Ultimate STEEMIT: Minnow Post Vote Slider and Past Payout Monetizer Script... and next, here comes SteemTUBE!!! 😲steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Back in May I attended the EOS VIP Party, where I also met some very interesting and cool fellow steemians. At the party, there was also plenty of delicious food offered. However, I've gotta admit... those sliders were pretty darn delicious, and perhaps by far my favorite!

And that got me thinking... you know, everyone ought to have a slider, even little minnows. We all deserve at least a chance to try one, or two, or three of these savory and deliciously delectable delights! 😋

And now part of that "dream" has finally come to fruition... I'd like to introduce you all to my latest TamperMonkey script: 😁

  • enables a vote slider for steemians with over 72 SP
  • provides better upvote notifications
  • easily monetize expired content past payout by targeting active comments by the author instead

Trying to implement all this directly into the current steemit.com interface has certainly taken me for a bit of a spin. But then again, I've been conceptualizing some of these ideas for almost as long as I've been posting on STEEMIT!


upvote-slider-notify.jpg

Part 1: Why can't I have a vote slider too...

Since HF19 was released, one of the biggest pains felt by fellow steemians with under 500 SP is that they can't access the vote slider. Before HF19, it really wasn't such an issue. Given each vote cost 1/2% vote power at the time, and you could vote 40 times a day before reaching 80% vote power, sub 500 SP users would rarely find much use for the slider anyway.

Post-HF19, however, each vote was now worth 2%, and those same 40 votes would knock you right down to 20% vote power! That's probably fine for newer users with under 100 STEEM POWER who probably don't vote all that much yet anyway. As you grow, learn the ropes, and integrate and interact more with the STEEMIT community, you also tend to vote more. You recognize the value of voting up thoughtful or appreciative comments as well.

I mean, in the virtual world, what better way is there to "spread the love", have a "fist bump" or two, along with a quick "thank you". Tossing even a few cents on a comment says all that and more in spades! As such, this becomes second nature for more established users. For those just starting out, those options aren't even on the table... until NOW that is!

While alternate STEEMIT interfaces such as @jesta's chainbb.com or eSteem Mobile App users have offered the vote slider to lower SP users for a while now, it's never been available on STEEMIT.com itself! Of course, you also have to be comfortable sharing your "posting key" with other services as well. With this TamperMonkey script, that all changes, along with much more as you'll soon discover (and it all works directly on STEEMIT.com)...

First, I just wanted to make one thing clear. Lately many low SP users have experienced bandwidth issues interfacing with the blockchain. While there are several initiatives in the works to alleviate some of these issues, be aware that the more transactions you make on the STEEMIT blockchain (ie. more votes, especially many very small votes) the greater the chance you may be rate-limited for a period of time. If this happens to you, just wait a little while for your account to recover. Also consider voting a bit less frequently, and with more vote power as well.

You can check your current "Bandwidth Remaining" on steemd.com, or if you're hanging out in one of the Discord Chatrooms such as Whaleshares where WhaleBoT "lurks", 🐳he'll🐋 show you the approximate bandwidth you have remaining along with your vote power (ie. "whalebot vp alexpmorris").


postvote-comment-upvote-example.jpg

Part 2: Why can't I monetize after 7 days?!

Your sweat, blood, and tears. Your hard work, your videos, your music, your art... It's timeless, it's priceless, why can't you monetize your "art" on the blockchain... FOREVER?! Sorry folks, after 7 days it's simply... "yesterday's news". 😞😢

Now, I don't know about forever, but for now, unless the STEEMIT "powers that be" find reason to change this feature in an upcoming hard fork, you can continually monetize past works... through COMMENTS! While your posts may expire, post comment threads can continue indefinitely! I really started to think about this after HF19, when some comments I had written earned me more in payout than several of my earlier posts combined!

I still receive comments here and there on some of my past content, especially my more "popular" posts. And that's what the script looks to "monetize". In the example, you'll see that we missed the "opportunity" to vote on @nepd's "HairShares" post, as the active voting period had ended. However, there were still plenty of fresh comments by @nepd that had not yet expired!


SteemitPostVoteSliderAndPastPayoutMonetizer-Video-HowTo.gif

As long as a post still contains at least ONE ACTIVE COMMENT, whether the post is 1 week or 6 months past payout, the "Past Payout Monetizer" will find and target THAT COMMENT for an upvote instead. And as simply as that, you can easily reward the author for their hard work, even if you've discovered it months after the first payout! Now, just for reference, this doesn't mean you should revisit all your old posts once a week with a fresh comment. However, back in the day when a video on our YouTube channel vlogolution went viral, people would continually leave comments on them, some even to this day!

I believe this dynamic will grow on STEEMIT as well, especially as more people understand the potential benefits. And if you still have people commenting on your past posts, there's one more incentive to leave a nice comment in response, even if it's just a quick thank you for appreciating your work!


dan-deny-payment.jpg

SteemIt + YouTube = Steem...Q?!

Part of the reason I built this script was to also demonstrate a sort of "proof of concept". In order to really take this to the next level, I'll pivot over to @furion's recent post on his progress with steemQ and view.ly. In his post he states one of the key issues they face:

Fair and cost effective incentive system for node providers to store and stream content.

Now, I'm not saying I have every aspect of this completely worked out. But what if at least part of the rewards from a particular steemQ post (comments included) could be thought of as adding funds to a continuous faucet. Each stream provider could be paid some fraction of a cent per second of video or audio streamed. If the faucet "runs dry", viewers will be greeted with a message to that effect.

If the content is considered valuable enough, anyone can come in and add some more "upvote power" to a comment, even months later, and the video immediately comes back online again. In essence, it continues to produce for both content creators and content streamers, indefinitely! The power of that one vote may be sufficient to "keep the ball rolling", while supporting 1000s of additional views for others to enjoy.

The TamperMonkey Script

If you're also using my "Hide Resteems" script, be sure to update to the latest version. I made some additional tweaks to capture a few more edge cases. For both scripts, capturing all of STEEMIT.com's state changes is a bit tricky. While I believe they now catch 95%+ of the page changes and dynamic updates, some might still slip through. For example, if for some reason you're missing the RESTEEM button, just try refreshing the page.

If you plan to use both scripts together, also make sure that "Hide Resteems" loads first! I tried dealing with the conflicts (mostly jquery scope-related issues), but due to the implementation, this seems to be the easiest solution for now. If you happened to install "Hide Resteems" (HR) after "Steemit Post Vote Slider and Past Payout Monetizer" (SPVS), go to HR's "Settings -> Position", and make sure the order (position number) is lower for HR than for SPVS. If it's running in the correct order, when you click the TamperMonkey extension logo, this is what you should see:


tampermonkey-steemit-scripts.jpg


For those who are already familiar with TamperMonkey and want to try jumping right in, you can easily install either or both scripts directly from greasyfork.org:

Script #1: https://greasyfork.org/en/scripts/31120-hide-resteems
Script #2: https://greasyfork.org/en/scripts/31619-steemit-post-vote-slider-and-past-payout-monetizer

You can also find both scripts on github.com as well:

Script #1: https://github.com/alexpmorris/HideResteems
Script #2: https://github.com/alexpmorris/SteemitPostVoteSliderAndPastPayoutMonetizer


For those unfamiliar with TamperMonkey, it's a very popular userscript manager, available for Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Safari, Opera Next, and Firefox. The scripts can easily be added to your TamperMonkey "Dashboard" as just another script to run, complete with source code as well so you can be quite certain there's no tamper "monkey business" going on! 🙊

TamperMonkey VIDEO HowTo...

If you're new to TamperMonkey, this terrific 2 minute video overview should get you right up to speed:

Finally...

So with that, fellow steemians, I leave this in your capable hands. I welcome you all to share your thoughts and ideas on what I've built and release here, and I hope these scripts serve to further empower you all along this collective journey into the "gift economy" we call STEEMIT. Just remember to stay humble and "keep it real" my friends!

"With great power comes great responsibility", or something like that, so "they" say...


Also just wanted to throw in this last little blurb... In my previous post, I had rudimentally compared the valuation of STEEMIT to FaceBook and SNAP. @knircky just wrote an excellent article that goes much deeper than my short bit towards the end of that post. He compares the valuations of STEEMIT, Facebook, twitter, etc versus active monthly users:

Steem: 250m / 100k = $2500
Facebook : 485b/2B = $243
Twitter: 14b/328m = $42.68
Snapchat: 17b/255m = $66.67

And remember, STEEM / SP holders are collective owners in the platform. If STEEMIT can achieve just a small fraction of these valuations... well, here's the link to "evaluate" for yourselves:

Link: The value of Steem and its users: 1 Steem user = 10 Facebook users!



Once again, it's always possible I've missed something, so if you have any issues, or even just to share your experience with these scripts, please be sure to comment below!

😊 And as always, I appreciate your upvote, your follow and all your comments! 😊

Sort:  

@alexpmorris, thanks for making the slider & post payout monetizer - tremendous work! :)

thanks @applecrisp, and for the resteem as well! :)

Hi, thanks for your interesting post. Welcome to my blog @evgenya

This was an excellent article again, thanks a whole bunch for the information, it is packed!

I have definitely been enjoying the slider idea since its inception and continue to do so.

Namaste :)

thanks for the kind words @eric-boucher, and now people don't have to wait anymore for 500SP just to access it! of course, I'm quite a bit above that now, yet still loving both scripts myself for the added functionality they provide! :)

Can't be LIVE I missed this one @alexpmorris!!! You are a man of so many talents. This post just went from good, to great to insane!!

THANK YOU SO MUCH!! For being here, for sharing your knowledge on so many levels and for simply being a genius.

We were talking about expired post comment value in SMG just today, which by the way if you ever have time to bless us with your wisdom we'd love to have you there.

Oh and I am so excited for SteemQ to come out as you know we've had our issues with YouTube censorship and deleted numerous times!

Anyway.. man we love you! :)

thanks for the kind words @kenistyles! I'm sure you're well aware of our YouTube stories as well.

I'm kind of blanking on SMG, though (the link just went back to my post). Is that another discord guild? Many of us are already on discord too. Definitely worth stopping by one of these days if you get a chance! :)

ps. dunno about "genius" though, if I start thinking that way I always seem to soon after land right on my head! lol

Bumps n bruises build us brother!

Lol yeah I read all about you guys, I'm so happy to talk to someone who has the genius to create solutions as you do!

No it's just another Facebook group but hoping to grow and offer more than post promotion. I'll send you an invite.

I've been meaning to explore discord and your prompting me more so it moves up one on the to do's!

Just juggling diapers and doing my best blogging from the iPhone for now! 😬

Your vote slider is an awesome tool! Wish I found it earlier! Thanks for all of your hard work!

thanks for the kind words @therockman, glad you're finding it useful! :)

it seems for some reason, some of the images from this post "disappeared" from the steemimages.com CDN, so here they are again...

SteemitPostVoteSliderAndPastPayoutMonetizer-Video-HowTo.gif

A very interesting read there @alexpmorris and well presented. Thanks for sharing.

glad you found it helpful @selfbuiltcamper. you're still a bit small for the slider to help you yet, but the more you understand about STEEMIT, the faster you'll be up to speed with the rest of us! Keep on Steemin'! :)

Thats some awesome work you've done there! I was wondering why I wasn't able to delegate a percentage of my SP to upvotes via a slider. Now I know... Im just shy of 500 SP! But I will check this out in the meantime.

We will see how it works out.

thank you for the kind words @sreepyeldarb! so, how's it "working out" for you so far? cool having a slider, ay?! :D

Well @alexpmorris, I was going to check the script out yesterday. But upon importing more steem into my account and powering up, I have noticed that with just 500 SP I can now use the vote slider without the script. So as good as the idea sounds for lower SP accounts, I dont think I'll need it.

None the less, again, very good work and I wish other users all the best!

thanks for the kind words @sreepyeldarb! I'll just add though that even if you already have a 500SP+ slider now (congrats, btw!), you might still want to give it a spin nonetheless, as you may find some of the other features quite useful (and more visually appealing) as well! :)

Very interesting post. I had overlook some part the first time I read it.

Great post and great tools thank you for sharing all of this with us ;)

Thank you so much for this article. Some of the tools are invaluable :)

thank you @yoda1917, hope you get some great use out of them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56