Sci-Fi, beloved childhood cartoon characters, and ancient Chinese philosophy... Now we're having some fun!

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

In my previous post, I explained how I use parables to help my students understand the basic beliefs of Hinduism. Now it's time to take a look at some of my lessons on Taoism.*



If this were a true Yin and Yang symbol, there would be a bit of light in Darth Vader (which Luke always believed there to be), and a little dark in Yoda. Perhaps Yoda speaks backwards to mess with people? That would be a little dark... and hilarious.

Considering that Taoism is based on simplicity, it is a bit ironic that it is one of the most complex religions to teach. Taoism is based on the teachings of of the ancient Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu. I apologize for sounding like every bad graduation speech ever but... Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines "The Tao" as the "unconditional and unknowable source and guiding principle of all reality as conceived by Taoists or the process of nature by which all things change and which is to be followed for a life of harmony."



Hmmm that sounds kind of complicated. How can I explain this to Drake? I'm going to need some help. Luckily for me, the writer of the greatest film series in the history of time happened to directly rip off the Tao for his films.

When I teach about Taoism, I always start by introducing the founder, Lao Tzu, and then explain that Taoists believe in a Force called the Tao. I ask the class if they know of any other philosophy centered around a Force. Considering my students have known me for more than 30 seconds, and they know what I am obsessed with, several students always shout out, "Star Wars"! (It makes me so proud).

I smile, turn on the classroom projector, and instruct my students to listen for the word "Force" in the following clip. I instruct them to mentally replace it with "Tao". Then I hit "play" and show them the following scene from The Empire Strikes Back.



After showing the clip, I immediately ask the students if they think Taoists believe that there is a magical Force that can move objects? They think about it, and say "no". We continue our discussion as to why I would show a clip if it weren't exactly true. Eventually the students come to the realization that this clip is just meant to be a starting point for the lesson. It helps them to wrap their heads around the idea that Taoists believe that following the "flow" of nature is the key to happiness.

Even after this introduction, nearly all of the students are still a bit confused. For most of them, this belief system is incredibly different from their own religion. For Drake... he seems to be a bit befuddled all the time. Luckily for me, the writer of one of the greatest children's book series in the history of time happened to create a character who perfectly illustrates many of the ideas of Taoism.

Who is this tubby, little cubby all stuffed with fluff?



He's Winnie the Pooh, Winnie the Pooh, a willy, nilly, silly old bear... who perfectly illustrates many of the teachings of a 2700 year old ancient Chinese philosophy (they usually leave that last line out of the song).

Even more fortunate, is the fact that author Benjamin Hoff recognized Pooh as the epitome of Taoism as well. Then Hoff decided to write an entire book about it called, The Tao of Pooh.



Because I do not have time for my class to read the entire book (although I wish we did), I had to be very strategic in finding one chapter that will provide the most "bang for the buck". The second chapter does just that. In only thirteen very short pages, by using Pooh and his friends as recognizable examples, Hoff provides an incredibly accessible avenue for students to learn about the basic Taoist concepts of: The Uncarved Block, the importance of nature, enjoying life, being spontaneous, and the value of natural simplicity.

Similar to the Hinduism parables, I provide questions for the students to answer as they read the chapter. Those students with severe reading disabilities are supported by their peers or an adult. Again, these questions do not go very far in terms of depth of knowledge. They are text based questions whose purpose is to provide the background knowledge needed to participate in a classroom discussion. During this discussion the students are challenged to go deeper into the subject and to truly think.


Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 6.23.20 PM.png
These questions can help guide students as they read pages 9 to 21 of The Tao of Pooh.

As always, my students impress me during the follow-up discussion. It really is fun to see the "lightbulb go off" as they make connections between these familiar characters and a formerly unfamiliar Eastern philosophy.

In the final installment of this series, I will describe how I use an embarrassing personal story (of which I have many) to really solidify my students' understanding of the basic teachings of Taoism.

By the way, if there are any experts on Taoism out there, feel free to correct any mistakes I may be making. I learned everything I know from reading. I would imagine someone who is living it will know a great deal more than I do.

*Note: I teach about several world religions. I preach about none. Part of our required world history curriculum includes teaching the basic facts of several world religions. I would never try to sway students about their own beliefs. The goal is to educate students about what people around the world believe (and how these beliefs shaped history), not to tell them what they should believe.

Images 1, 2, 3, 4

If you would like to earn rewards for this week's @steemiteducation homework assignment, please check out the post here.

Sort:  

There's a steemit.chat message spammer pretending to be you and begging for SBD. Even sends a link to your account. I doubted it was really you due to the poor grasp of English he/she/it displays, and the request for money was the last evidence I needed that it probably was a scammer.

EDIT
I wrote a brief post and used screenshots of the chat. I hope I made it absolutely clear that no one should think this is actually you on chat. This kind of scam is cancer to the community.

Thank you so much!!!!! I am trying to get him shut down in chat.

Very uncool, @dexter-on-cocaine. This is known as "spam," and is frowned upon.

thanks for the excellent post. few thoughts i have on the topic.

Lao Tzu met Confucius. Lao Tzu's saw that order underlies everything, and that Confucius was trying to put order on top of order, and making a mess of everything.

Both thought the other brought anarchy.

Seems clear nature falls in balance, so I believe in inherent order in the universe, and that we do indeed make a mess by what we place upon without consideration for, the predefined order that exists.

To me this order means things like, following the ten commandments, not because someone will bash you from above, but because they in fact remind you what will cause suffering for you. Don't do these things because it won't end well, bad time. The masters of the world all speak of reaping what you sow, or karma. Anthony De Mello call a book on karma should be called 'you done it'.

so i have found you can get into the flow, and by that it means you can get your own. don't be jealous, get your own. if you don't want to do what it takes to get your own, then don't, and let go. sometimes the cost of something is higher than you want to pay. that is why i invest, invest in all i do so that i might get future rewards.

i believe living this way is the best way, that i've found, to approach life. because it means everyone is divine. so how you treat everything, is how you treat God, or yourself.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I love how you ended this with "because it means everyone is divine. so how you treat everything, is how you treat God, or yourself." That is literally the exact lesson of one of the parables I described in my previous post called Shankara and his Disciples.

really you are a teacher who knows will give complex teaching to man. I just now know what Taoism is. i like your post. i always follow you. Thank you, my teacher. by, @ boyasyie

Your post is very good if you like me too, then you can also comment on me
https://steemit.com/@veshu

Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.
Confucius

@hanshotfirst thanks for this post, my biggest achievement is the ability to have an open mind over every understanding coming from others.

Happy to know better about the Toaism.

Mother Nature is always speaking. She speaks in a language understood within the peaceful mind of the sincere observer. Leopards, cobras, monkeys, rivers and trees; they all served as my teachers when I lived as a wanderer in the Himalayan foothills.

Thanks.

Great post. I'm always so interested in learning about the different religions of the world.

Just finished reading The Man in the High Castle 5 mins before seeing this post (lots of Taoist references in there for the uninitiated) so the universe is definitely trying to tell me something today.

Another great post anyway!

Yoda is more like "neutral" side, same as Luke.

I have always thought of Taoism as a way for ancient Chinese Society to flow together in creating political and social cohesion. This is because the warrior, aristocrat would know their position and do it to the best of their abilities, thereby, creating social cohesion and stability

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00