DtubeDance // Improv Partner Switching and Three Person Dance!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

A407863B-1E9A-4E6A-8B1D-3358C7E5CA62.jpeg

Hi Steemit/Dtube Friends!

My dance video took an unexpected turn! Last week I posted a video from an improv west coast swing dance with my friend Edoh. I went to film something again with him this week, and my friend Heather ambushed! :)

Partner switching is a pretty cool way to dance and it doesn't happen very often. It takes quite a bit of skill on the leaders part to pull it off.

At the end - all three of us were dancing together! This is a totally different skill set in and of itself.

The Dance Started Business as Usual!

I asked my friend Edoh to film another dance video and so we grabbed the next song and my Teresa offered to film us. We are going to try filming every week (I filmed her and Edoh dancing) so that we can continue to improve. Few things help me to improve faster than seeing myself on camera. It can really help highlight what's going well and point out areas for improvement.

We were just jamming along, enjoying ourselves, when Heather surprised us by stealing me mid-dance. A dance battle ensues...

8854A6DC-03CB-4F2E-B536-ED12F9D5F917.gif

Partner Switching

Partner switching is when two leads go back and forth with dancing with the same follow during a song. The whole point is to make the switch a seamless transition for the follow (me!) so that I almost don't notice that they have a new partner.

This is why it was so fun and surprising when I was suddenly dancing with Heather instead of Edoh! Edoh was a good sport and kept the switching train going.

Leaders basically need to watch and the follow the exact movements of the other lead so they can place their hand exactly where it would have been so the follow keeps dancing without a rough transition.

This is fun dance style or "trick" to try out and i'm always impressed by people who are able to pull it off so well. I was just enjoying the ride!

F8A9F17F-CD92-42FD-9E83-145B78A07170.gif

Three Person Dance

Towards the end of our partner switching dance - Heather threw us another curveball. She grabbed Edoh's hand so that he had to lead both of us at the same time. You can see in the video that we stumbled a bit at first before getting into a good groove.

I honestly think this is even harder than partner switching because the leader has to do completely independant things with both hands with real, live dancers on the end of each one!

I thought he pulled it off like a pro and it was definitely a fun way to end the dance.

42B3B317-CF30-4AFA-97CC-B244543091E3.gif

A couple notes on the video...

This video was taken live at a social dance - and so there is some ambient noise from people chatting on the sidelines. I ran a few filters on the audio to try and reduce it, and so I hope it isn't too distracting.

Also, the lights were down pretty low and the disco ball was out in full glory - so the video quality isn't stellar.

Even with these limitations, I hope you guys enjoy the raw feel of this video. Hopefully you'll even feel like you were right there!

Thanks so much for watching... I appreciate you guys so much!! <3


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow here comes the ukulele queen in another kinda dance, the first dance with the first patner is amazing, you can really swing a lot, wow I really enjoyed watching it.

Aww thanks my friend! I’m so glad you enjoyed the video!

wow, very impressing to see this.
I wonder how it is working. Is it all completely improvised or like a schema of moves or like a choreography?

You all seem to know what you do ;)
I like how calm your dance partner is reacting, even keeping a sense of playfullness and like he is enjoying it. He does seem quite confident in this unprepared situation Oo

If i wouldnt be a minnow i would upvote with more steem power so you get a better payout haha

Aww that is so sweet of you @itissnow! So this dance is 100% improv... and so nothing is choreographed. In the moment, the leader decides what move to do, and yeh follower is basically trying to feel and listen to the movement to know what to do next.

This dance amazing..Dtube great channel..Thanks for sharing this post..Beat of luck.

Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed the video!

you are most welcome!

Amazing post, Three person dance and partner switching was so beautiful. I really like it. Good post, thanks for sharing. Its so good i wait for your post.

Aww thanks @thedawn! I appreciate all of your support on my channel!

Nice blog like that .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46