Five Ways to Improve your Steemit Posts

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

Who wants to improve the quality of their posts? (Hint... you should all be raising your hand). No matter how good your content already is, chances are - there are ways you can improve it. Maybe that means experimenting with new things, or getting out of your comfort zone to try something a little different.

Constantly learning and evolving is part of what helps you bring your unique voice and talent to the steemisphere!

When browsing through Steemit, reading and responding to various articles - we naturally tend to critique their content. What we liked, what we didn't like, what worked well, what seemed a little off... etc. If you want to improve the quality of your posts, I suggest taking that critical eye and turning them on your own posts.

ipad.jpg

Do an Artistic Critique from 5 Perspectives


Take a few of your recent posts and try to go through them as an observer. If possible, detach emotionally and look at it from a more non-partial point of view. This can be a little tough, especially if you’ve poured hours into the post... but it's definitely a worthwhile exercise.


Evaluate Flow



First, scan your article visually and see how it looks and feels from a layout perspective. Do you have photos that are fairly evenly spaced between text? People can usually relax into reading an article more easily when it looks visually appealing. By keeping the flow of text, photos, headings and quotes as evenly spaced as possible throughout the article – it will look more put together.

rocks.jpg

Second, read through the entire thing. Ok, so maybe the visual format feels good, but how does it flow when you are actually reading the piece? If you find yourself starting to glaze over certain paragraphs – this is a good sign that you need to break it up. You could do this by splitting it into two smaller paragraphs, adding a photo or quote, or maybe re-wording a few sentences so they have a bit more OOMPH!!

Generally speaking, people have a hard time staying focused in a big block of text. Keep it interesting and break it up!

Be Smart About the Photos you Use



Good visuals can go a long way in enhancing your posts. Generally speaking, having a few photos sprinkled throughout your post will go a long way to making it look more professional and visually appealing. More than just breaking up the text though – photos have the power to set the mood for your entire article.

Sure, almost any photo is better than nothing – but if you put in the time to find photos that really encapsulate the points you are trying to make, your readers will really be able to feel that through the screen!

camera.jpg

Also, I’m sure this goes without saying… but make sure you credit the photos if they are not your own! Even a statement at the bottom of the article is better than not crediting them at all. Pixabay.com is one of my favorite spots to free, high quality images – but sometimes a quick google search will yield good results as well.


Please, Please Please Start Using more Headings! (hint… it helps with engagement)



As you can see in this post, I’ve utilized a few different heading styles by making the big points centered and larger, and the sub points smaller and aligned to the right.People love to know what’s happening next, and by providing a clear road map – they will likely be more engaged as a reader.

map.jpg

This also allows people to quickly scan the article to see if the topic interests them. When people feel like it will be a “chore” to read your article… you are going to start losing people in the first paragraph. By really breaking things up and providing a clear outline for the article – they are more likely to read the parts that interest them and then scan the parts that don’t. There’s nothing wrong with that!

I think we can all agree that we’d like to see more meaningful engagement here on steemit and fewer crappy “nice post” comments. By keeping your reader engaged, they are more likely to make it to the end of your post and feel inspired to leave a meaningful comment.

Set the Mood Up Front



This is something that I haven’t personally focused on much, but would like to moving forward. Have you ever noticed that @surfermarley starts each post with some kind of inspirational quote that relates to the article? I think this is brilliant because it immediately puts the reader in the right frame of mind to digest her content.

trust-me-you-can-dance-prints.jpg

Ok... maybe this isn't the best quote to set the mood



i am.jpg

Ahh.... much better

By setting the mood with your readers in the beginning, they will feel more of an emotional connection to your article and are more likely to get something meaningful out of the post. Using a quote is a great way to do this…but you could also just focus on crafting your first paragraph to set the mood as well.

This particular tip can be a bit harder to quantify because everyone writes and interprets words differently – but take a few moments to critically access your opening paragraph. Are they a couple of bland sentences strung together… or do they paint a picture? What emotions are evoked in these words? None…? Hmmm… you can probably do better.

Close with a Call-Out to Readers



Steemit is all about building community and relationships. Generic comments like, “I really loved reading this post!” and generic responses like “I’m so glad you liked it!” are not bad, but they don’t really help us get to know each other better. Most people want to engage in a more meaningful way, but maybe feel lost on where to start.

online friends.gif

By closing your article in a way that generates conversation – you are helping to encourage better discussion. This could be a specific question about your readers personal experience with the topic, or a thought provoking statement that you are asking readers to give input on, or perhaps even a call to action that encourages readers to post a picture, article or some other medium in the comments.

To be honest… I’m terrible at this and would really like to improve. I often get to the end of an article and feel lost on what to write and so I post something generic like, “I hope you enjoyed this article. Thanks for reading!”. Does that do anything to encourage good conversation? Nope.

Someone who I think is really good at this is @denmarkguy. I’d recommend following him and then studying some of posts to see how he wraps things up in a way that promotes dialogue.


I really hope you find this article helpful. Thanks so much for reading!



hahah you didn’t think I’d let myself off that easy did you??

Ok, here’s my attempt at closing out this article with a call-out to readers.

I have a homework assignment for you all. We covered 5 key areas that you can look at to critique and improve your steemit blog posts and then there were little nuggets within each one. If you read this article, I want you to pick ONE thing that you will focus on in your next post and comment on what that is below.

homework.jpg

If you want to get really ambitions, I’d love for you to also leave a link to your next post where you used that idea and put it into practice. That’s right… feel free to comment twice. Once saying what you are going to focus on and another one after you’ve put it into practice.

Seriously though... I really do hope you found this post helpful and I really am grateful that you are here reading it! <3

Photos generously provided by Pixabay and GIPHY



A Few of My Recent Posts


DtubeDance // Improv Partner Switching and Three Person Dance!
Dtube Exclusive - Stay With Me by Sam Smith (Ukulele Cover)
Dtube Exclusive - Issues by Julia Michaels (Ukulele Cover)
Sort:  

Thank you for the tips and the key areas to work on when composing posts! I'm choosing to evaluate the flow of my articles :)
Also, I am following and subscribed to you and am just so amazed at where you began in Steemit and Dtube and how far you've come! Honestly I'm just beginning on this journey of blogging, recording, and making lasting relationships!
Do you have any advice or tips for me? I'm a musician and I've really been focusing on using my love for music in fueling what I record and write about. But are there any specific tips that you have to share with me? I'd really appreciate them!
Manga Smile.jpg

Hi @lifetipsbysn! That’s great that you are going to focus on flow in your next few posts! I can’t wait to see how that turns out, and please don’t hesitate to let me know if you have any questions.

I just looked through your recent posts and have a couple of words of advice!

  • I would maybe add a little bit more text to your music video articles. You could add the lyrics to your post and maybe talk a little bit more about why you like this song and what it means to you.

  • I would recommend getting to know other musicians on steemit. It seems like you’re already doing a good job of commenting and engaging with others, so I would just say to keep that up!

  • On a similar note, I would recommend joining open mic. It is a really supportive community of musicians, and it’s a great way to get to know other like-minded people on the platform! If you aren’t already, I would recommend following @luczypher to get all the details on the weekly contest. He always post the new contest on Sundays. So if you follow him now, you can watch for that post coming out tomorrow.

Thank you for the tips and for taking the time to give me some advice!
I'll look into open mic more and will contemplate adding more text to the music video articles I post! I look forward to continuing my journey here on Steemit and appreciate your input :)

Wow! This is a great post! I'm so glad I read it. I do some of these things, but think about them differently. I appreciate your insight and can't say enough about the quality of your post. Nice work. Hope you have a great day.

Aww thanks for stopping by and reading my post @walkingkeys! I’m glad that this post gave you another perspective to consider. 😊

nice post

Just kidding, great post! These are important tips and even as a writer I often neglect them. I'm going to focus on the flow of my next few pieces to see if I can master that and then focus on improving the other aspects of each. There is always room to improve as a writer, and the more you know, the more you realize you don't know.

Great use of "OOMPH" btw.

I hope you don't mind, but I found a couple things in your closing that you might want to update (I'm only a Grammar Cop for good, and love when people help correct my articles, so I hope you don't take offense).

"We covered 4 key areas that you can look at to critique and improve your steemit blog posts and then there were little nuggest within each one."

You covered 5 amazing areas, and nuggest sounds pretty cool, but I'm pretty sure you meant nuggets. Great work and thanks for the tips!

Hahah I loved your opening @michaelluchies! Also, thanks so much for noticing the errors in my closing paragraph. They have been fixed and I appreciate you pointing them out. I wonder what a nuggest is anyway? lol

Very cool that you are going to focus on flow in your next few articles! Please let me know when you’ve posted an article with this in mind. I would love to check it out and stop by to give you a vote!

Wow, amazing work!! Ieft a more detailed comment on your post. 😊

Thanks! Of course, from one writer to another and I look forward to following your work.

I will! I'm working on a quick guide for accomplishing goals next.

Great tips!

I'll add a couple more.

  1. Center your headings - It helps them stand out from the content
  2. Use formatting to make things pop, italics, bold, etc... and especially the > quote option whenever doing so.

Great formatting tips, @raised2b! I have played around with centering and left aligning my headers, and I think you are right that centering them makes it look more prominent on the page. :-)

I am relatively new to the platform. My posts so far have gone unnoticed without earning a single penny. I followed you for more such informative posts and reestemed your post to read it with due attention later.

Here you go, have 4 pennies :D

Thank you so much. Stay blessed.

@mmaism I’m glad that it sounds like you got some good tips from here. I just looked through your blog and you have some really great photography! Assuming they are your original photos .. I have a small tip for you. I wonder if you tried adding a bit of text with each post- that might help the viewer get a bit more context on where the photo was taken and what you like about it. It doesn’t have to be long, maybe even just a few sentences.

Adding a bit more description would also help readers to know that the photos are your original work and not just taken off the internet. When a photo is posted without any other description or information, it would be easy for one to think that.

I hope that helps and best of luck to you!

This is very informative and helpful blog. I like your all the opinions and suggestions that you have provided in the article.
Thanks for sharing these beautiful ways to improve us on steemit.

Thank you @anayakhan! I’m so glad you got some good tips from this post! Did you pick one that you are going to try and focus on?

thanks for the hint, you are indeed gifted in your doingsIMG-20171101-WA0004.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94