STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #39: LUNCH FOR BABIES

3.jpg

My daughter always makes two course lunch for our twin boys consisting of the main meal and dessert. This is why I made it that way too.

Even though our boys are already toddlers and they love to eat fruits whole, they equally enjoy smoothies and purée. Nevertheless, this smoothie is perfect for any age from about 10 months up to old age. I assume that most of you know how rich in nutrients these ingredients are and having them blend into smoothie makes them even more powerful.

1.jpg

2.jpg

GREEN SMOOTHIE
Vegan – Gluten Free
Author: Lena’s Vegan Living

INGREDIENTS for 2 – 3 portions
• Mango 1 (peeled and cut into cubes and slices)
• Kiwi 2 (peeled and cut into quarters)
• Avocado 1 small or ½ big (peeled and cut into quarters)
• Spinach 1cup
• Chia 1tbs

Blend in high power bleeder until smooth.

1.jpg

The barely soup is also extremely healthy and equally appropriate for babies as for adults, except for adults you don’t have to blended it and you add salt and other seasoning. I have the original recipe for adults on my blog, so if you like to try it for yourself, please follow this link. https://www.lenasveganliving.com/smoky-barley-

If you are not too familiar with barley, then you may like to learn that it is one of the oldest ancient grains going back to 10 000 years cultivated by Egyptians. It is highly nutritious, rich in phytochemicals, fiber, minerals and protein. The health benefits of barley are quite substantial, from balanced blood sugar levels to protection against cardiovascular disease and cancer. Although Barley is not completely gluten free, its gluten level is very low.

iPiccy-collage.jpg

BABY BARLEY
Barley soup with Veggies and Mushrooms
Author: Lena’s Vegan Living

Ingredients
• Barley ¼ cup
• Water 4 cups
• Carrots 1 cup (sliced)
• Celery ½ cup (sliced)
• Mushroom 1cut in half
• Onion 1thick slice
• Garlic 1 clove
• Italian parsley ¼ cup (only the leaves)
• Oil ¼ tsp

PROCESS
• Bring water with barley to boil.
• Add the onion, carrots, celery.
• Let it simmer for about 40min.
• Lightly sauté mushrooms and whole garlic clove.
• Transfer it from the pan onto paper towel to remove excess oil.
• Cut the mushroom into quarters and add them with garlic and parsley to the soup.
• Take it off the heat and let it cool down for few minutes.
• Transfer the soup into a blender and by pressing the pulse button, blend the soup into chunky puree.

I made the soup at home and the smoothie at my daughter's place. I don't have cute baby things at home so the photo is not so baby like as the smoothie is

5.jpg

I am not going to lie, they were playing with the soup more than they were eating it. It was a mess. But they loved the smoothie. I ate most of the soup myself lol.

6.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VISITING

https://www.lenasveganliving.com/

Sort:  

Both things look absolutely delish! I often make smoothis with those ingredients too (I run out of chia though). Lately I bought some frozen raspberries and they are perfect to add too!

Oh and the soup... I love barely in soups and stews. And I also eat it in a sweet way for breakfast. Just boil it the night before and then in the morning add some seeds, sweet fruits, mix together and it is sooo good! (I would add some honey and yogurt, but I know you are vegan, so skip that).

Thank you so much Ewka, I am glad you like it 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

I love the barley done sweet for breakfast! I need a chia tree. I run out of seeds way too oten! Barley rocks! Good for you too. Go figure.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!

Thank you 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lenasveganliving from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thank you 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-09-01 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Thank you so much 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

This is such a fabulous post, Lena! Those incredible green smoothies just pull you right into the post, they are so pleasing to the eye. Big-time points for presentation on these. These boys will have very discerning palates by the time they are three. :)

The ingredients used are fresh and so yummy looking. I appreciate the way you photograph them with the measurements on them. A real time-saver for me. The smoothie is also a wonderful way to sneak ingredients in for a fussy eater, adding more and more of that ingredient as their taste buds adjust and accept the flavor. For some reason, it took me a while to get used to the taste of kale and now, I just can't get enough of it.

The boys' expression is priceless as they toy with the barley soup, but, the fact that it is offered and tried is fantastic!

Skillfully done, attractively displayed and delightful to read.

Upped and Steemed

Delightful to read you say! Wow! Thank you so much Denise, you know how much I admire your writing so compliment like that is a big one!!! You always know how to cheer me up, even now, when I am little bit disappointed. But hey, there will be another week, so I am not losing hope. And speaking of kale, believe or not, the boys like it. Well mainly because of my special apple cider/maple syrup dressing lol. They like sour flavours, just like me and my daughters do. I guess that's why they like the smoothie. The kiwi ads little bit of sour flavour, but still sweet enough.

First off, it is always a pleasure to come across one of your recipes!

Where can I find your apple cider/ maple syrup dressing recipe? I eat kale almost every day and I love the sour flavor! Don't be disappointed, it is all part of the game. xoxo

It's on my blog, but I will just write it for you. It's super easy. Choose a small mason jar to mix your dressing and you can store it for few days. Then fill 1 /3 of that jar with apple cider, 1/3 with maple syrup and 1/3 with oil of your choice. Can be olive oil, avocado oil or grapeseed oil preferably organic cold pressed. Add some garlic powder, close the jar and shake it very well. Oh and the game, I know lol. XOXO

Thank you so much!!! That was worth a tip!!!

My pleasure Denise and thank you for the tip, however, I don't think it works with 3 exclamations lol

I cannot believe I did that! tip!

OHHHHHHH Denise, you are sooooooo funny and sweet. Thank u so much, I really appreciate your support XOXO

Fabulously nutritious two-course meal there @lenasveganliving! And they both look so good I want to eat them myself, never mind the twins haha! Love that photo of them by the way :-) Mmmmm... I can almost smell that soup, it's making my stomach growl! I have regularly fed barley to my own son since he was about 10 months and he's always seemed to digest it well, plus it's a subtle flavour so can be mixed with anything, savoury or sweet both, for an endless variety of different meals. Great for bulking out a meal too, and it's quite soft so can be 'gummed' easily before the teeth come through!

The way you presented the green smoothie is beautiful, and I'm delighted you say the twins enjoy such a nutritious dessert. My son also eats this kind of thing each day and he never gets ill. I bet those twins too have strong immune systems! Very easy to eat, and with such a vibrant colour it's no wonder they like it... It looks fantastic!

Both of these courses can be prepared in bulk and frozen in those little portion-sized jars for future meals, which no doubt you do, I just mention for interest of readers :-) Another really great entry Lena, and I wish you good luck!

Thank you so much Dear @woman-onthe-wing I am very happy you like it 🍇🍍💚🍓🍉

Congratulations @lenasveganliving on not one but two prizes for your two-course baby meal... first prize and also 'most creative'! Seems you're regularly impressing @englishtchrivy with all your creative creations! Well done :-)

I am so happy, thank you so much both of you 😊

This soup is quite similar to this which I eat when I have problem with digestion. It's really healthy and your looks also veeery healthy, and I think that it's not only for babies but also adults can eat this. Yummy! Good luck in challenge my friend :)

Thank you so much Dear @babettxx I am glad you like it ..........and yes this soup is wonderful for adults too. I attached link for the original recipe I have on my blog. I like to make it little bit spicy and with smoke flavour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46