How to get the vote slider below 500 SP

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Can't vote often enough?

All of us who are yet to reach 500 SP, are limited in our ability to reward all the content we like during our daily sojourn through Steemit. All of us have our favourite authors, acquaintances, friends and after upvoting them, we often do not have enough voting power left to vote up new authors or a special article we find along the way.

upvote.png

Image Credit: @svkrulze

divider-red

Steemit's solution doesn't work for you?

The solution that Steemit provides is that you reach 500 SP after which the upvote slider gets enabled. You can then use your voting power to give many more smaller upvotes.

Once this is enabled, it helps you in a lot of ways, you can upvote the comments made by your readers and also upvote a number of posts by other authors. This helps in building relationships and people start noticing you. And best of all, it feels good to be able to spread some love.

spread-love.jpg

Image Credit

But Steemit makes you wait for quite some time before you can do this, the primary reason is I think that plankton upvotes are in the first place quite small and splitting them makes them irrelevant.

divider-red

Steemit's Reason

But I think once you have more than say, 150 - 200 SP, you can still split your vote and give $0.01 or $0.02 upvotes to a number of people. It's not much but people still appreciate and understand that you are doing what you can with your limited resources. It means a lot to many people in my opinion.

So how to do this before reaching 500 SP?

divider-red

esteem.png

Image Credit

Image Credit: @svkrulze

Is there a trick?

I bet, there is!!!

There is one solution you can use, one which I have been using for the last few weeks.

Use the eSteem app.

eSteem has an upvote slider in the Settings menu which you can adjust and save. It can be set to any value between 0 and 100%.

I try to use eSteem as much as possible for upvoting. This is a solution which has helped me a lot in distributing my votes in an effective way.

Busy.org

Thanks to @cygon who pointed it out to me and I did a quick search to find it out.

You can do the same from the Busy.org interface as well. You need to go to settings and enable the slider.

busy.png

Image Credit

divider-red

Word of Caution

Do not reduce your upvote percentage so low that it doesn't even give a $0.01 upvote. People may not notice votes lower than $0.01. Bigger Steemians may not appreciate your $0.01 vote as well, but I think it's better to upvote at least for $0.01. The bigger the better but of course you are reading this because you have limited resources.

caution.png

Image Credit

Perhaps you can start with setting it to 50% or 60% depending on your current SP and slowly decrease the vote weight as you increase in Steem Power.

Let me know if you already use this or you have just learned something new and plan to start using this trick.

divider-red

Referral Links

Sell Votes on SmartSteem

Get Followers and Upvotes on SteemFollower

Get Free Crypto Coins

free-crypto2.jpg

Image Credit

divider-red

upvote-share-resteem

steem-engine.png

crypto-empire

Click on the banners to learn more about each community

leave-comment.png

Sort:  

I appreciate any size upvote. Ha! :) Each little bit can add up to some amount. ;) I use the script provided by Tamper Monkey in order to get the slide voter before 500 SP. It's super easy to install and works for most search engines except for Microsoft Edge. Here is a link to install it. :)

Thanks, I didn't know about this tool. Will definitely check it out

This is very helpful and informative. I never knew that there was a steemit app before. For some reason it didnt come up in search, or maybe I was just overlooking it because it said Esteem and was blue instead of green.

Either way, it will be nice to have steem on the go. thanks a lot!

Haha, yes it happens sometimes. You miss the obvious until someone points that to you

Good "how to" information for the community. I'm sure there are many relatively new members out there that weren't away you can change the percentage in settings.

Yes, there must be many

I use Busy.org for this from the desktop, it's a much nicer face for Steem...

thanks, I will mention this in my post. I had heard about it but never found it. your comment gave me the prompt to search again and I found it now :)

Awesome, I really like it so far, just keep in mind that there is a 5% benefactor to Busy.org for all posts made from there to support the project (same as esteem). They do have a voting bot if you have enough of a follower base that may offset that somewhat.

yeah, I know about that. It seems to me, that posting through busy.org makes sense if you have a whale followers

i am new user can i follow all everybody

you can follow whoever you like but I suggest you follow those authors who write about things you like and those who can teach you how to get going on Steemit

thank you very much and response to me.

Wasn't aware of the esteem slider but as @panamamama mentioned the tampermonkey one that she recommends works well. It sure does help stretch your votes out, and a penny or two is better than a poke in the eye any day. I am sure there are plenty of folks who will benefit from this post of yours.

Thanks and yes, I will surely check that tool

I use Busy, but didn't know what the slider was for. Thank you. But I also didn't know about the 5%. Does that mean they get 5% of the upvotes for that post or what?

I will have to research this more, but I think they get 5% of total post rewards

I was wondering how some of my followers who have less than 500 SP managed to give less than 100% votes. I thought perhaps Steemit had finally changed the 500 SP rule. Thanks for sharing this info, I will be sure to remember it to let others know if they need it.

Yes, this can actually help many minnows and planktons

good information brother, I will always with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74