Steemit Is Not A Job, Try Not To Get StressedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Yes the money is real. And yes, I can personally tell you, steemit, in a day, can pay you enough to be a real job. As the price goes up, it can be a good one. I can also say it is very draining and frustrating to work your ass off on something and not get rewarded for it, especially when you see a post on the trending list you feel is not as good as yours. I understand all of that. But this site is not a job, you have zero responsibilities here and on the other side of things, you should not get mad at anyone for their success. It is a tool, a useful one to get your content out there and you can use it however you like. Post 10 times a day or once a week. Do not let other people frustrate you and please do not give people shit if they are doing well. We do need proper criticism to help drive this site in the right direction but we can do it in a civil way.

If, for some reason, this site is casing you stress. Walk away. Post less. Take two weeks off and post then. Post something different like your photography if you do articles. Try commenting only. There are no responsibilities here and it is not worth getting frustrated over. When money is involved people can get nasty, do not let it get to you. Do your thing and be happy with your success.

This post came from someone who is leaving the site who seemed like a cool person. I do not want to call them out just to say, to anyone, try not to take things personally, especially online. If you like making content and want a place to share it, this is a great site. If news users come in and become trolly, do not let that change your experience. And if you really want to walk away, I wish you all the best, but keep the site in mind and maybe come back in a few months. Your account, and a lot of us, are not going anywhere.

@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

Stress is a killer nowadays. Steemit should relieve that for people.

As a person who is close to retirement and enjoys sharing my knowledge about gardening and such, I am using this to supplement. You are right don't get frustrated, and take a break when you feel that way. Thanks for pointing these ideas out especially to the new people.

Hey go Canada :). I am glad you found a way to share what you like a make some income from it. Hopefully retirement is closer than you think.

Thank you. I am a widow with 3 kids and I have come a long way all on my own. Hopefully with the help of Steemit, I can finish helping my daughter at University and pay off the rest of the homestead.

Good for you, you have my respect and your kids are lucky to have you. I hope she gets straight As and you can take a long vacation :)

She does get high marks, and I do treat myself to a couple of kid free days of vacation each winter, just a couple of days in the sun. Thanks. Following you if that is ok.

Great advice! holozor and triverse also sum it up wisely:)

I agree so much. Though Steemit is a valuable platform that provides rewards for users, we get hooked up in trying to earn, earn, earn. Dependency tends to ruin you!

I agree. People tend to start to believe that Steemit owes them something when they get a good payout for a thoughtful article, and then their next doesn't do as well. The community owes nothing, and you owe nothing to the community.

Unless you think that you do. If the reason's you're posting is treating it like a job; then you're doing it wrong. :) I joined Steemit as a creative outlet for my writing, photography, and ramblings that would otherwise swim about in my mind.

It is incredibly therapeutic to share content with others and make it, most importantly, for yourself.

Yeah, it can be a job but there are no guarantees, and as you said, no one owes you anything. You want to succeed, you have to keep working.

Great advice. This is something I see a lot from people I talk to that have not even signed up yet. They want to know how much content to put up to make X amount of money, and if that is stressful. I tell them, it is not pay per article/per word (value is up to those that read your content) and if they are already worried about stress then maybe this is not for them.

Seriously, take @whatageek's advice. If you are finding yourself stressed then walk away for a bit - don't quit but re-evaluate your priorities. Steemit is supposed to be fun and entertaining.

Yeah. And I am not saying you can't make money here but, and this go to any freelance work, you need to learn to just work, good times or bad. And for people who use this site as an addition to their other work, it is a bonus.

Exactly. Too many get too involved though and stress themselves out when they don't make a certain amount of money or an article doesn't hit right away. Those people need to take a breather and just relax.

Good Point - It really depends on the motivation of the individual for signing up. If it's to share knowledge - I can't see that being stressful. To find a job that pays the bills - yes, that is stressful.

I'm sure many people are getting stressed as they see this as a "job".

Thanks for putting this out there.

Heh, the site isn't what has me stressed. It's really the rest of life.

I've been around the crypto scene off and on since the debut of bitcoin. I was looking into it before pizza day. Lemme tell you something about crypto (for those that are new to this whole thing). It exists in a constant chain of bubbles. Don't freak out because the price drops hard and climbs slow. Eventually it'll skyrocket for anywhere from a week to a month and then it'll drop hard again. but it never quite falls too far. As long as nobody absconds with a ridiculous amount of Steem or sells all those SP in a week, we're good here.

Writing this took my mind of some of my life worries for a bit. Thanks for taking the time to read it.

For some people it is actually. Not for me, I just joined a few weeks ago. But I can easily see how some people would try to make this their job. Why not right

I've been on Steemit nearly 11 months and I really haven't made much, I had one post make 31.00 that's my record and it was because a whale somehow upvoted the post, maybe by mistake, randomly or maybe he actually liked the post. But I have made 2000 posts including comments and made over 600 Steem of which I have about 560 in SP so being it doesn't cost more than writing I'm ok with it, only thing that has me worried is the continuous decline in value of Steem, that I would like to see stopped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53