100 Days of Poetry Challenge Update [Day 7]

in #steemitschool6 years ago (edited)

100 Days of Poetry Challenge
-----Update [Day 7]-----

Winners of Day 4 Announced!


day 7 update .jpg


strip3.jpgstrip2.jpg


Introduction

Hello. Welcome to the daily update for our 100 day poetry journey. Day 7 will begin as of 6 PM GMT. Our live poetry class in the Steemit School Discord will begin at the same time and last for two hours, and all interested in learning more about poetry are welcome to attend, not just participants in the challenge.


day 7 update  3.jpgday 7 update  2.jpg


Changes to challenge operation & reminders

Skip days over the course of the challenge is now increased from 7 to 10. HOWEVER, there is a maximum of 2 skip days in a row. 3 skips in a row will result in a disqualification. The main reason is that it destroys the "perpetual motion" this challenge is designed to foster. If you have an emergency, or some extenuating circumstance, please contact me directly.

Keep in mind that anyone can join this journey and attend classes, but to be eligible for the daily, weekly, and overall awards, you must follow the guidelines and produce at least 90 pieces of poetry over the 100 days. Also, it is okay if you are extra busy to get ahead and prepare a couple of posts, but please do not just prepare lots of poems and then rest for several days. The idea is to practice writing poetry every single day!

We are working on granting permission specifically each user in their respective categories of the discord (Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced.) What we need from each of you is to DM @d4rk on Discord letting us know what your Steemit username is, what category you are in, and we will get it sorted out. It should be fully resolved by the end of Day 7. As soon as you send us this information we will get it fixed!


strip5.jpgstrip4.jpg


Winners


Day 4 winners are announced! Because of how the challenge is designed, there will be a delay in announcing winners for a few days. Thanks for all your excellent poems!

Day 4

Beginner — @whack.science

"Food for soul"

Intermediate — @sansoncarrasco

"Set sail, foreman"

Advanced — @yahialababidi

"The Day You Lose Your Fear"

Nice job and congratulations! I will send them each 3 SBD as soon as I publish this post.


day 7 update  5.jpgday 7 update  4.jpg


Class recap

Yesterday, we discussed a staple device in poetry: that of repetition. Specifically, we looked at "The Hollow Men" by T.S. Eliot and "Because I could not stop for death" by Emily Dickinson, as well as an excellent poem by Steemian @geekorner called "And Also The Moon." We also touched on "leaving breadcrumbs through one's pieces," that is, intentionally referring back to older works with certain motifs & phrases. After that, we had a lot of open time to read each other's poetry to the class, which was great, and something we will do each day. Keep in mind that all daily winners are invited to read their pieces in our live class any day that they can manage to attend!

Today, I want to discuss another very central aspect of poetry and all art: Expectations (setting them, breaking them.) Soon after this article is published our class will begin so please join if you are able! We will be going from 6PM to 8PM GMT. I haven't managed to get any of these recordings of class posted yet, but I am still working on it :-)


strip7.jpgstrip6.jpg


Workshops

No workshops are currently announced. If you are interested in holding one in the future, please let me know! First week will be quite hectic but after things settle down a bit we will have many opportunities for holding events.


day 7 update  7.jpgday 7 update  6.jpg


Thank you for your entries!

As always, I'm so appreciative of all of your consistent hard work on your daily poetry. Keep it up! We grow together! :-D


strip9.jpgstrip8.jpg


Thank you for your donations!

1.@carmalain7 (11.11 SBD)
2.@madushanka (10 SBD)
3.@taliakerch (5 SBD)
4.@moeknows (5.44 SBD)
5.@violetmed (5 SBD)
6.@josediccus (5 STEEM)
7.@whack.science (3.14 SBD)
8.@johnrenald (1 SBD)
9.@nicholas83 (1 SBD)
10.@flysky (1 SBD)
11.@mineopoly (1 STEEM)
12.@emekasegun (0.2 SBD)
13.@setiagunawan (0.1 SBD)
14.@nasrol (0.1 SBD)

Donations go towards the 2000 SBD total prizes for this challenge. They are highly appreciated because otherwise, the rewards are coming directly from my own earnings/savings (which I am more than willing to do!) To donate, you can send to our dedicated account @steemitpoetry, or directly to me, @d-pend. I am keeping track of them all in a spreadsheet. Please let me know if you feel your donation was somehow missed. Thanks again!!


day 7 update  9.jpgday 7 update  8.jpg


negativestarpad.jpg


starpad 2.jpgstarpad 3.jpg


Writing & images
By @d-pend
3/13/18

Join the Steemit school
Discord here: https://discord.gg/yZvYjfM
Become part of the movement!


negativestarpad 3.jpgnegativestarpad 2.jpg


starpad.jpg


Sort:  

Thank you, @d-pend for dreaming this up & making it happen! Congratulations to the other winners! Quietly giddy getting offline after attending my first poetry session — humbling and exhilarating stuff 🙇🏻‍♂️ Nice to know you & your art better, @whack.science & @carmalain7 (your passion and commitment are evident) & thanks, again, @dobartin for school & sharing your work✌🏼

<3 thanks for coming and congrats on winning day4... See you in the class :) and glad to know you better and hope one day to hear Egyptian language :)

Peace!

Oh you made my day maaan!!! Thanks for the opportunity and the support to all people!

It is good you wrote this so anyone, like me, can check what we talked about and read it again and soak everything we can... GJ

Onward to the edge!

Great job, bud, and glad we got to hear the Croatian version as well! Glad those notes were helpful! I'll keep on including them. At least, when I remember, lol.

Thanks! I don't want to put pressure on you, just if you remember and you have time, which you don't haha, include them... See you in our next class...

Hey Daniel! Thanks for running yesterday's lesson, and for the shout-out today. BTW, I didn't mention it yesterday because I doubt it was of much interest to the class at large, but this poem by Dickinson was part of the first group of poetry in English a friend sent me when I was about 14, to go over. I've always loved this poem a lot.

And thank you for the mention as well :) I wish I could've made it to today's lesson, but today and tomorrow I'm getting home from work just before the lesson starts and then have to nap for ~3 hours lest I grow delirious and angry. Not really, but I just get very tired and must nap to ward off the migraines.

Looking forward to tuning in again on Thursday!

I'm humbled and honored by this mention and I thank @d-pend and all voluntary curators and donors that have made this great contest possible.

Thank you all.

I can’t afford to miss The class @ steemitschool discord channel.. keep making positive impact in people’s live! Your contest is the best the steemit perform ever had so far! You are up for greatness!!!

Thanks so much for being involved @segunreus and for being a beacon of constructiveness & enthusiasm in our school and in your community!

They are amazing poems anyway, seems there's a whole new thrill and excitement as it goes on I Have been having exams, and thus I've missed a lot, now I seem lost Hshahaha,

It's thriving a lot sir I see,

Hello,

I've been trying to donate since I joined the server and nobody has replied. To whom shall I send my SBD?

Previously I had people send directly to me, which is still fine. Alternatively, you can now send to our dedicated account @steemitpoetry. I'm keeping track of all donations in a spreadsheet. Sorry that thus far you received no response. Thanks for all your great entries so far :-)

Edit: added this information to the donations section. Thanks @moeknows. I am always bound to forget some type of important information!

Sweet. No problem. I know you've been busy and so has the server. I'll send to you.

Thank you very much @moeknows.

Well first of all congratulations to all the Winners, who wrote some finest poems with awesome themes, Great!

Thanks a lot @d-pend for organizing this skill enhancing educational contest of poetry, love you <3

This is awesome so great to see that the steemit school is growing and that so many people do care

Congratulations to the women, well done @d-pend, you're doing a great job here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23