The unique financial and investment opportunity that Steem provides

in #steemiteducation7 years ago

I have always been interested in trading and investing, but I am really just starting to get into the crypto space. Reading through different articles on Steem, I have quickly figured that this platform presents a financial opportunity, unlike anything I have ever seen.

invest-in-steem.png
Image Credit

Please understand this: I do not look at Steem as a financial opportunity only but as a great place to share ideas and meet people. I always write about those aspects, this post is purely on the financial aspect of it.

So, back to the point. There are a number of reasons why I think Steemit presents a unique opportunity unlike anything else.

divider-red

Blogging income

Blogging, vlogging, photographing, story-writing - all of these endeavors can earn you money here. It's not uncommon to earn on the internet, as people have earned money doing these things on the internet for more than a decade now.

blogging.jpg
Image Credit

How the Steemit experience is unique is the quantum of reward that the platform can generate. From almost the very beginning the user is rewarded considerably more than what can be earned on Adsense and other ad powered blogging and vlogging platforms.

Enough has been said on this topic, so I will not elaborate on this. The wallets of countless bloggers relatively new with only a couple of months on Steemit prove this. Seeing is believing.

divider-red

Investment instrument uniqueness

If you come from a trading investing background, you would know that traders and investors earn a profit when the asset class they are invested in appreciates in price. If the asset class is a stock, there is the added opportunity of a dividend income if the company decides to reward the shareholders.

No asset class has the inbuilt characteristic of not only rewarding through value appreciation but also by rewarding additional quantity of the same underlying asset. Holding a stock does not usually give you another stock, there are exceptions like bonus shares and splits but they are not the norm, and such rewards usually come with a depreciation in the stock price. A 1:2 split halves the price of the stock.

However, in Steemit your Steem Power helps you generate more of it. So not only are you rewarded when SP value increases, but the inbuilt system mechanism allows you to increase your SP holding through your engagements and contributions to the platform without spending any money.

divider-red

SMTs and Airdrops

airdrops.jpg
Image Credit

The other uniqueness which may become a possibility in the future is that of token airdrops to SP holders once SMTs become available.

Vice token which is being created by forking the Steem blockchain has already declared in their whitepaper that they will do a token airdrop to Steem holders.

The same may become true for many other tokens which will spring up on top of the Steem blockchain in the future. Steem holders may be rewarded with free tokens with real monetary value.

divider-red

Final thoughts

If you are already on Steem, I think you will agree to what I say, I would love to know your thoughts on this if you think I missed some important aspect.

For those who are new to Steem, I encourage you to read the many great posts written by Steem veterans who have been around much longer and understand the ecosystem more than me.

knowledge.jpg
Image Credit

Remember, knowledge is power.

divider-red

Get Free Crypto Coins

free-crypto2.jpg

Image Credit

divider-red

upvote-share-resteem

steem-engine.png

crypto-empire

Click on the banners to learn more about each community

leave-comment.png

Sort:  

For sure, it's not just the direct income from a post but rather building an asset. That money (and influence) can grow if invested in to Steem power and you can spread your message and build community too. It will be interesting to see how SMTs play out!

the thing that is really great about STEEM and Steemit is that it allows people that want to get into blogging (like me) but have not had any connections before steemit to actually get some sort of income right of the bat.

usually, it's only the top 5-10% of bloggers that are able to make a profit (from sponsorships or referrals) but with the Steemit platform, you can make money even from 0. as long as your posts are quality an people want to read them you will make money in the long run.

great quality post!

yes, exactly my point. Here we have a thriving community which wants to read good content and support each other.

Thanks for visiting :)

But but but where does the money come from?

Lolz, I think from Uncle Scrooge's vault

Hey SVK

Great post man, sounded very taskmasterish! Well done :P

This is why I'm bumping my SP amounts as well, and why all of you should do the same, SMT airdrops sound like a sweet deal.

That's a huge complement to be called Taskmaster ish :)

Yes, I don't have plans in the short term to take anything out. In fact I have been converting my SBDs to SP as well.... Need to increase my SP growth rate, though.

Yeah, got to reach that "new paradigm" peak with lots of steem and SMTs

Where do you think we are now in your chart?? Media attention??

Bear Trap until SMTs come, then maybe Media Attention.

We just got out of the First Sell off which happened when STEEM was 0.40 and climbed to these numbers we see today.

In my humble opinion of course.

Of course, but when to Lambo moon?? :D

My hope is that with HF20 and SMTs we get to the media attention phase.

steemit has given a lot to me more than any other blogging site. I now laugh at my attempts to get an adsense account and above all that I got good friends too and learned a lot

I have an adsense account with $20 in there since eternity I think :)

ah, and cant withdraw till it reaches 100, right? how bad they are

This is one very well written and thought out post my friend. :)

I definitely agree Steemit is unique in its design and how everything works really. It literally rewards good content creators from the day start writing. With ad sense and all other advertisement based platform, it may take months and even years to see any kind of real income coming in.

But, like for you, for me, Steemit is way more than just a place where you can earn some extra income. It is a place where you meet people from around the world. We are literally connected with entire world with your comments, and posts. That for me is the best thing about Steam. The opportunity to create friendships and relationships from all around the world :)

Yes, that's what makes it addictive more than the money

Good Post. Thansk for share it.

Happy steeming.

We are not able to invest in those who are in the first place. What would be done in our case, if it was good to say a little. Things in Advanced

Sorry, but I don't understand what you are saying...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64