I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it. [11th Feb. 2018: 2nd Post]

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

 Upvote for free and help plant some trees in Peru. Today we planted 5 Algarrobo tree saplings. Also commonly known also as mesquite, is a native tree to the region of Northern Peru. 



 Having won some extra steem/sbd, I was thinking on how I could give something back. It got me thinking to how everyone could give back and it wouldn't cost them any money. Would this be possible with Steemit? Upvote a specific post and the proceeds will be used to purchase tree saplings for replanting.   


My first post about this was written last week: I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it.   

Ok, I obtained five Algorrobo tree saplings from the local NGO Ecoswell. They have a garden nursery program with the objective of enabling reforestation here in Northern Peru. I donated 50 Peruvian Soles to the NGO. This is roughly equivalent to 15USD which at the time equated about 5 SBD.   

Five Algarrobo saplings were all I could carry, but I will be back for more over time. The 50 soles donation, a small contribution, I hope the first of many will be put towards their community garden nurseries. Over time I will update all of you with this particular project too. I would like to personally thank @jaybird for facilitating my integration into Steemit and enabling me to kick off this project.   


Wow it was a hot day today. I went out an hour before sunset, just thought that it would be a little cooler to plant the saplings. I must of sweat a small bucket's worth. Do remember this is a quite arid environment, soil is tough here!   


So I went to the bottom of the place where I am living to plant today. I hope the trees will grow up to anchor the slope here. Also create a little pocket of forest... well that is the vision and might take a couple of decades. Got to start somewhere.

So I started to dig some holes big enough for the tree saplings. As you can see the “soil”, but the Algarrobo tree loves it!  


The saplings come with a cost amount of soil/coco mix. Good to retain moisture for the roots in this environment. 



 In she goes #1.

#2

#3

#4

#5

They are all in nice and cosy. A quick watering and they are set for today. I will be keeping my eyes on them until they properly establish themselves.

See. It was that easy to offset our impact on Steemit. I invite you to upvote and upsteem this post. Doing so will plant trees in Northern Peru.   



Simply put: your upvote will go towards replanting of tree saplings in northern Peru. Simple isn't it?

Upvotes as you are aware equate to SBD and Steem Power. All of the SBD will be used towards reforestation. I will also post with receipts of the donations (SBD converted to Peru Soles) made in order to obtain adequate tree saplings. I will get the reciept tomorrow and amend this post. Donations are made to the local ngo Ecoswell. If it is ok with you, the earned Steem power will be retained by me. It will enable me to grow this project for the benefit of Everyone. I want to be totally upfront about this.

Each week I will post about the tree saplings that were planted. There will also be lots of photos to accompany this. So this week's post was about what was upvoted for by you last week. Next Sunday I will plant with with what earned today. There is a week delay, as you know how Steem posts and payouts work.   


 This week's planting was made possible by:

@jaybird

My first post about this was written last week: I won some steem on SSC, so I bought a tree and planted it.   


 

If you would like to read my posts, then find me here @intrepidsurfer


Sort:  

Fuckin' eh man!

I really hope this catches on. I'll definitely be looking forward to a few months from now update, or even 1 year to see how these little saps have taken and grown!

we are in our "rainy season". Basically we get a few downpours but the desert turns green. These trees are very adept to this terrain.

I love the conversion of Steem into something tangible and beneficial. Proving that it is possible and this is real.

This is pure magic. We need more people like you, that live REAL and improve our environment!

Thank you for your kind words Sandrina. I know most people don't have the time to plant trees, but no problem as I can sort it out for them.

Awesome stuff @intrepidsurfer, good time to be planting with the rainy season but sure looked hot & dry there! Interesting that they added coco to the soil, will resteem this tonight when there's more traffic on steemit, well done with your project :):)

There is more vegetation around, just the photos makes it look like another planet. Yes they were planted in that medium and they loved it. Thank you for your support. It wouldn't be possible without your upvotes :)

Hoping for some good rain to get them going!

Great work! That's a pretty serious photo of you there with the shovel. I'm looking forward to meeting you as long as you plant me in the ground too! lol

hahaha, not digging a hole that deep! took me ages to break through the rubble and soil. Solid! Photo was me when I just finished up and it was a shameless selfie.

Ha ha. That was a great "shameless selfie". I'm still pining away trying to back log post, so I'm free later to enjoy my travels. Will keep you posted, but at this point I'm thinking my rout will bring me right to you.

This is an amazing idea! Planting trees one sandwich at a time - Brilliant mate!

thank you @artwatch . Without your upvote it wouldn't have happened.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by intrepidsurfer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57