You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Channels.cc Steemit Competitor

in #steemit6 years ago

That sounds like a failure waiting to happen to me. Like you said, taking coins away to view content will make click bait spam and plagiarism even more popular. Not to mention that having to pay to view things will reduce the amount of viewing and thus all other interaction that goes on.

My guess is that channels will either fail or be forced to change a lot, but I might still make an account just to look around.

Sort:  

Yeah, I am not sure if the current setup can be successful. One thing Steemit did very well is investigate incentives for interaction and search for ways to promote these (like curation). Channels has none of these other than "get paid for views".

Yeah, and without a way to offset the literal cost of viewing posts I don't imagine it will become an incredibly active community. Though they do have a refund system I'm not clear on how it works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18