7 Super Simple Steps for Accomplishing Your Goals with a Steemit-Based Example: Check It Out!

in #steemit7 years ago

Most of our goals are never achieved. It's not because we aren't capable of reaching our goals; we just don't plan properly. Without planning, a goal might as well be a far-fetched dream that you will never come anywhere close to achieving.

So let's change that. I created these seven steps to help myself have a better chance of accomplishing my own goals, and I think these could be valuable to you (which is why I'm sharing them).

Here are 7 simple steps you should take to properly plan for your goals:

Step 1: Write Down Your Goal

Write it down.jpg

Take out a pen and paper or open up a word document on your computer, and simply write down what your goal is. Make your goal as specific as possible. In the example below, my goal is “Earn 1,000 STEEM by 12/31/18.”

Step 2: List “Inputs”

Now think about everything that will have to go into you accomplishing your goal--each part of it. These are things that you have know or do in order to reach your goal. Write down each “input.”

For example, if you wanted to win a marathon, some of the inputs would include:

  • Training from a Coach
  • Running Shoes
  • Time to Practice
  • Money for the Entry Fee
  • A Treadmill, Gym Membership, and/or Trail to Run On

Step 3: Define Barriers

What could stop you from reaching your goal? Write down each of these real and potential barriers.

For example, in our marathon example from step 2, an injury could stop you. Writing down barriers helps you see everything that could get in your way so that you can plan on how to avoid them.

Step 4: Create Steps

Steps to Take.jpg

You now know what you need to do in order to achieve your goal and what could prevent you from it. Now write down the specific steps (they don’t have to be in order) that you believe you need to take. Make sure to look at my example below.

Step 5: Set Deadlines

Go back through your steps and set deadlines to complete each step if you didn’t already set a deadline for each. For example, if trying to win a marathon at the very end of the year, a deadline you could set is to race in a 5K by 2/28.

Setting deadlines will help keep you moving towards your goal.

Step 6: Get Started!

Click to start.jpg

It’s now time to get started! Start with your first step. If you’re not able to start moving on this step, move on to step 2. The sooner you start and start checking off your steps and moving closer to your goal, the more you’ll feel motivated to keep going.

Step 7: Adjust as Needed

What you believe is needed in order to achieve your goals today may change tomorrow. Adjust the inputs, steps, and deadlines as needed.

Putting This Guide Into Practice – My Example

Here is an actual goal I have for this year, and how I plan on reaching it.

Warning: The handwriting below is terrible. There's a reason I usually write with a keyboard instead of pen and paper.

20180120_142541 (2).jpg

20180120_142602 (2).jpg

20180120_142613 (2).jpg

This post is part of my first step. I sincerely hope this guide has been helpful and will get you closer to accomplishing your goals! Now take a step towards accomplishing your goal and write it down!

Steemit Banner.jpg

Sort:  

This article literally blew me away!! I know you said you’d be focusing on flow and you totally nailed it. Such great use of headings, sub points and photos. The handwritten goals at the end is a really nice touch too. There is something about physically writing things down that creates a different reaction in the brain. Good stuff!

Your goal list shows you are committed to putting in the work to make it here on Steemit. Keep posting great articles like this and you will definitely do well here!! I can’t wait to see your progress!

Thank you so much! Yes, I'm just so embarrassed of my handwriting (my mother said I write like a serial killer.....and she's a psychiatric therapist!).

I really appreciate the kind words. Looking forward to seeing your future work as well. Your last post should've gotten a lot more attention.

That’s kind of you. You never know what posts will do well sometimes! Haha I think it really comes down to timing and wether people happen to see it in the first hour or two.

Again, great work!

Great article Michael! I have a pretty similar planning system.

PS: As your already know, I am new to Steemit and I found your example extremely helpful and valuable! Thanks

Thanks! Do you have any goals yet for Steemit?

I don't. I just think it can be one of the next big social media platforms and I also like the community

Thank you so much for sharing! I've learned a lot!

Thanks, I appreciate the kind words!

Well done Michael! We need to do this too and set goals and deadlines. We have an overall structure and focus, but there is always refining. We hope you get to the 1,000 STEEM before your deadline.

Awesome, thank you! Have you found anything helpful for you guys?

We want to build on followers and not only followers, but readers that will interact with our posts. We might need to create some open-ended posts in the future to start a discussion. Building on more steem power will come in time. We can see that some Steemians have 2,500-5,000 SP in a year and a half. Yet, we feel it is harder to get to that point in the same time frame now. You know the saying: early bird catches the worm. Becca and I will discuss this together over the week. We have the goals, just need to develop steps and a deadline - has to be SMART. Thanks for your helpful framework.

Yeah, I agree. I think it's going to be really difficult, but people who are taking time to interact and become an actual part of the community instead of just trying to get rich quick are going to be able to break through. Yes, I'm a fan of SMART goals as well!

You know what @michaelluchies, I think I will do this my self!
I might take some inspiration from your post, and then create my own list of goals. I will of course share them with you so you could rate my thoughts, but I kind of like the idea off goals with deadlines. I feel like it gives your work, here on the STEEM blockchain, a purpose to be as good as possible in order to succeed with the goals.

It becomes more of a target rather then a goal when you implement time as a limit.

Thank you for sharing @michealluchies, keep the good work up and good luck on your goals, I will follow you all the way :D

Awesome man, do it! Yes, it gives you something to measure your goals against and then shift so you can make sure you're on the right track. I plan on some of the inputs and steps changing, but as of right now, this is what I believe will get me there.

Thanks for the kind words, for following, commenting, being a friend, etc.!

No worries my man!

Cool, i'll make a post, tag you in it to spread your love, send the link to you so you can rate it.

I think the content you are providing looks clean and well thought trough. Therefor I like to read your stuff. Soo... if you are looking to collaborate with anyone then I am more than happy to do so :)

Thanks. Yeah, always up for collaborating. Want to get to know as many Steemians as possible and help us all spread the word and build up ourselves as well (in the name of helping others, but hey, we deserve to work towards our goals at the same time :-)).

Yes we deserve!

Here I made a post about my goals and target. I will make another post in the future where I give a update about how my goals and targets are doing.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@johnasp96/lets-set-some-targets-and-goals

Here is my follow up on my first post that was inspired by your article. Much appreaciated if you checked it out! gave you another shoutout.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@johnasp96/how-i-believe-you-and-i-can-succeed-step-by-step-targets-and-goals

Wish you well!

Nice article will try it :)

Thanks! Please let me know how it goes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65673.10
ETH 2625.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66