#Homework Must Fall!

in #steemiteducation6 years ago

Last week, I was over the moon when I heard my son’s school mentioned on our local radio station. You see, in my country, South Africa, we are in the midst of a great debate, that is: should we continue to allow our kids to be heaped with homework, or is it about time that we get rid of the additional school work? My kids school was mentioned because it is the only school in our region of Kwa Zulu Natal that does not include homework into its curriculum.

While my son is still a toddler and hasn’t yet reached the stage of formal learning, we chose to start him in this exact school because of their “anti” homework policy. On attending one of their open days, they highlighted the fact that they feel very strongly about the role a child’s family unit plays in one’s upbringing, and because of this they encourage families to spend as much casual time together as possible. A notion that I simply love!

Further to this, said school also strongly feels that learning should be done predominantly at school and in the classroom, where qualified teachers are guiding the learning process, instead of parents who are not precisely knowledgeable in the applicable fields. Instead, the school encourages extra mural activities that further develops a child’s knowledge or talents. 

Not everyone feels this way however, which is why this has been such a hot topic lately. Many argue that homework keeps kids out of trouble after school hours and teaches them a certain amount of responsibility, as well as how to be industrious. These thinkers feel that kids will become lazy, spending their free time on social media and watching TV, rather than stimulating their bodies and minds.

Quite frankly, I think in this instance it is up to parents to ensure that their kids do not use this time to get up to mischief, or to fall into pits of laziness. Some adults tend to leave the upbringing of their kids to the educational system. Eradicating homework moves the responsibility back into the parent’s court, where they will once gain have to play more of an active role in what their children spend their time doing, and if what they are doing is resourceful.

Personally, I feel that homework is a futile endeavour. Parents either end up doing it for their kids, or the kids simply Google the answers, so no actual learning gets done! I think it is best that formal learning is done at school. By all means, send home a project or two, and even issue compulsory involvement in extramural activities, but sending home piles of monotonous worksheets, well, I see no positive points in this.

Let’s see what the educational system in South Africa pursues and implements, since a decision like this will have a big impact on the education of our future generations, my son included! I truly do feel we have reached a time where homework has done what it has needed to do, and now we need to look at alternative ways of reaching out to our kids once again, and perhaps that extra family time is all we need!

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Sort:  

This is a constant debate here for us as well. Arguments can be made for both sides of the debate from both teachers and parents. In our schools the teachers are able to decide how much if any homework our students will have. As a teacher of 20 plus students the parental request can range anywhere from "please send no homework" to "we need as much homework as possible". For my students I try to keep homework to a minimum. First of all, I believe that we work these kids pretty hard for 6-7 hours every day and that they should be focusing on family and their extra-curricular activities when not at school. Secondly, I want to see the students progress and work on activities. All too often parents end up doing more work than they should and this makes it impossible to use any homework for an assessment piece. Homework can also become a big stressor for children and parents at home and lead to arguments. This can translate to decreased student enjoyment of school and ultimately to lower effort and grades. For those parents who don't agree with my philosophy and are eager to have more homework, I direct them to the multitude of curriculum based workbooks they can buy. I also tell them to use real world situations to help reinforce school concepts. For example, folding laundry is a great time to show your child the concepts of sorting in a real world application. Also, Driving to an event is a perfect time to talk about clocks, time and elapsed time. The debate will continue I am sure.

A good story Miss Sweet, you are be successful

I think there should be a serious balance to it. most parents just go ahead and take care of the home work, forgetting the real idea is to summarize the teachings the child had gotten from school. nice one @sweetpea

There is so much homework now, children hardly have time to be children anymore. I agree with you, homework is generally futile in any case.

I really do home Government does the right thing.

Fully agree with you about getting rid of homework.

Thanks to @josephsavage, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

I LOVED this article and couldn't agree more! Children spend enough time at school as it is - they should be able to learn the topics during school time! Surely schools can be a bit more effective with their time.

I think society forces children to grow up to quick. The afternoon an evening should be for enjoying yourself - spending time with friends, climbing trees, going to the beach, not inside studying textbooks which are often irrelevant to the real world!

Thanks @conradt, I totally agree, kids need more time to be kids! I feel this is what will help them learn better later in life too.

Yeah i was lucky as a child to not have to much pressure to do homework put on me. But others arent so lucky

I agree with Sweetpea. let's spend quality time with our children, They grow so quickly.

I know right, my sin turns 3 this week :(

Education systems need to be looked at, the whole approach is going wrong. A couple of years ago I was alerted to the Finnish way of doing things and I think other countries should be looking into why they succeed whilst others are failing. https://schooladvisor.my/articles/20-amazing-facts-finlands-education-system/

Thanks for that Joan, it's so interesting! I agree, it's time for change in the educational system, I can already see that what worked for me as a kid is not going to work for my child!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46