A teacher stopping his Anakin from becoming Darth Vader

in #steemiteducation7 years ago


Image source

I was teaching a student a question on verbs for a solid 45 minutes. It was a short answer question, not too difficult, but there was a power struggle between the student and I. See, we both had very different ideas of how a teacher should help the student.

I felt that it was my duty to teach the concept of verbs and help the student understand it. The student however saw me as a living, breathing search engine. The student felt that as long as the question is asked, it is my duty to give the answer. Hence, began a long explanation and teaching process that tests my patience and sanity. I do not blame that student, really, I know many teachers before me had just gave in and decided that it was much easier to just supply the right answer. However, I felt that by doing so, I am crippling that particular student.

ADDRESSING A NEED

I know I have the student's best interest at heart, but she thought otherwise. Ultimately, it is about how we addressed the need. I felt that the need was in the lack of understanding and I wanted to address it. The student's need on the other hand, was just looking for the perfect answer. This is similar to Obi-Wan Kenobi, I felt that as Anakin's teacher, Obi-Wan failed to see what Anakin's need was. He was a good teacher, but he was trying to teach Anakin something that was not relevant to Anakin at that time, but if only Anakin trusted Obi-Wan, I am sure he would have saw that good in Obi-Wan's ways.

That being said, I understood the student's needs to know the right answer, I do provide clues that help the student see the entire picture. I used stories, analogies, I questioned and I link it to things that they are familiar with. Most importantly, I also try to do away with some very very bad habits.

DISMANTLING THE BAD


Image source

This leads to 'dismantling the bad'. Going back to Star Wars, we know that Palpatine was the one thing that nudged Anakin towards the dark side. It was Palpatine who planted a sense of false hope in Anakin which led him towards embracing the dark side. One of that particular turning point was killing Master Windu, but we will get to that in a bit.

For my case, my Palpatine was the need to be right. I feel that my society has shunned upon the need to make mistakes. Everything must be perfect, every question must be answered correctly without fail and no one is allowed to make mistakes. People often forget that it is through mistakes that we learn and without grace for the students to make mistakes, we are taking away learning opportunities. Furthermore, we are also instilling fear in making mistakes, discouraging the students from trying or even thinking because they feel they are going to make mistakes.

As such, I was trying my best to encourage the students to try, to make mistakes. However, it is difficult to unlearn what one has learnt. As the student repeatedly refuses to try, it is very tempting to take matters into one's hands and just give the answer. Worse, it is very tempting to scold and get angry.

DON'T BE A WINDU


Image source

As such, don't be a Windu. I am referring to how Master Windu decided to take matters into his own hands and tried to kill Palpatine which was not exactly the Jedi's way. This led to Anakin Skywalker to stop him and indirectly, killed him.

As a teacher, it is tempting to try to 'lecture a student harshly'. I know, we do have the best intentions to educate our students, but sometimes we have to see things from their point of view. I try my best not to lecture my students (although my official title is academic lecturer), instead I try my best to help them see the consequences of their actions. It is a longer route, but at the very least if the students understand and see things your way, they will remember the lesson for life.

CONCLUSION

Ok, maybe I have exaggerated about the Darth Vader bit. I doubt my student would become a murderous, force-filled Sith Lord, but that being said, I worry that the dark side is way too tempting. I worry that the dark side of copying, short cuts and easy ways out of problems are crippling our younger generation and students.

As such, I hope that our students will be Anakins and not Darth Vaders but even if they do become Darth Vaders. Darth Vader still did the right thing at the end which, in my opinion shows that no matter how difficult the situation, there is still hope in our students.

Hope you enjoyed this, I know there are many fans of star wars out there. So if you are reading this and find a mistake, do let me know. As for the teachers reading this, may the force be with you.


Image source


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

Greetings. You can find my response to this transmission here.

O I enjoy your posts - I can just imagine what an awesome teacher you are - resteeming

Thank you, appreciate such a wonderful compliment. I love your posts too, you are indeed an education Rockstar!

Some would say sucker for punishment hahaaha and then the light goes up in one child's eyes and I feel indeed like a rockstar

Yeah, @anneke he is an awesome teacher, i really look up to him :)

Always great to hear that

Since we're on Star Wars, I wonder if Rey will go to the dark side..

Doubt it.. I think she's faking it in the trailer or it's off a different context.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Great post. I enjoyed reading it. Thank you for sharing this :)

i am also a teacher of zoology
i like your post

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.86$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Lordvader's post brought me here, enjoyed reading your post. Teachers are incredible, and the amount of patience needed to teach is second to none. Followed you! Keep up the great work.

Thank you, although a visit from the sith lord himself was actually more awesome.. haha..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56769.47
ETH 2402.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30