Channels.cc Steemit Competitor

in #steemit6 years ago

Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png

Blog and get paid! It is a simple but successful formula used on Steemit. Authors can post their blogs, videos, pictures and reap the rewards of their creations.

There are some other sites like Patreon and OngSocial for example that are very similar but use different methods than Steemit when it comes to rewarding authors.
A new interesting site has recently emerged called channels.cc. The concept is basically the same as Steemit, authors can post a wide variation of content and get paid for their efforts.

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

The Similarities
Like Steemit authors can post a wide variety of content on the site and receive tokens ( called ChannelCoin) as a reward. You can follow other authors and personalize your account profileso that you can let others know what you’re all about.
There are various channels with top (trending) and new feeds (posts).
The site is very clear and easy to navigate which and it is very easy to use.
Like Steemit you get some funds when you start out (2.5 ChannelCoins) and just like Steemit you need a minimum amount of tokens in your account for your account to stay usable.


Imgur


The differences
The site calls itself "a simple micro payment site for content" but unlike Steemit where other authors have to upvote your content for author rewards, on Channel.cc authors get paid for views.
Instead of posts, authors make cards and add the price tag for viewing that card. When the card is opened and the content is viewed the price for viewing the content is deducted from the balance of the viewer and added to the balance of the author.
So let’s say that I make a blog and set the price for viewing this blog at 0.05 ChannelCoin (which equals $0.05) then will receive 0.05 ChannelCoins every time someone opens my card and views my blog (it doesn't mean that someone has to actually read it).

This is why the initial balance is important because without this you won’t be able to view other content.

You can also make a card where people are paid for viewing, so instead of you getting paid you will pay the readers for viewing your content

Channels.cc has more options than Steemit content wise, besides the usual blogs, videos and music/podcast, you can also embed HTML games or advertise.


Imgur


The biggest difference with Steemit is the Token, Steemit uses Steem and Steem Dollars as currency which can be traded on Exchanges whereas ChannelCoin looks like it can only be converted to fiat on channels.cc.

At time of writing I still have no idea how this works. You need at least 6 ChannelCoins in your balance before you can sell ChannelCoin for dollars and I haven't earned enough yet to test this.


Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

Plagiarism and click bait
A lot of the problems in channels.cc’s future will be similar with those of Steemit. The site needs a way to battle cut-n-paste plagiarized content. Because of the pay-per-view aspect of the site click bait can also become a problem, imagine getting “tricked” into opening a card expecting quality content only to be disappointed by something else completely. Normally this wouldn’t be a problem but on Channels.cc this means that you just lost some of your tokens.

Moderating
It is not clear to me how Channels.cc is going to check the posted content especially when more people start using the site. With Steemit the authors are also the moderators but while I was on Channels.cc I did not encounter anything resembling a moderator.

The Token
I am also not sure how I feel about the ChannelCoin, I can’t figure out if it is a real cryptocurrency or not and if this is an advantage or more of a disadvantage compared to smartmedia tokens.

Curation
Upvoting is just upvoting on channel.cc so it is unclear to me how the good content is going to be promoted over the lesser content.

Cross posting
Another thing is their stance on cross posting, it says in the Channels.cc how-to that they don’t like plagiarized content but there is no mention of cross posting. Is it allowed or not?

How are they expecting to make money?
Last but not least, because there is no whitepaper I am not sure what their revenue model looks like. How are these people expecting to get paid? If every ChannelCoin is backed by a dollar and they are giving away 2.5 ChannelCoins with every account, won’t they run out of cash fast when this site starts to grow?


Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

Channels.cc focuses on simplicity, like I mentioned earlier the layout is simple and easy to navigate. This is also true for creating your content, channels.cc has a nice interface for putting together whatever you want to put on the site. You can add text, videos, pictures and design your layout using the intuitive menu. When you have posted your card, it is a matter of waiting for other Steemians authors to view your posts cards.

A lot is still unclear and I am still some things figuring some things out like how the payout system works.
But I expect this was no different when Steemit first started out. So my take on this is to wait and see what Channels.cc has to offer.


Don_t_forget_to_leave_a_comment_banner.png

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur


newbreakline_darker_color.png


recent_posts_header.png

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png


Imgur

newbreakline_darker_color.png

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! I am not sure how I feel about paying for viewing. I prefer to reward people for quality. That is just my take on the matter.

It seems like the platform forces trust to the beginning of the process instead of growing trust after allowing interaction.

Yeah, that's why I think click bait might be an issue. People will use all kinda tricks to make you view their content. It might work though if they change things up a little. Maybe it just feels weird because we are so used to the Steemit-way. I really like their posting wizard though...

One thing to be aware of is the timer in the upper left corner when you open a card. If the card isn't open for a long enough amount of time, the token isn't transferred. So the reward systems is based on quality, assuming the longer a card is open, the better the content.

You can change the price of the card which also changes the time required to get the token. I blog about robots, bitcoin, Scientology, and of course Maria Rose Calhoun, a criminal.

https://channels.cc/u/.zj.t

Wow, thank you to let me discover a new platform that I was not aware of. It seems to be the same type of Sola, I will create an account tomorrow to see it myself ;)

No problem, it's fairly new. I heard about Sola but don't really like app-only platforms.

I use it for over 45 days and I love it.

I am also following you on channels.cc :)

Cool, just bought one of your card at 0.25c ;)

Cross posting
Another thing is their stance on cross posting, it says in the Channels.cc how-to that they don’t like plagiarized content but there is no mention of cross posting. Is it allowed or not?

Well their about page says the following...

Why should I drop my existing system (YouTube, Medium, Vimeo, Patreon, my own site, etc.)?

You don't have to. We don't require that your content is exclusive. But when telling your followers about where to find your content, we encourage you to point them to your content on Channels. They will appreciate being able to support you financially in a small way. Your content won't have ads in front of it. And you may very well make more money per view than you would have on another platform.

That sounds good at least. Though it makes me think of when I first came to steemit and got told I was stealing content, from my own facebook page. lol

Thanks, I missed that one. Well, guess I will try cross posting, might earn something extra so that I can power up on Steemit :)

interesting, but there is no whitepaper, and no explanation of the details... who knows what channelcoin is how it's made or anything like that.

also, I'm confused, because I read an article there yesterday with no account, so obviously user didn't get paid by me... and I didn't need a coin to read it...

I had a look at their website and in their terms and conditions they write this:

"Proceed with caution. Channels is new and we offer no guarantees whatsoever. Any investment in time or money you make in Channels could be lost at any time. We may choose to discontinue Channels at any time. Any balance and content we are holding for you could be lost."

So anytime they could just close their website and any money you have in there can be gone overnight...

Nah, that sounds not exactly trustworthy I think.

Better to stay with Steemit.

My 2 cents to it.

That sounds like a failure waiting to happen to me. Like you said, taking coins away to view content will make click bait spam and plagiarism even more popular. Not to mention that having to pay to view things will reduce the amount of viewing and thus all other interaction that goes on.

My guess is that channels will either fail or be forced to change a lot, but I might still make an account just to look around.

Yeah, I am not sure if the current setup can be successful. One thing Steemit did very well is investigate incentives for interaction and search for ways to promote these (like curation). Channels has none of these other than "get paid for views".

Yeah, and without a way to offset the literal cost of viewing posts I don't imagine it will become an incredibly active community. Though they do have a refund system I'm not clear on how it works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54