steemit4free - 3D map suppliments - @thecryptofiend's Rachelle

in #steemit4free8 years ago (edited)

I like the concept of Steemit4Free and what it seems to stand for. @thecryptofiend just posted some Rachelle shots on one of his own Steemit4Free post. I am not a photographer. I am however, pretty good at using the Unity Game Engine to make still images for my posts.

I showed how I do this in this first post, and the second part.

Well in the spirit of that I have taken this FIRST image by @thecryptofiend from his post and I have made normal maps, ambient occlusion maps, and height maps. These can then be used in a 3D program, or in Unity like I do in order to do cool 3D things with them.

Here are the maps both normal and inverted.



Invert


Using these in conjunction with the Tutorials


When you combine these in conjunction with the previous Unity tutorials I provided you can get things like this. The maps combined with a physically based shader make the image that is normally flat have 3D properties which make it light and angle reactive. You can do some neat things once it is in such a state.












Why did I do this?


I like the idea of steemit4free and I wanted to see how quickly and how effective taking some images and building the normal maps, occlusion, and height maps could be.

If you want more 3D Maps and art that you guys can use please consider giving me an up vote and/or simply commenting to let me know. Do you have some images you want me to convert?

You can also do it yourself, as I did indicate the tools I tend to use and explained how to do these style of images in my previous tutorial posts.

"Feel free to use these in your own posts if you want as per Steemit4free."

Steem On!

EDIT: I wanted to add one more. In all the shots above I was using a directional light which is pretty much a constant intensity. It doesn't necessarily show off how cool lights can react with a properly mapped image. I made one more with that directional light off and I added in a point light.

Sort:  

Pretty cool stuff. I piss about a bit with the images from Pixabay in Gimp and any other tool I can lay my hands on. I might check out Unity. Thanks for the info;D~

Unity is intended for making games... but I find it is handy for making nice images too. It is free unless you gross more than 100K/year. :)

This is very cool. Some of these effects are very artistic!

I just realized I wasn't really showing off the lighting well. I used a directional light in all of those images which is kind of directional and constant intensity. I turned that off... added a point light... and made one more image.

Your photos were very good. I don't know that I chose my favorite one from those you took, I simply took the first one. I was considering mapping all of those photos, but decided to just do one and see if people like it. If people want a map of some of the others (yourself included) they can let me know which number.

Cool. Well let me know if you need bigger versions I can send you a link in the chat.

Your size is pretty good for my purposes. I use bitmap2material to make my maps, and it prefers power of two images to work with. So I changed your image from 810x541 to 1024x1024 which of course distorted it, made the maps and then resized each map back to 810x541.

I try to add original images to all of my posts now and this is how I do it. I may want to map some of those others, yet since I tend to make them as elements within a scene the size you have is pretty good.

Keep up the good work. Truly awesome photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53