Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #28- "rice burger" [1.74 SBD raised so far this week to plant more trees. Thank you all upvoters]

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

 


One juicy quarter pound burger, wrapped in ginger-garlic sauce and encased with two slices of rice cake. 

The home made rice cake or bread substitute was taken directly out of  @steemit-foodie  play book. I would like to thank you for giving me the inspiration on this one. It took a few trial and errors, but got there in the end. It was just staring me in the face.

Too all sandwich makers out there. Go check out this contest: Steemit sandwich contest week 28 

Big shout out goes to @jaybird for organizing this contest. 

I used the following to make this sandwich-

Bread:


  • Rice
  • Water
  • Salt

Filler:


  • Home made quarter lb burger
  • Bacon
  • Lettuce
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Ginger
  • Chili 
  • Soya Sauce
  • Honey
  • Corn Flour 
  • Water



Sautee the onions until browned. You want to release as much of the sugar as possible. Once you are satisfied with your onion caramel. Throw in some finely chopped chili, garlic and ginger. Cook for a few minutes, just enough to reduce the bitterness of the garlic and ginger. Do not forget to sprinkle on a dash of salt and pepper.




Once you have mastered the art of cooking and pressing rice as such:



Carefully place your sauteed mix on top of a whole piece of lettuce. This is a must to initially prevent juices affecting the rice. 



In the same pan as you sauteed with. Cook your burger to your preference. I prefer mine as raw rare as possible.



This is like the third attempt on this burger. Could be a rule one week. No actual bread allowed to make a sandwich. 



Once your burger is out the pan, quickly make a sauce with all the left over juices. Pour over your rice burger. 


This actually tasted pretty dam good and was a full meal!


Hey everyone. I hope you liked this sandwich. I would like  share another post where I plant trees with your upvotes. I do this once a  week:  Six trees planted since the 1st of February.

Update:   1.74 SBD has been raised so far this week. More is being raised to plant trees in Northern Peru.

My most recent post about tree planting with your upvotes: I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it.  

 

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer

Sort:  

I am thrilled to try the sauce you made for your sandwich!
My mouth is watering!

That sauce looks so juicy, I thought it was some kind of gravy before I read the post...

How did you use the corn flour ?

@andreipopa I mix some corn flour with some water first. Beat out the lumps and the pour the liquid into the pan when everything is cook. It will mix with the juices and make a great sauce.

Interesting trick, I did not know this one...

it is a good one, but VERY high in carbs and not for dieting. Oh just to let you know I planted trees with upvotes:
https://steemit.com/nature/@intrepidsurfer/i-won-some-steem-on-ssc-so-i-bought-a-tree-and-planted-it-18th-feb-2018-3rd-post-10-trees-planted-to-date

Great idea! I really like the ginger garlic sauce. Beautiful presentation. I like it!

Looks great dude! Ginger garlic sauce was probably delicious!

Love how u took a page out of SF’s book.

That seemed like a great addition to ur burger

id make this one again!

Very nicely done @intrepidsurfer, most impressed with the rice cakes! Good luck :)

thank you @lizelle , been thinking on how to make the rice cakes where one could hold it like a bread.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 18:44:40
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 153.95/200.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58867.32
ETH 3223.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30