My Steemit Account: Where I'm At With Bots, Self-Votes And Multiple Accounts

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone,

So I would like to do a post about my steemit page before I continue posting. To all new users, people that found me from outside of the site and experienced users, hey :). This post is to give an honest account about my posts and my page as being truthful is something that is important to me. Steemit is a bit of a mix of a game and a social media. Now although this comes with a lot of benefits, it can lead to situations where people behave one way and others, who think the site is another way, will see it differently. Some people will try to win at the game and others will see it as gaming the system. I have no intention of gaming the system but if you don't play by the rules then you will be left at a disadvantage to the other players. There is no right and wrong when it comes to how you play a game as long as everyone plays by the same rules and they are well-known to everyone. So here is where where I stand with bots, self-votes and multiple accounts

The first topic is bots. On steemit there are apps that you can use to auto-upvote people's accounts. I have no problem with bots and use them myself. They are allowed by steemit and are a useful tool. Maybe the site would be better if no one used them but right now they are a common aspect of the site and not using or getting benefits from people who use them would make the site harder to use. If there is a consensus to stop botting and if it is harming the site I will shut them off immediately. 

The next topic is self-voting. I think everyone on this sites upvotes their own posts and again, it is something okay with the site. There is a worry that if everyone upvoted themselves and no one else then the system wouldn't work. However I doubt that is something that will happen, most users (especially new ones) just use the site as they would any other social media site. They see something they like and they upvote it. I know I don't want to figure out the optimal voting stragety, I just want to use the site and make money from my work.  

The last topic is multiple accounts. I only vote for myself with this account only, but I do know that I'm getting auto-upvoted by at least one user with a few accounts. I'm not criticizing anyone, and there is nothing in the terms about having multiple accounts, I just want people to be aware of why my upvote numbers are what they are. Although I do appreciate the support, if you are a user auto-upvoting me, can you please only upvote me with one account. And I know in the new hardfork they will allow users to combine their SP into one account so that should fix that problem.

Also I run a group called #contentmakers, we are users who are psoting original work who are auto-upvoting each other to make the site easier to use. Like everyone else if the group becomes detrimental to the site or the rules change that groups are not allowed, I will disband the group. 

That's everything, let me know what you think in the comments. I plan on being a contributing member to this site and I feel it can be a way to make a good income, maybe even as a full-time job. My rep and current SP are in part because of these bots, multiple accounts and everything so Iwant that made known. I, like the site, are working to get to the point to a fully-functioning, honest place and this will mean making mistakes along the way. 

@whatageek 

 


Sort:  

So what i believe as a new member( i am aware of way too much thing happening) is

  1. Bots: i dont use any, i even dont know how to make one and what it really does ( if it is good or bad for everyone etc etc). If you can provide me more info i would love it!
  2. I vote every post i make and every post i like and the reason i vote myself is that i like everything i write ( sounds stupid? maybe). Because i put a lot of work and a couple of time for each of my post i at least consider to upvote it myself. Now i dont have other accounts to selfvote if you mean that and neither i will create any!
  3. I believe we all should to do the best for community and not for ourselves because that way we all gonna earn something. I every time read most of the posts i upvote or at least half of it. I dont like to just upvote for no reason and i say in some of my post that i prefer anyone to read what i wrote and comment me even if he dont like it ( and why is that) than just upvote because i put a lot of time to make it ( i want to believe that many people have the same mindset like me)
  4. i didnt know about the contenmakers that you run and i wanna be a part of it :))

Great post and i really want to read what others more experienced have to say

I will be making a post about the contentmakers tomorrow, please check it out if you are interested. Yeah this site will work better if we all help each and build a community.

I will check it out!

What every time gets in the way is the greed. Many just want to make as fast as they can money without caring what will happen next day or to the others ( we see these everywhere in our daily lives) hope at least many people that want to build a great community to gather and become ''stronger'' and ''stronger''

@filotasriza3, I agree with your sentiments very much! You are clearly into good content and the social media side of steemit more than the game theory side. I am in the contentmakers group and I also help run a FB group called Aspiring Steemit Whales and Dolphins
Come and see what we do, you would be most welcome! We are the sorts of people who think that 1% votes are an insult!!
Namaste.

@ebryans i will definitely check it out but that will happen tomorrow , (now i am writing my new post and when i finish it my bed is waiting for me :P)
I am very glad that there are more people that try for the common good and have organized together !

No worries at all, we look forward to welcoming you, should you decide to join us.

Saya fikir juga demikian teman

courageous

Good post. Creating content is ideal. 99% of my posts are value add content creation.

Hello ! Very interesting blog! I'll sign up for you and appreciate your recording! Good luck and prosperity is a friend!

Where can I get one of those upvote-bots for free?

I like the way you think Thank you

I came to this link from your last post. More good info, thanks. Can you point me to a good post about bots and how they work? And can you tell me more about #contentcreators or point me to a link with info about that too? Keep posting and good luck steeming yo

Hi Geek

I am new to this (only really worked out crypto this month), but already I am being inspired by the possibilities. I am also writing original content (well I think so anyway) and would love to join your #contentmakers group.

I am really interested in engaging in the big ideas playing in the cryptotech background - the long term creative disruption (economic, social).

Can you advise if that's possible?

Anyway, love your work!

Cheers :-)

This is a really great post and I cant find anything I would disagree with.
I'm glad you posted this honest and trasparent post.

I joined Steemit a little less than a week ago. I was originally under the impression that none of this kind of stuff was going on. I don't have a problem with the bots or anything. I am actually interested in learning how to use them from your #contentmakers post after this. What does annoy me, however, is the ways in which people create phony content with no intention of actually contributing to the betterment of the site.

I would like to have the opportunity to join your group, as I am in the process of starting my own crypto-currency based asset management fund, and I recently quit my job to pursue trading full time. I am trying to create an account that is based around the business I am starting in order to generate some grass-roots support. It would be nice if I could make a little extra money while I'm at it.

I'm sure there's probably a good chance that you won't take the time to read all of this, however; if you do, please let me know how I can add to the team. I assure you I will be a valuable addition.

Thanks.

add me to the team,vote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47