1000 Steem Power accomplished - The road to 2000 begins!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I sold my Dash back for Steem. I was planning on moving that money around and making it grow before I bought back Steem, but with Steem relatively low and being 20 SP shy of my 1000 goal, I caved in and powered up right away.

pexels-photo-703019.jpeg
I did it! image link

As it gets harder and harder to attain Steem, I feel a need to grow in able to support those who are not getting the support they deserve. It's not that I don't trust others to use their steem power wisely, but most steemians with high levels of sp are focusing on the growth of the community as a whole. Some focus on specific countries and regions, some only on brand new users while others support those involved in certain initiatives. Many are focused on the price of steem rising, which is great because then we all win. Still some only support themselves and their close friends.

My role at Steemit

I feel that there are too many users who have already been here for a few months who still don't get the support they deserve. I'd like one of my main focuses at the platform to be a better distribution of wealth, especially among those who are just doing their thing and staying clear of the rat race, those who make friends for the sake of making friends and contribute what they are passionate about regardless of how big the payout. More SP will make it easier to do that. Writing and sharing my ideas will always be a main focus as well, it's why I came here in the first place.

Technically I'm 12 days late to reach this goal since January 1st was the date I set at first, but that was extremely ambitious. After that I made 1000 a goal for January. I'm not going to set any concrete goals for my SP growth at the moment, I want to let January play out before I do that.

Thanks for all your support

On to 2000!


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit" and make friends.

I’m also a language learning coach. Come find me if you need help learning a language.

Be Awesome discord channel

Confessions of the Damaged - a collection of short stories

—-
U5drTgnBQ2qzxT9o1kcF5PmjeLSEKi1_1680x8400.jpg
by @skyleap

Sort:  

Congratulations dude, it's a long journey for us all, but I'm sure it's worth it when we arrive.

I agree with your sentiment of helping others in the community. It's with the masses that steemit succeeds, it benefits us all to help those around us contributing positively and using the platform.

I’d like to be able to act according to everyone’s benefit. I don’t think we need to prioritized others benefits above our own or our own above other. Everyone can win. It’s 2018 :-)

Congrats on getting to 1000 SP. That seems years ahead for me.

Yesterday I had a conversation with someone who went through the actual figures with me and I realised just how far off 500 SP is. Unless I want to pay $1250 to buy some!

As you mention in one of your comments breaking it down into small goals is the way to go. So my next goal is 100SP.

This morning I finally powered up after faffing about trying to understand the figures and losing my nerve. My SP went from 15 to 55 so that's good. 😊

Keep up the good work. You're an inspiration!

You do realize your sbd is still floating around $5 a piece so you only need to pay less than 100 sbd to reach 100 sp right now, right? That won’t be the case forever though so get on it! Exchange in the market! Otherwise you don’t get this nice rate!

You got this! Leave good comments around and you’ll get more followers, it makes it much easier!

Oh God. I'm so dense with all this stuff. I could cry. I'm not very well at the moment so that doesn't help but I just can't see to get my head around the trading.

When you say "get on it" do you mean powering up or buying some SBD? I exchanged in the internal market this morning hence the jump from 15 to 55 SP, even so I've only gone from 0.01 VP to 0.02.

Oh. For God's sake. In the time I took to write the reply my SP has now dropped to 51. What 's that all about? (Rhetorical question). I'm going to get some breakfast!!

Your SP dropped? That’s not normal. Post payout can drop. Estimated account balance can drop but nothing else should drop...

Power up your sbd! No need to buy, I didn’t. You are here just in time to be one of the early ones! No need to cry!

OK Thanks. I'll keep powering up my sbd. I think I must have been looking at VP rather SP! Look I'm smiling . . . 😁 😁 😁

love the attitude! sounds like you will be a motivational, helpful, influence for many people who might be feeling overlooked and undervalued, who deserve the support. as a newbie im really excited about steemit but i can see how people can get down about it if they arent making the progress or connections they are hoping for. good on you for meeting your goal. time is not linear. lol

That’s the goal. It’s hard to balance sometimes, as I’ll have more Steem power to help others if I’m recognized by those with more Steem power than I. But I don’t want to spend too much time on them because they are already doing better than most. Also it’s easy to find yourself spread too thin so I’m working on trying to make sure relationships are more than just fleeting. So I’m glad you joined our chat!

Still reaching for the first 1000 here, but hopeful to get there sometime this spring or summer.

You are right, there are lots of excellent contributors who don't get the attention they deserve-- and there's likely no "magic whale" that will come along and offer support, and I keep thinking the best way to help the current "generation" is simply through numbers... 100 people giving 100 people 15c upvotes quickly starts to become "something."

Well whales act just like whales act. They only see what’s standing right in front of them. This is the nature of power and celebrity which is why I often emphasize the need for decentralized Power over decentralized anything else. One person can only attend to so many things and delegation of responsibility tends to benefit the delegator as much or usually much more than anyone else involved.

I hope to see you do very well here. I will support you and hope you can reach 1000 much sooner!

You shall

Ive got 15 lol, I think it might multiply though I have only been here a month & not invested any money at all. I have put all the steem dollars into savings & just powered up with the small amount of steem that has been donated.
I'm glad to see you doing well you always have good content I hope the investment pays off healthy & we are all still here for many years to come.

congratz. you will be there soon I am sure.

The great thing about goals is that if you try for it, even if you miss, you are still miles ahead.

workong on smaller, manageable short term goals, harder to miss those, but yes, it’s mostly just about moving forward

We have not been even near to 100. Stay blessed. Keep on rocking.

It took me a few months to reach 500...then I got stuck at 700 for a few more months. 800-1000 went very quickly. Sometimes thing flow and sometimes they don't. Just keep rockin right?

Thank you so much for motivating.

Congratz, sweet, sweet thousand!

Your attitude is on point with the distribution of wealth. Now that my upvote also has some actual value, more than couple cents, I've been trying to reward small users for commenting and such; I remember how much as a small user even a 20 cent+ upvote felt like.

Keeping in mind one's own struggling start, I think would improve the new user experience.

Thanks man!

i find many whales to be in a similar frame of mind to most successful people in society. They live in this narrative of “work hard and it pays off” which may be true to an extent, but they seem to forget that it becomes harder and harder to manage the same level of success when the resources become more concentrated. They don't really recognize that the playing field is continuously skewed and we may also fall into the same trap as we succeed if we are not careful, failing to realize how it’s even harder for those who come after us. Its easy to focus on our own struggles and feel we somehow deserve what we have and the next guy doesn’t have it cause he isn’t working hard enough. “That’s just how it is” isn’t a good enough excuse, nor is “that’s just human nature”.

I’d like it if we had more whales who think like this, and so I guess my best option is to try and become one, whatever the odds. I’ll bring up as many as I can on the way too.

I am 100% with you on this.

I do like your point of view mr. pinnaplehead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32