Elefun as a lesson in Taoism? Seriously dude? Pull the other one.

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

Over the past week, I have written that I use four parables, one very famous cartoon character, and a scene from my favorite movie series when I teach about Hinduism and Taoism*.

I forgot to mention that I also use the game Elefun in my lessons as well.

If you have never played Elefun then... you clearly don't know any three year olds who live in the U.S. It is the perfect game for three-year olds (and perhaps drunk college kids... but not at the same time please). Although (or perhaps because) the game requires no thought or strategy whatsoever, it is perfect for the previously mentioned demographics.



You know what is missing from this picture? An adult who is 2 feet taller than these kids who dominates the game and then trash talks the little kids until they cry.
In my house, we call him "dad".

It is also perfect for teaching about Taoism.

One of the concepts of Taoism is Wu Wei. I always tell my teenagers they will love this one because it is all about... doing nothing! (Kind of)

According to myrkothum.com Wu Wei is:

Wu Wei (chinese, literally “non-doing”) is an important concept of Taoism and means natural action, or in other words, action that does not involve struggle or excessive effort. Wu wei is the cultivation of a mental state in which our actions are quite effortlessly in alignment with the flow of life. This going with the flow, although it may be greatly productive, is characterized by great ease where we spontaneously act perfectly.

As soon as I mention this, the kids go nuts!

"Do nothing? Where do I sign up?"

"This is the easiest philosophy ever!"

"I do nothing all the time. I'm already a Tao master."

But then I tell them there is a catch (they know there is always a catch). I explain that Wu Wei means you have become so good at something, that it appears like you aren't trying.

I then ask my students to share with me things that they are so good at, that it appears they are not even trying. Some mention skateboarding or another sport. Others mention musical instruments. Some mention singing or dancing. I tell them mine is entering the code for unlimited lives in the Nintendo video game Super Contra (I think I could still hit Right, Left, Down, Up, A, B, then Start in my sleep).



I don't think I will ever be as good at anything as I am at entering this code. My life is sad.

Whenever a kid gets stuck and thinks they aren't good enough at anything, I ask them one question:

"What do you do, in just about every class, that you have become so good at, that you can do it without your teachers catching you?"

"Texting!!!!!"

(They are all experts at that.)

Then I remind the students that Wu Wei is really all about acting in accordance with the natural flow of the world.

Finally, I share my Elefun story.

When My son was 5 and my daughter was 3, we used to love to play Elefun.

Elefun is a battery operated game whose object is to catch as many "butterflies" as possible in a small net. Before the game, everyone grabs a net. Then you load the butterflies into the very long trunk. You shake them down to the bottom and count to three. Finally, you flip the switch and a fan blows the "butterflies" out of the trunk.


What is wrong with that dad? On his knees? Not knocking down any kids? I guess he just doesn't want it bad enough.

My son and I always worked up quite a sweat playing this game. I would leap and dive in an effort to catch as many butterflies as possible. When I went high, my son slid on the floor to catch the ones I missed. When I dove, he used me as a step stool to reach for the higher ones. After a sixty second round of fun, my son and I were left contorted and panting in an attempt to catch our breath.

While my son and I were putting in enough maximum effort to make even Deadpool proud, my daughter stood like a tiny, delicate statue with her net stationed motionless in front of her. The only part of her that moved was her mouth as her smile increased a little bit every time my son and I flopped around. After a sixty second round of fun, my daughter stood grinning and giggling as I switched off the machine.

The typical final score?

Me 6-8
Timmy 4-7
MJ 12-15

While my son and I were busy fighting nature and creating air currents with our nets (which caused us to miss the butterflies), my daughter went with nature and trusted that the butterflies would find their way into her net.



Although this is not a photo of my daughter, it is an accurate representation of how she lived her life when she was three. I wish we could all live our lives a little bit more like this...

My daughter had mastered Wu Wei without even knowing it. Perhaps that is kind of the point...

If there are any experts on Taoism out there, feel free to correct any mistakes I may be making. I learned everything I know from reading. I would imagine someone who is living it will know a great deal more than me.

*Note: I teach about several world religions and philosophies. I preach about none. Part of our required world history curriculum includes teaching the basic facts of several world religions and philosophies. I would never try to sway students about their own beliefs. The goal is to educate students about what people around the world believe (and how these beliefs shaped history), not to tell them what they should believe.

Images 1, 2, 3

If you would like to earn rewards for this week's @steemiteducation homework assignment, please check out the post here.

****** Please be aware that someone on steemit.chat was impersonating me. He was using my name but with an "L" instead of the "i". Even though the imposter was banned from steemit.chat, it is possible other scammers will pop up. Please be very careful. I assure you that I will NEVER ask anyone for money, bitcoin, steem, SBD, or anything else of value. Please don't fall for these scammers' tricks no matter what names they use. If you are ever wondering if a person is legit, odds are they are not. If you want to check, reach out to them on the steemit blockchain via a post or comment. Don't rely on chat. Thank you to @jacobtothe and @yusaymon for looking out for the entire community by bringing it to people's attention. You guys are heroes!******

Sort:  

I thought I get up early, You beat me. You In Cali

No, I'm in Chicago. But yeah I feed my steemit addiction early... and late lol.

hanshotfirst, really enjoying your article, GBY... seem you n your family have a perfect n simple happy life. My son is an autistic boy, we keep trying to make him understand about purpose of life. I know it's hard n seems impossible due to his condition, but we never give up!

You never should give up! I work with many children with autism and I feel lucky to know each and every one of them.

If you ever want to write any educational articles about what and how you have had to teach him, please tag it steemiteducation so the @steemiteducation team can find it and reward you.

Thank you for letting me know, I probably will do it. I am so very lucky too, knowing a dedicated teacher like you. Thank you for helping them.

Oh wow. It is such a cute explanation of your daughter, ‍👨‍👧
I can feel her cuteness by the way she giggled and that laughter,👧🏼
There could not have been a better example
to explain taoism, your article holds the cutest sample !🤗

I think I too practice Taoism unknowingly now,🎎
Rhyming has become my super power,💪🏻
I don't have to put any effort to write poetries,📝
But is it that easy to follow and learn Tao.🤔

Haha. Thanks captain !! ;)

Don't have kids my self yet this really resonated with me.

While my son and I were putting in enough maximum effort to make even Deadpool proud, my daughter stood like a tiny, delicate statue with her net stationed motionless in front of her. The only part of her that moved was her mouth as her smile increased a little bit every time my son and I flopped around. After a sixty second round of fun, my daughter stood grinning and giggling as I switched off the machine.

Maybe it was just the fact of family loving and playing together, such a typical childhood memory, very nice. Brought the biggest smile to my face.

Thank you! I am glad it made you smile.

I was busy trying to guess you the post was about. Not until I read it. Nice one

Nice to go through the post. Wish you a happy life with your family :)

Wu Wei act of doing nothing at same time doing something at first it sounded confusing but then it became clearer as I went further, if this could actually be applied in our day to day activities probably could archieve more than our previous attempt and still stay more healthy and happy.
Thanks for the brief discussion

Have you ever seen a Taoist Excorcism?

I have never seen this. Fascinating!

Thank you for this interesting and all-embrasing post. Taoism is one of the field that i'm interested in It's hard to say what's most valuable about Taoism, because for me Taoism is the highest form of philosophy I know.
I would say that the most valuable aspect of Taoism is how it can explain the greatest matters in such a brief form. Many people believe that the most important things in life need volumes written about them to be adequately described. When I first read the Tao Te Ching, I did not understand the half of it (to say the least), but I recognized something of great value in it. Years down the road, I have still not fully got to the bottom of it, and it's only 81 very short chapters. The first chapter especially bewildered me for a long time, but now I think I have begun to understand it. That is the beauty of it. Philosophical Taoism explains things with words, that point beyond words, and it does so with brevity and as much clarity as possible.

As a father that is way more competitive than I should be with a four year old girl, I know exactly what you mean! This is such a great metaphor and really drove home how it relates. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65