a better, happier, loving and lovable person.
Now my Mum is so happy about my life improvements and would love to join Steemit soon.


Don't forget to share your success story by joining this contest organized by @dobartim , your story might encourage a steemian.
Thanks to @aidasfg7 @flysky @dobartim for Supporting this contest.
You dear reader can also support this contest by donating to this cause as organised by @dobartim here is a link to the contest below.
https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@dobartim/steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-prize-fund-2000-sbd-week-2-registration-is-in-progress


Emoji Image Source

Sort:  

Hey @cwen,
we are glad that you mentioned us in your success story.
It shows that we are touching lives for real with what we do.
Thank God you are fine now.
Keep doing good!
Cheers!

Thanks much @air-clinic . You guys are the bestest mehn!

Congratulations on defeating the darkness. Here is wishing you more happiness and fulfilment ahead. Peace.

Thanks so much @greenrun

Another good thing happened to me this month. I made a blog post about teaching pattern draft (as I am also a dressmaker) months ago which I shared the link to the blog post on my Whatsapp Status and unknown to me a friend of a friend got to read it and called me up this month for an interview for a job as a pattern draft teacher which went successfully and I would start working next month.

Now this is really awesome!!!
Very inspiring quotes from Mandela

Wow. I don't think I've ever read anything on your blog. I see you, I follow you, I tell myself I'll visit your blog and eventually I did this night and I'm glad I did.

First of all, let me start by saying your before and after pictures were both beautiful. Second of all, your post was really inspirin. I'm glad you're over that depressing stage of your life. I'm sure it made you stronger since you didn't die from the experience (what doesn't kill you makes you stronger) and finally, I hope you'll win the contest. Steem on sis.

Thanks so so much dear. You all here made me stronger. I am grateful for this awesome community.

Yes MSc noe bi beans

Congrats dear

Yes o! Thanks so much dear.

Inspiring. It's always good to hang in there till it works out. Congrats

Thanks so much for having people like you on Steemit who make it possible to Hang in there

Jesus..... You are strong oh.... Lord..... God gave you the strength of a fighter..... Thank you for sharing. It is inspiring.

Thanks so much dear. I am glad to know my story is inspiring. Thanks to you all - My Steemit family.

"So I succeeded in persuading my Boss turned friend @bimbonet to buy some steem and delegate steem power to me to help support my brother's small but growing steemit community with upvotes as they are newbies who look up to me for support. " <--- wow, that's awesome! Good for you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26